Kathy H. (gottabemetoread) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
The Almost Sisters: A Novel
The Almost Sisters: A Novel
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/23/2018


Okay this is only the second book I read by this author. I loved this story! It is one of those that you hate to end! Have ordered God's in Alabama for my next read by this author. ENJOY!!!


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/24/2017


Another series by Mary Alice Monroe that does not disappoint. I love her style and I love how she integrates the turtle facts into her story. I really want to go find some nests and help the loggerheads out. I did not realize it was such an issue and the story brought that to my attention. Love these stories!


Belonging
Belonging
Author: Nancy Thayer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/29/2012


Ok.............this one follows the rule don't judge a book by it's cover! When I received in the mail I thought...........this probably isn't going to be good.....just didn't get a good feeling. Well once I started I had a hard time stopping! Loved this story! Has some twists you just don't see coming!


Between Friends
Between Friends
Author: Kristy Kiernan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 6/26/2012


This is my first book by this author. I read the book in a day. At first I was unsure and thought maybe I would not finish it. Somewhere after that thought I looked up and was over half way done with the book. From that point on I could not put it down. Great story, twisted plot and some brutal honsety by some of the characters. Loved this book!


Coming Up for Air
Coming Up for Air
Author: Patti Callahan Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/13/2013


I lover her books! Her descriptions are vivid and her prose is wonderful. I have yet to read one of her novels that I do not like.


A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
Author: Deborah Harkness
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 11/27/2012


Okay is it possible to love and hate it at the same time? Loved the way the author weaves history in the story and I learned some things that I did not know........for example Bundling. It did, on the vampire aspect, remind me of Twilight to some degree but I could get past that. The part at the end...........during chapter 37..........yes the book needed most of it but some I could have done with just a hint. I must admit I need to read the next book......twisted huh?


Every Crooked Nanny (Callahan Garrity, Bk 1)
Every Crooked Nanny (Callahan Garrity, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Hogan Trocheck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 7/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Just like many of the other reviews...........I love Mary Kay Andrews.......so when I needed a fix I read this book which is Mary Kay Andrews. It does remind me of Stephanie Plum. Quirky characters, funny mom instead of grandma, and just a good laugh out loud story. I would recommend this books if you like either or any of the above!


Heartwood
Heartwood
Author: Belva Plain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/9/2011


First book of this author's that I read and I loved it!!! Will be certain to order more.


Henry's Sisters
Henry's Sisters
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 9/16/2013


I loved this book! Yes the family is messed up and has baggage but who doesn't? The beginning is a little strange but once you get past that point and understand why things happen as they do I loved the book and grandma! Great humor and great story. Life and family are not perfect!


The House at Riverton
The House at Riverton
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 8/1/2015


Haunting..............the characters are just haunting. I will think about this book long after I have read it. A must read for anyone! Can't recommend it enough!


The Jester
The Jester
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Loved, loved, loved this book!!!!!!!!! Very different from the usual JP. I could not put it down and when I shared with my husband he finished it in a day as well. I wish he would write another!


Lamp Black, Wolf Grey
Lamp Black, Wolf Grey
Author: Paula Brackston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/14/2016


Not one of my favorites by her but still worth reading


The Last Time I Was Me
The Last Time I Was Me
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 12/16/2012


What a surprise. Started out slow for me than somewhere around pg 100 I hard a hard time putting it down. Love, love, love the court scence at the end. Will read more from this author.


The Litigators
The Litigators
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 9/15/2012


I like it!!! Good ole Grisham........and the humor is not so bad. Read fast just like the the old ones.


Lost Lake (Lost Lake, Bk 1)
Lost Lake (Lost Lake, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah Addison Allen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 5/26/2015
Helpful Score: 3


Sarah Addison Allen does it again. When I get one of her books I always put it aside because I know I am not going to want to put and it down. It never fails. I read the book in a day and it was such a wonderful treat to myself. I lost myself at Lost Lake for Memorial Day and I hated to have to return. To me, reading one of this author's books it like ice cream, to be savored not devoured........but you can't help yourself!


Love in a Nutshell (Culhane Family, Bk 1)
Love in a Nutshell (Culhane Family, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich, Dorien Kelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 1/24/2012


Cute. Has some funny parts to it. Typical chick lit.


The Love Season
The Love Season
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 12/6/2009


Read the book in one day. I loved it! Only the second book I read this author and I will definitely be reading more by her. It is hard to believe the book only spawns one day when you begin but before you know it the book and the day are over and it all goes together smoothly.


The Midnight Witch
The Midnight Witch
Author: Paula Brackston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/14/2016


A little slow at first but it quickly picks up pace and one again Paula Brackston delivers another great witch story.


The Nightingale
The Nightingale
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 4/3/2016


When I first began this book it started slow for me. I love Kristin Hannah's book so I was a little unsettled. As I read on and the story and characters grew for me I had to put the story down and step away. Once again the horror of that terrible war and what happened to people was a reminder of how ugly people can be. I am glad that I read the book. The story, as you can imagine, will stay with me for awhile. Bad things always do. I am glad I read this book......without a doubt.


Now That You Mention It
Now That You Mention It
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/20/2018


I loved this story! As a child of a parent with a the same disorder mentioned in this book (trying not to spoil the story) I could so completely relate. I laughed out loud and I had tears streaming done my checks. Well done!


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: