Denise B. (VintageNana) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 4/14/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I did not like "The 19th Wife". It is two stories in one, one is set in the early 19th century and the other more modern. I was bored with both stories! One story is about the 19th wife of Brigham Young, prophet of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and the other is about a young man who was thrown out of his polygamous fundamentalist sect and the murder of his father. The book takes on polygamy, gay rights, faith, and God. Quite a list of things to deal with. The book cover states "...a historical fiction with a modern murder mystery to create a brilliant novel of literary suspense. There was no suspense and the book is certainly not brilliant." I would not recommend this book to anyone.


Artful Words: Mary Engelbreit and the Illustrated Quote
Review Date: 1/22/2009


Illustrations, quotations and witty sayings...this book is pure Mary Engelbreit. There are 160 pages in this book of ME illustrations. It is a lovely book, interesting to look through. I have my favorite pictures and quotes; one of them is "Worrying does not empty tomorrow of its troubles,it empties today of its strength". I would recommend this book to all Mary Engelbreit fans.


Better Homes and Gardens: New Decorating Book
Better Homes and Gardens: New Decorating Book
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I love decorating books, it doesn't matter what era they are from. I feel you can always learn something new and get ideas from them. This book was published in 1991, as such it is a little bit out of date as far as the decorating goes. But the information it gives you concerning choosing furniture, color schemes, fabrics, the little tricks about how to care for furniture, buying 2nd hand furniture and restoring it are great and never go out of style. It shows you the difference between brocade and falle fabric. I enjoyed this book and I am sure you will too.


The Boleyn Inheritance (Tudor Court, Bk 3)
The Boleyn Inheritance (Tudor Court, Bk 3)
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoy historical fiction, I though I would enjoy this book. But from the start the author jumps around from Jane Boleyn to Anne to Katherine; back to Jane then to Anne and then to Katherine...that's only the first 25 pages. It was too long and confusing for me.


Bonnie's Household Budget Book: The Essential Guide for Getting Control of Your Money
Review Date: 2/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I was curious about this book when it stated "Eight easy steps to a budget that works!". I'm always looking for books or information about budgets. But the system has to be easy to use and non-complicated. This one offered to explain how to:

Set up a budget
Estimate and balance your income and expenses
Reduce debt
Adjust your budget to fit changing needs

It does just that...but the system is not simple and non-complicated. Bonnie's book is full of useful information along with the forms to use to get control of your finances. To me it seemed time consuming and complicated. For me this book wasn't right but for someone else it might be perfect.


Breaking the Silence
Breaking the Silence
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 3/6/2009


Breaking The Silence is the first book by Diane Chamberlain I have read. I will be reading more of her books. Her writing style has an easy flow to it. With the twists and turns in the story I was kept intrigued and willing to keep reading. The story has the type of ending I like...happy.


Creation in Death (In Death, Bk 25)
Creation in Death (In Death, Bk 25)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 2/19/2009


J.D. Robb/Nora Roberts...WOW! Another extraordinary tale featuring Lieutenant Eve Dallas(NYPSD), her billionaire husband,Roake, and a cast of wonderfully full bodied charaters. The story evolves around a killer (nicknamed the Groom) who has tortured and killed 25 women; in New York and other parts of the world. He is now back in NY, after a 9 year absence, and has started his killing spree again. Dallas and company need to stop him before he murders again. This is a wonderful story with twists and turns and a great ending.


Dixieland Sushi
Dixieland Sushi
Author: Cara Lockwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 8/3/2009


Really cute book, I enjoyed the authors' characters and the story line.


The First Rule (Joe Pike, Bk 2)
The First Rule (Joe Pike, Bk 2)
Author: Robert Crais
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 1/11/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first time I have read Robert Crais and I really liked his style of writing. The characters Joe Pike and Elvis Cole work well together. Pike is a retired professional military contractor, when on of his fellow retired PMC is killed Pike takes it personally. The books is great reading from beginning to end.


Flea Market Finds Before & After: Home Decorating with Makeover Miracles
Review Date: 2/14/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book, it encourages the reader to try their hand at creating something beautiful and useful from something ugly and junky. Before and After shows the before pictures and the possible afters you can accomplish. It shows how (by pictures and written directions) how to accomplish the miracles. There are also chapters on how to wire bottles/jars for lights or how to turn dishes or old decorative tins into clocks. I learned quite a lot from this book, plus it was very enjoyable to read and look through.


A House Of Many Rooms
A House Of Many Rooms
Author: Rodello Hunter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Written in 1965 by Rodello Hunter, "A House of Many Rooms" is a joyous touching memoir of her growning up years at the turn of the century in a small Utah town. There were 13 children growning up in this house, some "owned" and some "borrowed" when nephews, nieces and grandchildren were taken into the brood. The book chronicles the life events, some sad, most humorous, and all treated with affection and understanding- for in such a large family something is happening all the time. The author jumps around from one time period to another. I couldn't quite keep track of the ages of the children or where in the time frame of the family she was discussing. I enjoyed the book, it is cute and intertaining and gives you another perspective of Mormon family life.


Live Your Life for Half the Price
Live Your Life for Half the Price
Author: Lyle and Tracy Shamo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/11/2011


The author claims to know the secret of living your life to half the price. They list several ways to live on less money. Part one: The Pursuit of Happiness; this lists living on less, putting a price tag on happiness and do I really need this?. Part two: Spend Less and Be Happy contains; Family fun on a shoestring, how to avoid starving to death on food, how to keep the lights on and so forth. Part three: Surviving Tough Times contains The Difference between Ants and Grasshoppers and how to surviving unemployment and turbulent times. Part four: Summing It Up; well is just sums everything up. The book is interesting reading but most of the suggestions were aimed at a family with children, which we are not. For me the book just suggested the things we know we should do but don't do. I've heard and read all of the suggestions before.


Multiple Blessings: Surviving to Thriving With Twins and Sextuplets
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This book was great! Kate Gosselin came across as direct and outspoken as she is in the reality show "Jon & Kate Plus 8". She told the story as if she were telling it to a close friend - the good, the bad, the embarassing and the wonderful. Jon and Kate's faith shines through every word. I laughed, cried and was filled with joy when I read of the blessings they received from the Lord during the pregnancy and birth of the sextuplets. Kate's descriptions of the children while they were in NICU are amusing. She describes Joel's personality as an "exact replica of his daddy's personality - not too many ups, not too many downs, just steady and relaxed, go with the flow, and never in a hurry." This book tells of the emotional and physical challenges Jon and Kate faced from the time the babies were conceived through the first two years. On the back cover it reads "Eight children in three years? Impossible! Kate and Jon Gosselin have learned that through God, all things are possible - though sometimes slightly improbable." When you read this book you will feel a part of the wonderous ride through life the Gosselin family has embarked on.


Murder of a Small -Town Honey (Scumble River, Bk 1)
Murder of a Small -Town Honey (Scumble River, Bk 1)
Author: Denise Swanson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 5/16/2009


Cute book! Quick read, I enjoyed reading it with it twists and turns trying to figure out who killed Mrs. Gumtree, AKA Honey Adair. Honey was a former resident of Scumble River who had returned to perform in the Chokeberry Days festival. Believe me, there were quite a few people who would have loved to see Honey dead.


Plain Truth
Plain Truth
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 5/2/2009


Peacefull Paradise, Pennsylvania, a newborn baby found dead in the barn of an Amish farmer. Mother? An eighteen year old unmarried Amish woman who doesn't remember being pregnant much less giving birth. High profile Philadelphia defense attorney, happens to be a 2nd cousin, takes the case defending the mother. Good book; funny, sad, keeps you wondering who killed the baby; if it was murdered or died of natural causes.


Princess
Princess
Author: Jean P. Sasson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 1/24/2011


The book was interesting regarding the treatment of women in Saudi Arabia. The copyright is 1992 so it somewhat out of date. The story of women/human rights or rather lack of them is disturbing. To be born a girl in Saudi Arabia is to be nothing, a non-person. Your quality of life, your very life is in the hands of your father, husband, son, and country. No one deserves to be treated like this.


The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio: How My Mother Raised 10 Kids on 25 Words or Less
Review Date: 4/7/2009


I enjoyed reading this book. I remember the juggle contests of the 1950s and 1960s. Evelen Ryan was a typical housewife of her time. She stayed home raising her kids, taking pride in her home and family. She kept her family from poverty with her poetry and contesting. Somehow her jingle winnings always arrived just in time to keep food on the table or shoes on her children's feet. She won sewing machines, washers and dryers, dancing shoes, roller skates, trips and, of course, money. She once provided Christmas for all the children from the things in her prize closet. That's where she kept all the prizes she won. This book is an enjoyable read and I hope you have an opportunity to read it.


The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio : How My Mother Raised 10 Kids on 25 Words or Less
Review Date: 3/11/2009


Evelyn Ryan was a housewife and mother in Defiance, Ohio who between the 1950s and 1960's (the contest era) entered every contest available. She wrote poetry, prose, jingles, short stories for the newspaper. With her winnings she managed to keep her family afloat and poverty at bay. Her husband was a typical man of the time; worked, drank, managed the money. By entering contests where ever she found them - TV, radio, newspapers, etc Evelyn was able to win bicycles, watches, washing machines, dryers, cars, trips and even a jutebox. She sold almost all of her prizes because her family needed the money. The story is about her upbeat, look at the good side of life personality. She raised ten kids who turned out to be strong honest hard-working people. I really liked the book and would recommend it to everyone.


Rachel Ashwell's Shabby Chic Treasure Hunting and Decorating Guide
Review Date: 1/22/2009


If you are a fan of Rachel Ashwell and shabby chic this book is for you. In this book Rachel takes you through flea markets, antique malls and garage sales explaining what to look for, that with a little imagination, work and ingenuity you too can turn trinkets from the past into treasures for today. Rachel's guideline words - comfort, function and beauty will help you decide if an item is right for you. The book is interesting and easy to read.


Right Hand Magic (Golgotham, Bk 1)
Right Hand Magic (Golgotham, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy A. Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 12/31/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I enjoyed reading this book, it was an easy read but very enjoyable. The characters were great and when they interacted with each other it was always fun. Golgotham was an interesting city, with very strange citizens; sorcerers,shape-shifters, etc. I would recommend this book for anyone wanting a fun quick read.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: