Terri C. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
Advise and Consent (Advise and Consent, Bk 1)
Advise and Consent (Advise and Consent, Bk 1)
Author: Allen Drury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/24/2011


A long outdated story, but worth reading to see how alike and how different things were from today. Interesting to see the way the author treated women. We've come a long way since 1958. Written in the midst of the civil rights movement, blacks are referred to once derogatorily. A gay character also shows us changing attitudes. Sad. Progress is slow, but we are making progress. The view of communism puts today's worries about the Middle East in a different light for me.


Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror
Against All Enemies: Inside America's War on Terror
Author: Richard A. Clarke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 10/2/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Easy reading, full of facts. An eye-opener, everyone should have read it before the second election. I read most of it out loud to my husband as he drove. It's hard to put down.


The Ambassadors (Oxford World's Classics)
The Ambassadors (Oxford World's Classics)
Author: Henry James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I've read three other of James' books. It's usually a struggle because they're so wordy, but I have enjoyed two of them. This one was just like punishment for me. Sentences that go on and on, with phrases and qualifiers. It takes pages to get through a thought. Couldn't finish it.


Anthem
Anthem
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 12/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


A quick read, but a quicker and more enjoyable one that makes the same point is Vonnegut's very short story, Harrison Bergeron. This one is simplistic and a really bad argument for what happens if people consider the good of the community instead of just their own needs. I read it in an evening and consider it a wasted evening. Loved the Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged.


The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
Author: Barack Obama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 4/2/2008
Helpful Score: 14


Easy read, very impressive. He's not just a great talker, he's a great thinker. This book lays out his thinking and hopes on all the issues and shows you where he's coming from. Those who want to know him in depth should read this book. It's not only enjoyable, it's full of facts. Only ignorance of his ideas can lead people to say hateful things about a man who cares so much about the world.


Cold Sassy Tree (Cold Sassy, Bk 1)
Cold Sassy Tree (Cold Sassy, Bk 1)
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 9/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I read mostly classics, but this has now joined my favorite 20 of all time. A sweet funny story, full of nostalgia. I bought 5 (used) copies to hand out to friends. They all loved it too. Didn't like the sequel though.


Colored People
Colored People
Author: Henry Louis Gates Jr.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/23/2007


Very easy to read, written with humor and insight. I highly recommend it.


A Confederacy of Dunces
A Confederacy of Dunces
Author: John Kennedy Toole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 590
Review Date: 2/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I have two friends who just loved this one. I read the whole thing and never felt the need to see what was next. Characters were completely unbelievable, disgusting of course, in a kind of junior high way. Can't believe it won a Pulitzer. Waste of time.


A Fine Balance (Large Print)
A Fine Balance (Large Print)
Author: Rohinton Mistry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/5/2009


I didn't really expect to enjoy this book, but it was a page turner. I learned so much about the lives of people in India in the 1970s, and was happy to find it wasn't about colonial India. It was not elegantly written, but packed a lot of stories into the narrative. It made me appreciate my easy life. What spoiled people we Americans are!


Finnegans Wake
Finnegans Wake
Author: James Joyce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/19/2011


Are you kidding me? This book is not written in English. If you don't have time to consult your Old English and Greek and whatever else translators, don't waste your time. Sentences are sometimes over a page long, with every fifth word unintelligible.


Geronimo's Bones : A Memoir of My Brother and Me
Geronimo's Bones : A Memoir of My Brother and Me
Author: Nasdijj
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An incredible memoir, I absolutely loved it until I learned that it isn't really a memoir. Nasdijj is a phony, his memoir is fictional. Still, a powerful story written in a very beautiful style. He sucked me in and I guess I resent that.


Gilead
Gilead
Author: Marilynne Robinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 1/20/2009


This book is full of wonderful thoughts. I'm not a religious person, though, and it was sometimes a little heavy with religion for me. I'm glad I read it, there were many beautiful sections about children, about family and about the importance of reflection.


God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything
God Is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything
Author: Christopher Hitchens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 4/6/2008


As a non-religious person, I waited on the wish list for this book for 6 months, then canceled after listening to Hitchens on Russert using bad arguments to make his points. He paraphrased and actually lied to make the point that religion had poisoned a topic. If this is how he argues a point, the book itself is of little value. I agree with his thesis, but have lost faith in Hitchens as any kind of authority.


Going Back to Bisbee
Going Back to Bisbee
Author: Richard Shelton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/17/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I really enjoyed this book. I'm a visitor to Bisbee and love it there. I learned alot about the history and present of the area, the plant life, economy, etc. It's well written, kind of hard to put down for non-fiction.


The Good Soldier : A Tale of Passion
The Good Soldier : A Tale of Passion
Author: Ford Madox Ford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/3/2007


If you ever think, "what happened to the days when people had morals," or you wonder if we've made progress in relationships, this book will make you wonder how anyone ever stayed married. At least how any rich, idle people stayed married. Very interesting. I'm sure it will stay with me. I'm glad I read it.


Lamb in His Bosom
Lamb in His Bosom
Author: Caroline Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/18/2009


If you like to read about pioneer days, from a woman's viewpoint, this is a good one. It's a story that makes you want to keep reading. Quite politically incorrect, but interesting to see what was acceptable in a Pulitzer prize winner in 1933.


Life on the Color Line : The True Story of a White Boy Who Discovered He Was Black
Review Date: 9/18/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is an absolutely unbelievable story, written by the man who lived it. I couldn't put it down. What a success against such odds. It was amazing to me to see the treatment Gregory received growing up in Muncie in the 1950s and 60s. I'll never forget this book. I read it three or four years ago and the story is still with me. You won't regret reading this one.


The Man Who Loved Children
The Man Who Loved Children
Author: Christina Stead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/23/2008


This is quite the argument for our more liberal divorce laws. What a family! Well written, a really awful character. After I read it, I learned that it is very autobiographical, but the author lived in Australia. Her character was Louie. Yikes!


The Master Butchers Singing Club
The Master Butchers Singing Club
Author: Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 12/10/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I didn't plan to read this book, but read the reviews and decided to give it a try before someone requested it from my inventory. What a wonderful surprise. I won't be letting this one go. Rich language, beautifully crafted, what a storyteller Erdrich is. I'll be ordering another copy to share with family.


The Music of the Inferno: A Novel (Suny Series in Italian/American Culture)
Review Date: 9/3/2007


Very interesting and an easy read. If you're from Utica, I think it would be very good reading. About a misfit who doesn't know his ethnicity, lives in a room in a bookstore his whole working life and then returns home with his savings to create problems.


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: