Jean K. (meezergrrrl) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Absolute Trouble (Avalon Investigations, Bk 1)
Absolute Trouble (Avalon Investigations, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Jerott
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/18/2007


Very well-drawn characters.


Blacklist (V. I. Warshawski, Bk 11)
Blacklist (V. I. Warshawski, Bk 11)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 7/26/2006


One of the better Warshawski books I've read. I really liked the McCarthy era comparison to the Patriot Act and the politics within. The teenage girl is annoying, which is actually a credit to Paretsky's character development. She got "teenage girl" just right.


Blood Memories (Vampire Memories, Bk 1)
Blood Memories (Vampire Memories, Bk 1)
Author: Barb Hendee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/4/2006


Hard to find in print.


The Bride and the Beast (Fairy Tale, Bk 2)
The Bride and the Beast (Fairy Tale, Bk 2)
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 302
Review Date: 1/26/2007


I liked the heroine


Crazy for You
Crazy for You
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 483
Review Date: 2/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The bad guy was REALLY creepy, but the hero was kind of flat.


Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 553
Review Date: 1/26/2007


Temperance is like Kay Scarpetta with less political savvy. If you like the early Patricia Cornwell books, you will like this one.


A Lady's Pleasure (Mistress Trilogy, Bk 1)
A Lady's Pleasure (Mistress Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Renee Bernard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 11/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Characters were well drawn and the heroine wasn't TSTL. The premise of the "Deadly Duke" was a bit thin, though. Otherwise, an entertaining read.


The Lily Brand
The Lily Brand
Author: Sandra Schwab
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 8/17/2006
Helpful Score: 6


This book was categorized as a romance, and does have an HEA, but is extremely dark. The author has woven Brothers Grimm fairy tale concepts through a plot that wouldn't have held up otherwise.

This is not a book for the squeamish, or those who don't like their romances darker than dark.

I thought it was well done.


Mr. Impossible (Carsington, Bk 2)
Mr. Impossible (Carsington, Bk 2)
Author: Loretta Chase
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 1/26/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I liked the mongoose. Who puts a mongoose in their book? I also liked the hero. His laid back approach was most amusing


Night Watch (Watch, Bk 1)
Night Watch (Watch, Bk 1)
Author: Sergei Lukyanenko, Andrew Bromfield (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 1/1/2007


I'm thinking something got lost in translation... But I also have the DVD of the movie based on the book, so maybe the visual effect will improve on what the promising description from the back cover.


On Thin Ice (Wright Family, Bk 5) (T-FLAC, Bk 6)
On Thin Ice (Wright Family, Bk 5) (T-FLAC, Bk 6)
Author: Cherry Adair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 6/24/2006


Read this one for the Iditarod part of the plot. Good for a beach read.


One Way Out (Avalon Investigations, Bk 4)
One Way Out (Avalon Investigations, Bk 4)
Author: Michele Albert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/24/2006


I liked the paleontology aspects.


Sunshine
Sunshine
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 410
Review Date: 1/26/2007


Kind of slow. Not scary.


Take a Chance on Me
Take a Chance on Me
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 8/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book is hilariously fun for anyone who loves little bitty dogs who like to challenge their people.


Tempting Danger (World of the Lupi, Bk 1)
Tempting Danger (World of the Lupi, Bk 1)
Author: Eileen Wilks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 1/17/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I really liked this. The characters are well drawn, and the heroine doesn't turn into a "Mary Sue". She holds her own with the hero, too.


Thank You for Smoking
Thank You for Smoking
Author: Christopher Buckley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 6/24/2006


Very different from the movie. Much darker and with more snark.


Total Recall (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 10)
Total Recall (V.I. Warshawski, Bk 10)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/26/2006


Lotty's story. This book goes back and forth in time, but the subject matter (Kinder Transport, Holocaust survivors) is not cheery. On the upside, VI doesn't get the crap kicked out of her in this book as she does in most of the other books.


1 to 17 of 17