Dorian Q. (PADUTCH) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 38 - Page:
Actor (Stanley Hastings, Bk 8)
Actor (Stanley Hastings, Bk 8)
Author: Parnell Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/6/2013


Good mystery and well-drawn characters. Well-written and amusing. Good descriptions and insights of behind-the-scenes of putting on a play.Will definitely read another in this series.


Alpine for You  (Passport to Peril, No 1)
Alpine for You (Passport to Peril, No 1)
Author: Maddy Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 1/3/2018


Very enjoyable laugh out loud funny. Cozy mystery of young woman and her grandmother on European vacation, when bodies start to fall. Relatable characters. Slapstick situations. Am Looking for #2 in series.


Annie Chambers: A Novel
Annie Chambers: A Novel
Author: Lenore Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/2/2012


INTERESTING BOOK ABOUT "soiled doves" IN THE LATE 1800'S IN MIDWEST. TASTEFULLY DONE. THOUGHT PROVOKING.BRINGS ABOUT AN UNDERSTANDING OF WHAT IT'S LIKE TO BE POOR, WITH NO FAMILY SUPPORT.


The Bestseller
The Bestseller
Author: Olivia Goldsmith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/20/2014


Wonderful book. She seamlessly connects five authors and their efforts to get a book published.Engossing, compelling.Before I started reading I thought the book was overly long, but it flew by. Sorry I had it on my shelf for so long without reading it. Highly recommend.


Bodies (Perry Trethowan, Bk 4)
Bodies (Perry Trethowan, Bk 4)
Author: Robert Barnard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/17/2012


Not one of Barnard's better efforts, but does keep your interest and is a quick-read.


Butterfly Kills: A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery
Butterfly Kills: A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery
Author: Brenda Chapman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/22/2017


I was in the middle of reading 2 other books when this arrived in the mail. I made the mistake of reading the first couple of pages, and couldn't put it down! I emailed the sender to tell her what had happened and she said the exact same thing had happened to her! Really happy to find a new author. I'm looking forward to reading her other books.


Captain Saturday: A Novel
Captain Saturday: A Novel
Author: Robert Inman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/17/2012


Thoughtful, well-written, entertaining book of a middle-aged man who thinks he's got it all, when everything changes.


The Cat Sitter's Nine Lives (A Dixie Hemingway Mystery)
The Cat Sitter's Nine Lives (A Dixie Hemingway Mystery)
Author: Blaize Clement, John Clement
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/30/2015


I've been a big fan of this series,but feel this book was extremely disappointing.The plot was weak and felt the book was three quarters filler.Even taking into consideration the death of the author and continuation by her son.


Conquest and Empire : The Reign of Alexander the Great (Canto)
Conquest and Empire : The Reign of Alexander the Great (Canto)
Author: A. B. Bosworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/20/2012


I was surprised to learn that Australian historians have, in recent decades, made important contributions to our understanding of the Ancient World. Bosworth's definitive biography of Alexander is one such contribution.


Death at the Priory: Sex, Love, and Murder in Victorian England
Death at the Priory: Sex, Love, and Murder in Victorian England
Author: James Ruddick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/19/2008


WELL RESEARCHED. WELL WRITTEN. TAKES YOU TO A DIFFERENT TIME AND PLACE. COMPELLING STORY. I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN.


Death Takes the Cake (Della Cooks, Bk 2)
Death Takes the Cake (Della Cooks, Bk 2)
Author: Melinda Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 5/6/2013


Well-drawn and likable characters. Fun to read about behind the scenes at a cable cooking show and about living in Calif.Good mystery.


Down the Rabbit Hole: An Echo Falls Mystery (Echo Falls)
Down the Rabbit Hole: An Echo Falls Mystery (Echo Falls)
Author: Peter Abrahams
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/24/2012


It's listed a s a children's book, but it reminded me of ALAN BRADLEY'S FLAVIA DE LUCE series. Young and curious teen-age girl gets involved in a mystery.Quite entertaining. Not as erudite as Flavia, but uses good old American 'go'.
Looking forward to next in the series.


Finder
Finder
Author: Marilyn Greene, Gary Provost
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/26/2012


1st rate memoir.Greene wasnt afraid to tell about her mistakes. Her triumphs were amazing.Discovered alot of what I never knew about training dogs to find people, and of some of the wonderful volunteers who help at their own expense to bring about endings- some happy, some not.


Follow the River
Follow the River
Author: James Alexander Thom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/26/2012


I've been a voracious reader for 50 years. This is one of my favorites of all time. I read it as a young mother and have reread it often.Very moving and thought-provoking story.Dont think I'd have been as brave under the circumstances.Excellent book for teen-agers, too.


Forty Years of Murder
Forty Years of Murder
Author: Keith Simpson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book for anyone interested in real-life criminology.Memoirs of a doctor of forensics for Scotland Yard. Compelling.


Gentlemen and Players
Gentlemen and Players
Author: Joanne Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 12/23/2012


Exceptional novel.Well-written. Well-paced. The ending twists I never saw coming.Thought-provoking.
Will definitely read more by Harris.


George S. Kaufman - An Intimate Portrait
George S. Kaufman - An Intimate Portrait
Author: Howard Teichmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/6/2013


Everything you need to know about one of America's best-loved playwrights.Fascinating man.Well- written and funny.


Grace Under Pressure (Manor of Murder, Bk 1)
Grace Under Pressure (Manor of Murder, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Hyzy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 9/28/2011


QUITE ENJOYABLE COZY.CHARACTERS YOU CAN'T WAIT TO KNOW MORE ABOUT.INTERESTING TO FIND OUT HOW TOURIST ESTATES ARE RUN.MURDER MYSTERY WITH A TWIST. LOOKING FORWARD TO READING 2ND IN THE SERIES.


The House at Pooh Corner (Winnie-the-Pooh, #4)
The House at Pooh Corner (Winnie-the-Pooh, #4)
Author: A. A. Milne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/6/2013


One in a series of books you must read to your kids. I enjoyed it as much or even more than they did. Very funny and inventive.


An Idiot Girl's Christmas: True Tales from the Top of the Naughty List
Review Date: 12/23/2012


Got this book as a stocking stuffer for my college-going daughter. But I read it first, and it was very funny.I suggest for girl of any age.Especially if you need a break in the middle of Christmas preparations.


1 to 20 of 38 - Page: