Julie S. (mermaidsmemo) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Amy & Roger's Epic Detour
Amy & Roger's Epic Detour
Author: Morgan Matson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/1/2015


I was on a road trip across America while reading this book! For the road trip part, I found some tidbits exciting and similar to what I experienced on the road trip I was on.

The personal journey that Amy (the main character) had in the book is very deep and insightful. Her character also teaches the reader how to keep going when the going is rough. Her companion, Roger, is a swell person to have--I loved how he was supportive to Amy and his attitude toward the idea and adventure of the road trip they went on in the book.

I absolutely loved the drawings and the mixed cd lists in the book!

Good read!


The Bungalow
The Bungalow
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/1/2015


Normally, I would shy away from romantic novels because I always thought most of them were too cheesy BUT NOT THIS ONE!

I found this book abandoned in a hostel in Mexico and decided to read it...it took me two sittings to finish it. I loved how the author, Sarah Jio, combined rich history of the French Polynesian Islands during the WWII era in the novel and how she introduced main characters in unexpected circumstances which then led to unexpected happenstance and hardships that followed.

GREAT READ!


Happiness for Beginners
Happiness for Beginners
Author: Katherine Center
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/1/2015


After reading the Happiness Project, I became more motivated to read more self-help books and books related to all kinds of happiness. I was traveling along the Yucatan Peninsula when I read this book as a backpacker. I loved this book! I felt and experienced some similarities that the main character in the book did - looking for the true purpose of happiness and finding it in unexpected places. Highly recommend!


How To Fall In Love
How To Fall In Love
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2015


This novel truly balances the woes and worries of life on a perfect yin yang scale for both main characters. All the while they, without cues, realized what they had been missing in their life was there right under their nose. Not too cheesy. Not too depressing. Definitely realistic. Read it!


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 998
Review Date: 6/13/2015


This book is very original in a way where people (at least three) experienced major tragic events in life and how they found their own path in life (after the tragic event(s)) after meeting one another. I am a counselor and I think this book is excellent if you wish to read and try to understand some of the personal choices that a person makes and what feelings pass through them as they go through life.

I absolutely loved how the author included some local history and tales about the 'mermaid chair' in the book. It makes me feel as if I was there in person!

The ending was odd but also realistic. We can't always have a happy ending but we have a human nature to try and make sense of everything we do and experience. I believe that was the main point of the book and it brought some enlightenment for me.

GREAT BOOK! :)


No Parking at the End Times
No Parking at the End Times
Author: Bryan Bliss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/13/2015


I completed this book within hours!

This book holds a powerful story of family ties and leaps of faith that made me reflect on our humanity and the art of survival in the world we live in today. The story told in the book is an eyeopener to me, explaining how one person's choice may affect everyone else's lives in concrete situations.

Whatever choices I make, I need to accept the consequences that comes with my choices. And do whatever I can to stay the hell alive, literally. That's the main point of the book.

Good read!


The Ocean at the End of the Lane: A Novel
The Ocean at the End of the Lane: A Novel
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/13/2015


This book is hauntingly beautiful and holds some truth in dealing with painful (or scary) memories from childhood. The main character had dealt with a lot of things at a really young age and from my experience reading the text, I truly believe this boy was a strong person (mentally) and dealt with the demons of his family's pasts greatly through vivid imaginations (or were they really imaginations?) with the help of kind strangers who pulled him through.

I really like how the author included the 'ocean' in the book and to use that force to symbolize a place of cleansing, a specific time for healing from what he has seen. It's like baptism...being baptized and washed away from (potentially) PTSD.


See Me
See Me
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/27/2015


This is the first time the author included a non-white character, with respective details of the main characters. I have always been an avid reader of his books. This book is no exception when it comes to how well-written his books are and the stories they tell. See Me is indeed a romantic novel but it is also a suspenseful thriller! I enjoyed reading this book, especially when the main characters' intuitions following up suspensions are presented from one situation to the next. Good read.


The Silent Sister
The Silent Sister
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/18/2016
Helpful Score: 1


This is my first time reading one of Chamberlain's books. The story is pretty interesting! This book covers major themes of mystery (life of an runaway), family troubles, murder, and love. Good book!


Since You've Been Gone
Since You've Been Gone
Author: Morgan Matson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/1/2015


I read this book in one sitting! It's a very easy read, well-detailed and rings true for teenagers who are struggling to keep their friendships intact and trying to grow up at the same time.

I liked the bucket list idea that the entire book had centered on. It encourages people to try something different and room for personal growth.

Good read!


Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Author: Cheryl Strayed
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 4/5/2015


Prior reading this novel, I was not sure what to expect but a book about how hard life can be at times. Upon completion, I can safely say this is a book that is a must read for those who are searching for the meaning(s) of life after enduring tough or seemingly impossible situations. I am a person who truly values solitary and this book is full of it, in a positive way; teaching you how to be alone without being lonely. Totally holistic.


Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
Author: Therese Anne Fowler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/11/2015


I didn't realize how important feminism was (and still is) until I read this book. This book taught me how hard life could be if you succumb to things and person(s) who make decisions on how you should live your life according to the men in the society and especially when you're married to a famous person. Zelda was a person who prided herself on her ambitions and talents which enriched her personality as a whole person as Zelda, not as Fitzgerald's Wife. Her individuality was at stake. Love was her greatest sacrifice. Great read!


1 to 12 of 12