Cheryl G. (cheryl-momofthree) - , - Reviews

1 to 6 of 6
10-10-10: A Life-Transforming Idea
10-10-10: A Life-Transforming Idea
Author: Suzy Welch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/26/2011
Helpful Score: 3


It's a good book with a good idea. Take control of the decisions you're making anyway. Remembering that not taking action is also a decision. The book is mostly stories of how people have used her idea for a variety of life's decisions. I would recommend it to anyone who finds it hard to look at the pros & cons of decisions they must make. She encourages you to consider the pros and cons in three time frames: 1) 10 minutes (the next few minutes or days); 2) 10 months (in the near future); and 3) 10 years (in the distant future). The unexpected take away was that this process could actually help you explain your decisions to others rather that referring to it being a "gut feeling."


Coal Black Horse
Coal Black Horse
Author: Robert Olmstead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/12/2010


An excellent book looking at the personal side of the Civil War. You follow a young man on his search for his father fighting in the war with the help of a "coal black horse." My husband and I both read the book and give it two thumbs up...


Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library (Dewey the Cat)
Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library (Dewey the Cat)
Author: Vicki Myron, Bret Witter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/17/2011


This is an adorable book about a kitten who is found in a library's book return and is adopted by the librarian as the "Library Cat" and is named "Dewey Readmore Books". The story is very engaging and sweet. The artwork is beautiful. What a great children's book.


Mr. Darcy's Diary
Mr. Darcy's Diary
Author: Amanda Grange
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 5/24/2011


Very good. I have to admit this is the first sequel to P&P I've read. I almost forgot I was reading a novel by another author... If you'd like to read more about the story this is very true to the original story and the characters as written by Austen. I loved it! BTW my husband did too!


Pride and Prejudice
Pride and Prejudice
Author: Jane Austen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 5/24/2011


My first Austen read and I wasn't dissapointed! I do agree that you have to slow down when reading older literature but it's worth it! This is a love that develops over time and it's not your boring everyday tale. The characters are well developed and interesting. I love the fact that Lizzy isn't a swooning female, but is full of wit. Five stars for sure!


Sense and Sensibility
Sense and Sensibility
Author: Jane Austen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 5/24/2011


I really enjoyed reading this book. It was my second read by Austen. Good characters and wit. Again it does take a bit more time to read because of the old english but it's worth it!


1 to 6 of 6