Carolyn P. (CarolynP) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
30-Minute Meals 2
30-Minute Meals 2
Author: Rachael Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 9/22/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Some interesting recipes but since calorie, fat, or carb counts are not included, I didn't use this book very often.


At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 12/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book seemed to be written like a diary; most of it was set-up for the final chapters and the epilogue. Many events in the book were stand-alone events and didn't relate to anything else--almost like page fillers. I had to make myself finish reading this book.


B is for Burglar (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 2)
B is for Burglar (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 2)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 464
Review Date: 8/15/2007


Interesting plot and outcome. I like this better than "A."


The Black Echo / The Black Ice / The Concrete Blonde (Harry Bosch, Bks 1-3)
Review Date: 7/28/2007
Helpful Score: 2


When I finished Black Echo, I was so glad there were two more novels to continue with right away. Harry Bosch is a very human character. Each novel has an exciting and believable storyline.


The Body Farm (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 5)
The Body Farm (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 5)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 9/15/2009


The main plot in this book was good and credible, but there were a few events that seemed superfluous--most likely set ups for future books. I thought they could have been omitted. All in all, a good read.


C is for Corpse (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 3)
C is for Corpse (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 3)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 407
Review Date: 8/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Good story that keeps you guessing. I liked this more than A or B.


Cheechako Goes to the Klondike (Alaska Book Adventures (Epicenter Press))
Review Date: 10/3/2009


A very good book compiling the journals and notes of C.W. Adams (a Cheechako from North Dakota) a riverboat captain and miner in Alaska during the early 1900's. It depicts the resourcefulness and hard work needed to survive in Alaska--along with the willingness to help anyone in need. The artwork at the beginning of each chapter is wonderful!


Chosen Soldier: The Making of a Special Forces Warrior
Chosen Soldier: The Making of a Special Forces Warrior
Author: Dick Couch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/30/2009


Excellent book on the training that a class goes through to become members of the special forces. Couch effectively shares individual triumphs and failures as the class progresses. The first chapters are a little slow, but the book picks up once the class gets started.


Complete Wedding Floral Books Volume 2
Complete Wedding Floral Books Volume 2
Author: Leisure Arts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/1/2009


This is an excellent book for creating your own floral bouquets, corsages, and boutonniers for a wedding. I had no experience and created the all the flowers for my daughter's wedding party of six, along with her bouquet, grandmother corsages, etc. Besides saving hundreds of dollars and having flowers that will keep as remembrances, they looked better than silk flowers shown in floral shops as examples of what they provide. No one knew they were silk unless they went up and smelled them.

The instructions are easy to follow and there are a lot of different ideas in the book.


The Daughter of Time (Alan Grant, Bk 5)
The Daughter of Time (Alan Grant, Bk 5)
Author: Josephine Tey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/9/2007


Great historical novel about King Richard III, refuting the evil persona surrounding him. Includes other sources of information which I may pursue.


Deep Waters
Deep Waters
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/8/2007


Quick read but some of the conversations and situations seemed a little contrived.


Die Trying  (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Die Trying (Jack Reacher, Bk 2)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 9/17/2007


Excellent action and thrilling plot. Can't wait to read the next book in the Jack Reacher series.


E is for Evidence (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 5)
E is for Evidence (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 5)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 396
Review Date: 10/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Good, quick read. Suspenseful right to the end.


Flight of the Old Dog (Patrick McLanahan, Bk 1)
Flight of the Old Dog (Patrick McLanahan, Bk 1)
Author: Dale Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 12/2/2007


Good military action novel, but it contained a lot of technical jargon/information. At first I tried to keep up with the technical passages, but eventually I just skimmed over them.


For the Defense (Barbara Holloway, Bk 3)
For the Defense (Barbara Holloway, Bk 3)
Author: Kate Wilhelm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/24/2011


This is the first Kate Wilhelm book I have read and I will read others. This book was suspenseful and not easy to put down.


G is for Gumshoe (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 7)
G is for Gumshoe (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 7)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 455
Review Date: 12/5/2007


Grafton's Kinsey Millhone series keeps getting better. I couldn't put this book down, but didn't want it to end. There are a couple intertwining plots that keep you guessing.


Green darkness
Green darkness
Author: Anya Seton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/30/2007


One of the best books I have ever read. Intertwines the present with the past remarkably well--a page turner. I read this book every few years.


Green Hazard
Green Hazard
Author: Manning Coles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/29/2010


I would recommend this story about Allied spies in Nazi Germany during WWII. It is fast paced and includes switched identities, explosives, and narrow escapes.


The Guardian
The Guardian
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 959
Review Date: 9/30/2009


An easy read but very predictable.


H is for Homicide (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 8)
H is for Homicide (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 8)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 421
Review Date: 1/29/2008


Very interesting and different from the earlier books in the Kinsey Millhone series.


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: