Kate H. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Bone People
The Bone People
Author: Keri Hulme
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 4/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Takes a bit to get into this novel, written from the viewpoint of its three main characters with the odd ancestor or first cousin thrown in, but it's most rewarding.
Jumping from instant-replay scenes to gaps of months' time, from slapstick to mystic, adds to the fullness. A book you will not forget.


A Long Way Down
A Long Way Down
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 2/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book's so good I'm not reposting it!
Take 4 people bent on committing suicide...put them on a roof top, let them interact and see what happens.
Each character is so well-drawn, each with their own voice and life situation and way of coping. And cope they do...in surprising, realistic ways.
Definitely a keeper. I re-read few books, but this will be one of them.


Origin
Origin
Author: Diana Abu-Jaber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/16/2008


The protagonist was raised by apes in the rain forest. Now she reads fingerprints for a living. There's a baby killer loose in Syracuse NY. And it's cold, so cold.

Or maybe not. I read this novel in 90-degree heat and felt like I was getting frostbite. An excellent, subtle book. Unique voice, terrific writing, and there's actually a story there...kind of literary novel crossed with mystery. Highly recommended.


The Picker Who Perished
The Picker Who Perished
Author: Kate Holmes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


When Wendy Sam Miller, the owner of Too Good to be Threw, a consignment shop in sunny Sarasota Florida, finds her best friend and picker dead at the foot of her steps, the police say it was an accident. But Ilene was an ex-dancer, a graceful woman. Did she fall... or was she pushed because she was pushing some powers-that-be in this seaside town?

The world's only consignment shopkeeper amateur detective! Read the 1st chapter at http://www.tgtbt.com/wendysamexcerpt.htm


Plot (The Elements of Fiction Writing)
Plot (The Elements of Fiction Writing)
Author: Ansen Dibell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/29/2011


Excellent book...highlighted the heck out of it!


The Salmon of Doubt: Hitchhiking the Galaxy One Last Time (Dirk Gently, Bk 3)
Review Date: 7/21/2009


A loving and positive collection of work by a remarkable person, arranged in a graceful manner. The loving way Adams was able to look at life is enriching. This is a book I will NOT be re-swapping!


Shopgirl
Shopgirl
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 364
Review Date: 1/11/2008


Well worth reading, beautifully and lovingly written.


Too Good to be Threw: The Complete Operations Manual for Resale & Consignment Shops
Review Date: 3/18/2012
Helpful Score: 1


(Note Paperbkswap shows pub date as 2004, in fact, this manual is updated every year.) Filled with all the practical advice that others neglect, Kate takes you step by step. No detail is overlooked, you'll get "real world" advice. You'll find yourself referring back to this manual again and again. This will be the smartest money you'll spend for your business. Not only will it help you EARN money, but it will also SAVE you money. All this and an easy read, too. Not dry and mechanical like some. Opened without it? It's not too late. Get it now. And you definitely want to have it before your competition gets it! Carolane, AL

I keep it on my bedside table. I don't know how anyone could open or run a consignment shop without this book! I refer to it almost every day. Patricia, UT

A must if you are planning to open a Shop or already own one and need to put some spark back into the business. It has everything you need to know.


Unorthodox Practices (Nina Fischman, Bk 1)
Unorthodox Practices (Nina Fischman, Bk 1)
Author: Marissa Piesman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/11/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Appealing characters, cute turns-of-phrase. Well-done, but a teeny bit cloying...as in, don't read the series one after the other. Try something palate-refreshing in between.
All that said, still, a bon-bon is nice now and again.


1 to 9 of 9