Anne L. (darlingaunt) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Author: Lynda La Plante
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/23/2011


This book starts out at a good clip and really never lets up. This is the first book featuring Anna Travis, a rookie detective on her first murder case. I will definitely read more.


Agent X (Steve Vail, Bk 2)
Agent X (Steve Vail, Bk 2)
Author: Noah Boyd
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 8/16/2012
Helpful Score: 1


If you enjoy Lee Child, you will like this book, second in the Bricklayer series. Unfortunately the author has died so this is probably also last in the series. Modern day technology makes it possible to gather huge amounts of information. In both books, Steve Vail forcues on how to use some of that information to move things forward in unsuspected ways. We lost this author much too soon!


The American Table: More Than 400 Recipes That Make Accessible for the First Time the Full Richness of American Reigional Cooking
Review Date: 11/21/2009


Make the Raw Apple Cake from this book and everyone will want the recipe. It is worth the price of the book.


Art's Blood (Elizabeth Goodweather, Bk 2)
Art's Blood (Elizabeth Goodweather, Bk 2)
Author: Vicki Lane
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/19/2011


This is such an interesting series, set in the hills of North Carolina, with a varied cast of characters. When I finished the first one, I thought this is rather strange -- but not strange enough to keep me from immediately ordering the second. I will definitely go on to read the next book.


Banker to the Poor: Micro-Lending and the Battle Against World Poverty
Review Date: 6/25/2009


Loved this book, which is surprisingly easy to read. Muhammad Yunus (my new hero) is both fascinating and inspiring. His clearheaded analysis of the situation in Bangladesh has led him to divise the microeconomics for which he won the Nobel Prize. Don't miss reading this!


Company Fare
Company Fare
Author: Ronald Johnson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/21/2009


I expect to get 2 really good recipes from any good cookbook. There are many more that 2 great recipes in this book. The Roast Pork Arista is a classic, worth the price of the book. I especially like his small desserts.


Death and the Oxford Box (Kate Ivory, Bk 1)
Death and the Oxford Box (Kate Ivory, Bk 1)
Author: Veronica Stallwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/9/2010


I really enjoyed this book; it is very different from most mystery stories. The story proceeds on two levels, one during the war (WWII) and the other current day. There are still some people around who remember the time and the people of the war years. Guess I liked the quirkiness of the story.


Except the Dying
Except the Dying
Author: Maureen Jennings
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/11/2009


This author was nominated for an Anthony Award for this, her first novel. The book starts off rather slowly and then picks up speed. A number of well-realized characters, reminding one of Ann Perry. Hope to see more of Murdoch, her policeman protagonist.


Eye of the Law (Burren, Bk 5)
Eye of the Law (Burren, Bk 5)
Author: Cora Harrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/18/2015


This series, set in 16th century Ireland, is interesting, informative and fun to read. Eye of the Law keeps your interest from the first to the last page.


Flaubert's Parrot
Flaubert's Parrot
Author: Julian Barnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/7/2009


I really did not like this book. Barnes may write well, but in this book at least he had nothing to say.


The Garden of Evening Mists
The Garden of Evening Mists
Author: Tan Twan Eng
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/6/2017


Loved this book. Not only is it beautifully-written, but it tells a great story about a part of the world that I did not know much about. With his first two books, Tan Twan Eng has been long and short-listed for the Mann Booker Prize. He was awarded the Mann Asian Prize for this book.


The Good Friday Murder (Christine Bennett, Bk 1)
The Good Friday Murder (Christine Bennett, Bk 1)
Author: Lee Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 8/2/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Just found this series last fall and I love it! Likeable characters, very different plots, a heroine who uses her head and keeps asking question after question until she figures out whodunit. I have given this series to many of my friends who, like me, prefer our detectives intelligent rather than foolhardy and tough. And there are a numbere of books in the series -- always a plus for me.


Heartless (Georgian, Bk 1)
Heartless (Georgian, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 3/7/2010


Classic Mary Balogh -- and in Romance you cannot say any better than that!


The Last Summer of the World
The Last Summer of the World
Author: Emily Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/9/2010


This is a book that I did not expect to like when my book club chose it. Was I ever wrong! This is a great book. It grabs you by the third page with both the brilliant story line and fine writing. Do not miss this one.


Marlene Sorosky's Cookery for Entertaining
Marlene Sorosky's Cookery for Entertaining
Author: Linda Kreisberg, Marlene Sorosky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/7/2010


Marlene Sorosky is my favorite. Each recipe is clear and precise -- and better yet she tells you what can be prepared ahead and what can be frozen. Her Blue Ribbon Carrot Cake is the best, though I eliminate the buttermilk glaze and increase the carrots.


Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake (Love by Numbers, Bk 1)
Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake (Love by Numbers, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah MacLean
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 5/29/2010


Very predictable. We've seen all this before in better-written books.


On Chesil Beach
On Chesil Beach
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 7/1/2009
Helpful Score: 2


A beautifully-written, fully realized novel with a secret. In our day, when everyone talks about their sex life, it may be difficult to comprehend the sexual ignorance and lack of communications between them of the two main characters. Yet the characters ring true and their flaws tragic.


Persuasion (Modern Library Classics)
Persuasion (Modern Library Classics)
Author: Jane Austen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/28/2009


Not as complicated as her other novels, Jane Austen's Persuasion and its heroine Anne are none-the-less little gems. It is said that Jane herself idenitfied most closely with Anne Elliot and her situation. The surrounding characters are beautifully drawn; you will recognize many of them in our own society. It takes a while to appreciate Anne, something that her family never did, because she is so quiet. You will enjoy getting to know her.


Plan B: Further Thoughts on Faith
Plan B: Further Thoughts on Faith
Author: Anne Lamott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 7/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Another wonderful book from Anne Lamont. Her humor, brutal honesty and very personal way of looking at her faith make the rest of us open our minds to another way of being a person of faith. You don't want to miss this if you have teenagers. There is some Bush-bashing here, but don't let that stop you. I promise you will never forget her description of the disciples on the day after the crucifixion of Jesus. Profane, yes; but dead-on.


Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking
Author: Susan Cain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 2/21/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I expected to really like this book, but did not. The author picks and chooses which research to cite and then beats it to death. She treats all introverts as though they are the same and all extroverts as though there is only one type -- the person who walks into a room and is the life of the party. I expected a more balanced approach. I would not recommend this book.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: