Sharon T. (r801) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
Abigail's Smile: A story about a child with EA/TEF (Esophageal Atresia/ Trachioesophageal Fistula)
Review Date: 12/7/2016


Story of a young girl who struggles with EA or TEF. My son had a TEF at birth and I wish this book had been around when he was young. Drawings in the story show the difference between what goes on in her throat and her sisters and how to deal with it.


After the Fire: A True Story of Friendship and Survival
After the Fire: A True Story of Friendship and Survival
Author: Robin Gaby Fisher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/20/2017


Excellent story about overcoming adversity after a horrible life altering tragedy. Shawn and Alvaro, two of the victims can teach us ALL how to overcome adversity and horrible situations in our lives.


And the Good News Is...: Lessons and Advice from the Bright Side
And the Good News Is...: Lessons and Advice from the Bright Side
Author: Dana Perino
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/29/2017


Enjoyed this story, but the REALLY good stuff begins on page 165 when Dana begins sharing some of her "life lessons learned" information. Such as Find you strong voice, Ban the exclamation point, No Ugg boots at the office and other lessons to help you get further in your career and life. I wish I could have a "mentoring minute" with her! (oops, an exclamation point)


Best Dog Stories
Best Dog Stories
Author: Lesley O'Mara
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/11/2016


Enjoyable dog stories from a multiple of authors, including one of my favorites, James Herriot.


Biking Across America: My Coast-to-Coast Adventure and the People I Met Along the Way
Review Date: 12/17/2016


Thoroughly enjoyable. You feel as if you are on the journey with him across America...especially if you have take a road trip across this beautiful nation, you can imagine biking along with him.


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 9/3/2016


Interesting read with a lot of generalities of the culture. Makes you realize how repressed the women are in this culture and to me that makes it lop sided and missing out on an awful lot of things they could add to community. It is ironic that the picture on the front is of two women at the book stall......when many of the women were denied an education so they can't read.


The Bookshop on the Corner
The Bookshop on the Corner
Author: Jenny Colgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/9/2017


Enjoyable book about not being afraid to make drastic changes in your life because they just might turn out OK! I enjoyed the book about after about 1/3 of the way into it, and then it really got going. Ending was OK, but felt a bit rushed First book I have read by this author and wouldn't mind picking up another. If you love books, it is fun to watch Nina try to match the perfect book to each person...something us book lovers can relate to!


The Brickmaker's Bride (Refined by Love, Bk 1)
The Brickmaker's Bride (Refined by Love, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/15/2016


Another well written Judith Miller book. Great lessons on family, devotion, trust God even when His path seems unclear, and supporting fellow Christians in time of need whether it be emotionally, spiritually, or helping them become financially responsible. Highly recommend.


Bryson City Seasons : More Tales of a Doctors Practice in the Smoky Mountains
Review Date: 8/14/2016


Loved this book as much as book #1.....Dr Larimore brings you along with him into a deeper relationship with his patients, community, faith, and family. He works on the forefront with disease such as AIDS before they even had a name or were known. Highly recommend!


Bryson City Secrets: Even More Tales of a Small-Town Doctor in the Smoky Mountains (Large Print)
Review Date: 8/17/2016


Book #3 in the Bryson City series is even BETTER than the first two and I thought they were great! Thoroughly have enjoyed this series and wish there was a book 4 to continue their family journey. I don't want to give anything away, loved the chapter with the young patient towards the end of the book.


Bryson City Tales
Bryson City Tales
Author: Walt Larimore MD
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/5/2016


What a delightful book, in the tradition of the Mitford Tales, of a young dr's first year in practice in a small town in the Smoky Mountains. His search to fit into his community, learn, and be the best he can be in all areas of life make this an easy, fun to read story. The story of his first "delivery" begins the book with a bang and keeps on rolling.


Butterfly Palace (Love Across the Sea, Bk 1)
Butterfly Palace (Love Across the Sea, Bk 1)
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/16/2016


Suspense keeps your reading to the end for the surprise ending! Enjoyed the characters, but especially Lily, who keeps always looking for the good in everyone and changes those around her for the better.


The Carousel Painter
The Carousel Painter
Author: Judith Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 8/18/2016


Enjoyable book. It was very interesting to "see" the process involved and the many layered steps to creating the beautiful carousel horses. I never thought to look to see if there is any difference between at outside horse and an inner one.....next time I see one I will! Suspenseful, yet as always, leading you to trust God with outcomes even when it seems tough and you can't see the finish.


Covenant Child
Covenant Child
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/14/2016


Terri Blackstock has a great story here! Covenant child has similarities to the Prodigal Son, but takes you much more in depth about how situations change change with OUR patience with God's answer of "wait" or "not now".


Curious George goes to the hospital
Curious George goes to the hospital
Author: Margret Rey
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/30/2007


one of my children's favorite books, great story for any child facing surgery or a hospitalization....of course George does what he does best, always getting into trouble......won't that Man in the Yellow Hat ever learn!!


Death Threads (Southern Sewing, Bk 2)
Death Threads (Southern Sewing, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth Lynn Casey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 1/11/2018


Book #2 in the "Southern Sewing Circle" series. What another fun mystery with Tori Sinclair following the threads of a mystery when Colby Calhoun mysteriously disappears. This is a series worth following.


Dispatches from Bitter America: A Gun Toting, Chicken Eating Son of a Baptist's Culture War Stories
Review Date: 8/8/2016


Todd Starnes collection of writings is a must read for anyone interested in conservative politics and wonder "what is going on?" His interviews with Mike Huckabee and Paula Deen add to the political commentators insights and thoughts. Enjoyed this book and his down home easy to read writing style.


A Dog Year : Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
A Dog Year : Twelve Months, Four Dogs, and Me
Author: Jon Katz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 9/24/2016


Fun, overall enjoyable book, author is very honest about his triumphs and frustrations. The overall lesson is that border collies aren't for everyone! I admire Mr Katz for hanging in there and making it working it work with his dog. I think he is fortunate to have a schedule that worked for his dogs and their regime. I am the only one that sees the irony that his name is Katz (cats) and this is a book about his love for dogs!


The Duck Commander Family: How Faith, Family, and Ducks Built a Dynasty
Review Date: 8/8/2016


I have watched maybe 1-2 episodes of "Duck Dynasty", but became interested in this families free lunches at school to millionaire story and I wasn't disappointed. Although I enjoyed "A New Season: A Robertson Family Love Story of Brokenness and Redemption " much more, this book is a good read also b/c you see the families story from another brother's perspective. "Faith, family, fun" is the theme..along with making a little money.


The First Patient
The First Patient
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 1/15/2018


Good mystery with lots of twists/turns that made this an interesting read you couldn't predict. First Michael Palmer book I have read and I found it fast paced, detail oriented, and enough twists and turns to keep you wanting to come back to finish it.


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: