Carol A. (caugustine) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
9 Steps to Financial Freedom: Practical and Spiritual Steps So You Can Stop Worrying
Review Date: 4/21/2008


Suze Orman is great public speaker and her books are equally entertaining and informative. I recommend all her books to anyone who wants to learn about managing your finances. Ms. Orman presents financial concepts in an easy to understand format and often with humane. Her willingness to share her own personal story with the public and her ability to relate to the average 'Jane' are two of her best assets.


The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 396
Review Date: 12/31/2008


Steve Berry's plots usually have an interesting twist or two but not my favorite author. A reliable back-up though when I have nothing else on the 'shelf' to read.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3673
Review Date: 4/21/2008


Dan Brown is the best!


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 4/21/2008


One of the books in the Mitford / Father Tim series. I read all the books in the series and enjoyed every one of them. Light and easy reading with many heart warming stories 'within' a story about community, good stewardship, friendship, love and more. Not my usual genre but I enjoyed Jan Karon's writing immensely. All the books in the series made the rounds of my book loving friends, and we all agreed, we wish there was at least 'one' more to read.


The Book of Cards for Kids
The Book of Cards for Kids
Author: Gail MacColl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/21/2008


If you're a parent of young children and are looking for card games to teach them or an activity to give them to do on a rainy afternoon, you will appreciate having this book on your bookshelf.


Review Date: 4/21/2008


Good information for current Florida residents or someone planning on a move to the state. Good format with great pictures, especially if it is to be used to assist a child or preteen with a research paper.


Florida's Fabulous Flowers
Florida's Fabulous Flowers
Author: Winston Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/21/2008


Simple guide to some of Florida's most common flowering plants, trees, and shrubs. The pictures are lovely.


Flower Essences: Reordering Our Understanding and Approach to Illness and Health
Review Date: 4/21/2008


It is an interesting concept and the ideas are something to ponder, but the presentation lacks luster. But if you are an avid naturalist, looking for non-traditional methods for health and healing then this book is for you.


The Forest
The Forest
Author: Edward Rutherfurd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 5/24/2014


I thoroughly enjoyed Edward Rutherford's book, The Forest, so much so, that I have requested two more of his titles. It is the story of 'the forest' in England, and covers 1,000 years. It merges history with fiction perfectly.


Gifts from Your Garden: A Seasonal Album of Decorations and Keepsakes
Review Date: 4/21/2008


Beautiful book about making simple gifts from plants found in the garden, with instructions and lovely illustrations.


The Grower's Guide to Flowering Plants and Shrubs
The Grower's Guide to Flowering Plants and Shrubs
Author: Margaret Hanks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/21/2008


Another good book for plant lovers living in Florida. Streamlined format with plant care information. Pictures are lovely.


Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim, Bk 1)
Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 11/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I have read the complete Mitford Series and I enjoyed this book as much, if not more. It tells the story of the life of the young Tim and how his early life shaped him to be 'Father Tim'. Perfect in every way.


Latina Beauty
Latina Beauty
Author: Christy Haubegger, Daisy Fuentes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/21/2008


Terrific book for woman of any heritage. Great information on just about every topic of interest to young woman. How to apply your make-up properly, skin care, and more. My teenager loved it. Great illustrations.


A Light in the Window  (Mitford Years, Book 2)
A Light in the Window (Mitford Years, Book 2)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 4/21/2008


One of the books in the Mitford / Father Tim series. I read all the books in the series and enjoyed every one of them. Light and easy reading with many heart warming stories 'within' a story about community, good stewardship, friendship, love and more. Not my usual genre but I enjoyed Jan Karon's writing immensely. All the books in the series made the rounds of my book loving friends, and we all agreed, we wish there was at least 'one' more to read.


A New Song (Mitford, Bk 5)
A New Song (Mitford, Bk 5)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/21/2008


One of the books in the Mitford / Father Tim series. I read all the books in the series and enjoyed every one of them. Light and easy reading with many heart warming stories 'within' a story about community, good stewardship, friendship, love and more. Not my usual genre but I enjoyed Jan Karon's writing immensely. All the books in the series made the rounds of my book loving friends, and we all agreed, we wish there was at least 'one' more to read.


Out to Canaan (Mitford, Bk 4)
Out to Canaan (Mitford, Bk 4)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 4/21/2008


One of the books in the Mitford / Father Tim series. I read all the books in the series and enjoyed every one of them. Light and easy reading with many heart warming stories 'within' a story about community, good stewardship, friendship, love and more. Not my usual genre but I enjoyed Jan Karon's writing immensely. All the books in the series made the rounds of my book loving friends, and we all agreed, we wish there was at least 'one' more to read.


The Secret of the Old Clock (Nancy Drew, No 1)
The Secret of the Old Clock (Nancy Drew, No 1)
Author: Carolyn Keene
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 4/21/2008


I read every one of the books in the Nancy Drew series as a kid. Stories are still good reading for preteens.


Trump: How to Get Rich
Trump: How to Get Rich
Author: Meredith McIver, Donald J. Trump
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/21/2008


Trump should know. Good information.


VEST POCKET CFO SOFT LEXOTONE
VEST POCKET CFO SOFT LEXOTONE
Author: Jae K. Shim, Joel G. Siegel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/21/2008


If your serious about Corporate Finance then you will want this book. It has EVERYTHING.


1 to 19 of 19