Jennifer G. - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
The Boleyn Inheritance
The Boleyn Inheritance
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 618
Review Date: 5/5/2011


I love this series! Although the books are long, they seem to fly by. I get so lost in the characters. I will definitely continue on with the series.


Coming Home
Coming Home
Author: Rosamunde Pilcher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 6/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This was my first Pilcher book and I didn't know what to expect. From the first moment, I could not put it down! Pilcher has an incredible writing style that pulls you in and creates multi-layered characters. A wonderful author and a great read! You won't be disappointed!


Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1432
Review Date: 3/5/2009


Definitely not as good as "Wicked", but worth reading if you enjoyed that book.


I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
Author: Maya Angelou
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 5/5/2011


I liked this book a lot,but was a little disappointed in the ending. Without giving anything away, it just seemed to come so abruptly. It seemed like there could have been more there. I haven't read any of her other books, so perhaps the last chapter continues in another book.... Nonetheless, it was a quick read and was entertaining. Her writing style was enjoyable.


Night
Night
Author: Elie Wiesel, Marion Wiesel (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1082
Review Date: 7/21/2009


A haunting recount - as I was reading this, I had to keep reminding myself that this actually happened... and not all that long ago! I would recommend this to anyone over the age of 15 or so.


The Other Boleyn Girl
The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2784
Review Date: 8/20/2010


Loved this book! It was my first Philippa Gregory book, but definitely will not be my last. I was completely swept up in the lives of the characters. I spent most of the book hating Anne Boleyn, but felt sorry for her at the end.


A Painted House
A Painted House
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1233
Review Date: 3/5/2009
Helpful Score: 3


A great book! Not at all what I expected from a John Grisham novel, but I really enjoyed the change of pace. Note: If you've seen the 'made-for-tv' movie based on this book, don't worry - the book is much better!


The Patron Saint of Liars
The Patron Saint of Liars
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 2/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


My first Patchett book - I really enjoyed it!


The Road
The Road
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 7/13/2012


I'm glad I read it, but the end was completely unsatisfying


The Shell Seekers (Tenth Anniversary Edition)
The Shell Seekers (Tenth Anniversary Edition)
Author: Rosamunde Pilcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 6/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Pilcher's characters are deep and real. None are perfect, but that only helps to add to their realism. This was a wonderful read!


Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace . . . One School at a Time
Review Date: 7/26/2009


I almost never read non-fiction, so I was skeptical that I would even finish this book - but once I picked it up I thoroughly enjoyed it. It is inspiring to know that just one person can make such a huge difference in the lives of thousands upon thousands of children.


To Kill a Mockingbird
To Kill a Mockingbird
Author: Harper Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2958
Review Date: 9/1/2009


A classic! Everyone should read this book at least once.


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 9/1/2009


Definitely the best of the saga! You won't be disappointed!


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4727
Review Date: 1/26/2010


I loved this book! It is such a unique and interesting story - I was really caught up in the main characters until the very end (even if the ending is a little hokey).


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 733
Review Date: 3/8/2009


One of my all-time favorite books! Brilliantly written and immensly imaginative - I love how all of the story lines come together to end up at the scee we all know in The Wizard of Oz.


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3585
Review Date: 5/14/2009


This is one of my all-time favorite books - definitely Maquire's best. The musical is just a small piece of the story. Its incredibly creative and actually made me feel sorry for the Wicked Witch.


1 to 16 of 16