Carolyn P. (CarolynP) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 55 - Page:
In Cold Blood (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
In Cold Blood (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Truman Capote, Scott Brick (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent audio book. I don't know who recommended the audio over print, but I totally agree. This version is unabridged, so be sure to have a long drive planned--it would be hard to pick up on the characters after a long layoff.


The Interview Room
The Interview Room
Author: Roderick Anscombe
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/10/2011


The thought processes of the psychiatrist regarding the sociopath, as well as all the other characters in the book, is fast paced and exceptional. This is a page turner.


Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, Bk 1)
Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, Bk 1)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 416
Review Date: 9/13/2007


Couldn't put this one down--excellent and fast paced story. This is the first in the Jack Reacher series--I will be reading more.


The King Is Dead
The King Is Dead
Author: Ellery Queen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The plot was somewhat unbelievable although interesting. However, an Ellery Queen fan would probably really like this mystery.


Last of the Breed
Last of the Breed
Author: Louis L'Amour
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/30/2009


This is quite a fascinating novel about escape and survival. My interest was held by "what can possibly happen next?"


The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1)
The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath, Bk 1)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 10/23/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is the first in the Scot Harvath series. The first chapters were filled with annoying acronyms, but the story was action packed and really moved along. I will continue with the series.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5403
Review Date: 9/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


After reading so many disappointing reviews, I could not get excited about beginning this book. However, I soon found the sentiments and descriptions drew me into the story. Other than a few slow chapters about two-thirds of the way through, I could not put the book down.


Milk and Honey (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus, Bk 3)
Milk and Honey (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus, Bk 3)
Author: Faye Kellerman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 12/16/2007


This is the third in the Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus series. The intertwining plots were complex and well done. However, the tutorial on Judaism did not fit quite as well in this book as in the first of the series.


My Pleasure (Rose Hunters, Bk 2)
My Pleasure (Rose Hunters, Bk 2)
Author: Connie Brockway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 8/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Light Regency romance--quick read.


The Other Boleyn Girl
The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2784
Review Date: 8/30/2009


This is a very good historical novel about Anne Boleyn's sister, Mary, who was also King Henry VIII's mistress (before Anne). Gregory's dialog and description make the period come to life. It is a novel that is hard to put down.


The Overlook (Harry Bosch, Bk 13)
The Overlook (Harry Bosch, Bk 13)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 223
Review Date: 11/2/2007


I did not like this book as much as the others in the Harry Bosch series. It did not have the depth of plot or character development as his previous novels; it was very short. Maybe I was looking forward to reading it too much.


Panama Canal By Cruise Ship: The Complete Guide to Cruising the Panama Canal
Review Date: 11/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Besides providing the history of the canal, this book provided maps and information on the ports we visited. We were able to determine which shore excursions matched attractions and activities recommended by the book, and booked our excursions before the cruise started. We also were able to determine which ports we could explore on our own by checking the city maps in the book to see if the attractions/activities were within walking distance of the dock, and/or if local transportation was recommended.


Pearl in the Mist (Landry, Bk 2)
Pearl in the Mist (Landry, Bk 2)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 8/27/2010


I liked reading this book, but at times it seemed a little predictable. Interesting ending.


The Plantagenet Prelude (Plantagenet Saga, Bk 1)
The Plantagenet Prelude (Plantagenet Saga, Bk 1)
Author: Jean Plaidy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/13/2007


Wonderful book--first in the series on the Plantagenet line of kings. Great history and believable dialog.


Point Blank (FBI, Bk 10)
Point Blank (FBI, Bk 10)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 435
Review Date: 8/9/2007


Suspenseful mystery, but some of the dialog was a little corny.


Postmortem (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 1)
Postmortem (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 321
Review Date: 9/13/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Convincing mystery that is thrilling right to the end. This is the first in the Kay Scarpetta series and I will be sure to read the others.


Quo Vadis?
Quo Vadis?
Author: Henryk Sienkiewicz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/30/2009


This is a very good book about the early Christians in Nero's Rome. Sienkiewicz gives his characters believable dialog and his descriptions are easy to visualize. The subplots were easy to follow even though there were quite a few. The book got better as I was reading it, and I could hardly put it down after I got into the second half.


Rain Fall (John Rain, Bk 1)
Rain Fall (John Rain, Bk 1)
Author: Barry Eisler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 7/28/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The first in the series of John Rain books. This is a good action story taking place in Tokyo. It has a twisting plot, but not misleading, and keeps you guessing who the good guys are. I will be sure to read the next in the series.


Rainsong
Rainsong
Author: Phyllis A. Whitney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/30/2009


I used to read Whitney a long time ago and thought I would like to again. However, while reading this book I decided that I have outgrown her style of writing--anyway this book was a little sappy.


Red Rabbit (Jack Ryan, Bk 2)
Red Rabbit (Jack Ryan, Bk 2)
Author: Tom Clancy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 9/4/2007


Interesting blend of fiction and history in the Jack Ryan series.


21 to 40 of 55 - Page: