Toni B. (finetacodog) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/24/2016


This book depressed me so, and made me so angry while listening to it, I could not finish it. Please somebody take it off my bookshelf. Conservatives will love this book.


Abundance  (Audio CD)  (Abridged)
Abundance (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund, Susanna Burney (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/2/2009


Follow the path of the Woman from 14 year old girl to Queen to pauper. The interview with the author at the end explains where she started with Marie Antoinette, born to be Queen, Marie Antoinette became a loving mother, and wife to the King, and was a lady to the end. I enjoyed this novel and couldnt stop listening to it. I fell in love with this Queen, I cried at the end.


Alice Hartley's Happiness
Alice Hartley's Happiness
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/24/2011


This book was totally surpising and not like anything I have read from Ms Gregory. I laughed out loud, was shocked and irritated. A good romp and fast read. Delightful! Sad when the story was over. I would love to follow Alice...


At Home in Mitford (Mitford Years, Bk 1) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford Years, Bk 1) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/14/2006


first book in this series on two cassettes, abridged, approx 3 hours


Away (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Away (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Amy Bloom, Barbara Rosenblatt (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/12/2016


This story IS about Lillian Leib and how a young immigrant with very little knowledge of America goes on adventure of her life. I was glad to have met Lillian. I was glad she found love but sad for all her losses. Some scary stuff in this book and I am surprised that she even stayed alive through all her tribulations. I think if you like turn of the century stories with all the mores of that time, you should like this book. Narrator Barbara Rosenblatt brings the characters to life. 5 stars.


Review Date: 12/13/2015


I love James Patterson. This collaboration with Peter de Jonge was so well written with great dialogue. We were in the heads of the characters as well as looking at the story from a spectator aspect. I dont think this could be done as an abridgment as all parts are very important to the story line all the way up to shocking ending that kept unfolding to the very end. At one point I thought this couple was going to form a partnership and have a series. BOY was I surprised. AND you will not be disappointed.


The Book of the Cat
The Book of the Cat
Author: Michael Wright (Editor), Sally Walters (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/7/2005
Helpful Score: 1


The cat,arguably nature's most beautiful creature is here presented in all its varied guises, from pedigree champoin to alley-cat. Everything you ever wantd to know about cats is in this book.


The Book of the Dead (Special Agent Pendergast Bk 7) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/4/2009


I have "read" most of the Pendergast series, and this one brings it all together. I didnt want it to end. And really it doesnt, looking for the next one in the series. Great suspense I didnt even mind the traffic, while listening in the car, as it moved briskly along through several climax scenes. And the surprise ending , oh Wow!!


Cemetery Dance (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 10/14/2009


This has been the best so far, In My most humble opinion. Kept me on the edge of my seat (haha in the car) and almost forgot where i was. Sometimes the Narrator, Rene, was little over dramatic, but the story ... i would never have guessed the villian..


The Changeling
The Changeling
Author: Kate Horsley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/1/2016


Not many books can move me to tears, but this one did. Strong woman story, she ends up defining herself. I loved this story.


Cold Paradise (Stone Barrington, Bk 7) (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Review Date: 3/7/2007


A great read,lots of supspense. I didnt even know I was driving.


Cross Fire (Alex Cross, Bk 17) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/26/2014


I was scared most of the time reading this book. WoW. I am glad I didnt read it at night. Many things are brought to conclusions in this one and very satisfyingly done.


Crossing to Safety (Great Reads)
Crossing to Safety (Great Reads)
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/14/2006


This a novel of two couple who form a lifelong friendship, tested by the trial of time and fortune, whish and reality, hope and disappointment. A novel of growth from within, in response to the demands from without. This is a novel of Survival in our world, always temporary.


The Cursed Towers (Witches of Eileanan, Bk 3)
The Cursed Towers (Witches of Eileanan, Bk 3)
Author: Kate Forsyth
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 9/13/2005


This series of Fantasy was a great read, and I was sad when I came to the end of them, as I felt the loss of a great friend. There are five in all I believe. There is intrigue, mystery, romance in this series. Transports you to another time on another plain.


Darkness (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Darkness (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: John Saul, Anthony Zerbe (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/25/2014


If you would like a good horror mystery this is it. I was so scared listening to this book, Anthony Zerbe is excellent as a reader. I was glad this was only abridged, I dont think I could have taken it if the whole story was read. Try it!


The Devil's Punchbowl (Penn Cage, Bk 3) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 12/7/2015


I have never read Greg Iles before, but I am on murder mystery kick so I thought I would try this author. OMG this was a very scary on the edge of the seat novel. Cage, the main character, was truly appalled at what he helped to bring to his city and made it his mission to rectify the situation. A truly excellent book. Penn Cage series could be my new series to read.


Dragonflight
Dragonflight
Author: Anne Mccaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/14/2006


This is about Lessa of Pern, whose proud line, Ruatha, was wiped out by Lord Fax when he attacked her hold. Gifted with power, independent, Lessa had fought singlehandedly and secretly to drive Fax out of the hold. Now the dragonmen had come to Ruatha, and with all her strength Lessa willed them to kill Fax, forgetting she would thus betray herself to the dragons and to their riders....


Eaters of the Dead (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Eaters of the Dead (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Victor Garber (Narrator), Michael Crichton
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/29/2005


A different version the story of Beowolf. I enjoyed it greatly.


Five Complete Miss Marple Novels
Five Complete Miss Marple Novels
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Dust cover is missing from this copy.


God on a Harley: A Spiritual Fable (Audio Cassette Unabridged)
God on a Harley: A Spiritual Fable (Audio Cassette Unabridged)
Author: Joan Brady
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/14/2006


Two cassettes approx running time 3 hours.


1 to 20 of 56 - Page: