Reviews - Stephanie H. (luvtink81)

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
The 10 Commandments of Dating : Student Edition
The 10 Commandments of Dating : Student Edition
Author: Ben Young, Samuel Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/15/2006


"This book is focused on teenagers still (or just out of) high school, and for those that are Christians. Even though I'm I'm older, it did provide some good information that anyone can use."


The Accidental Buddhist
The Accidental Buddhist
Author: Dinty W. Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/7/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An interesting look at how Buddhism is making it's way into American society."


The Alienist
The Alienist
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 516
Review Date: 7/11/2006


"A really good, interesting read. I am very interested in psychology and the psychology of serial killers, and I think that because the story was set in the late 1800's, it made it that much more interesting."


Anna Karenina
Anna Karenina
Author: Leo Tolstoy, Richard Pevear (Translator), Larissa Volokhonsky (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 2/13/2006


"A bit hard to get into, but picks up after the first few chapters. I really liked the story line, and am glad I pushed through and finished reading it."


The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 1)
The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 1)
Author: Lemony Snicket
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 572
Review Date: 2/13/2006


"A very original story line for a children's book. I love the characters, and look foward to reading more from this series."


The Body in the Library  (Miss Marple, Bk 3)
The Body in the Library (Miss Marple, Bk 3)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 2/20/2006


"My first Agatha Christie mystery, and I really enjoyed it. It's a really fast read and I thought the ending was a suprise. I look foward to reading more of Christie's work!"


Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason
Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason
Author: Nancy Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 2/13/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A great reference book for avid book lovers looking for something new to read. Pearl has so many different lists and suggestions, there is something for everyone."


The Book of Ruth
The Book of Ruth
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 571
Review Date: 2/26/2006


"I really liked the voice of the story and the ending caught me by suprise."


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1979
Review Date: 2/13/2006


"A pretty good story about Becky Bloomwood who has a major shopping problem. I had a few good laughs while reading this and look foward to reading more in the "Shopaholic" series"


A Cup of Tea
A Cup of Tea
Author: Amy Ephron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 2/22/2006


"An okay read. Something short to pass the time."


Deep Secrets (Nancy Drew Files, No 50) (A Summer of Love Trilogy, No 3)
Review Date: 2/14/2006


"This ISBN refers to the Hardcover, even though it says paperback"


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2470
Review Date: 6/4/2006


"Although I enjoyed "Tuesdays With Morrie" more, this was a nice thought provoking read."


Girl with a Pearl Earring
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1405
Review Date: 2/13/2006


"A pretty quick read. I really loved the setting and the characters and look foward to reading more from Chevalier."


The Good Earth
The Good Earth
Author: Pearl S. Buck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 484
Review Date: 2/13/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really loved this story and all the characters. I think my favorite part was how the story comes full circle, and I was also really moved by the struggle of this family as they are extremely poor when the novel starts, but with hard work and determination become a very wealthy family."


The Honk and Holler Opening Soon
The Honk and Holler Opening Soon
Author: Billie Letts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 312
Review Date: 6/9/2006


"I love Billie Letts's writing and her ability to create relatable characters. A great story."


Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 539
Review Date: 2/13/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The story really held my attention and was funny, and just an overall great book. However, if you are easily offended, this book is probably not for you; otherwise, I highly recommend it."


The Laziest Robot in Zone One (An I Can Read Book)
The Laziest Robot in Zone One (An I Can Read Book)
Author: Lillian Hoban
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/18/2006


"This ISBN refers to the hardcover, even though it says paperback"


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3307
Review Date: 2/18/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An interesting story about faith, survival, and human nature. I really enjoyed the talk and descriptions of all the animals."


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1965
Review Date: 2/13/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An amazing and disturbing story about a young girl who is raped and murdered, and tells most of the story from her point of view in heaven."


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1373
Review Date: 2/13/2006


"A cute and touching story about the life of Marley and his owners. I think any animal lover (especially dog lovers) can relate to the stories in this book on some level. I've definitely been telling everyone about Marley!"


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: