Dorothy C. (dpecoul) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
The 365 Most Important Bible Passages for You: Daily Readings and Meditations on Experiencing God's Richest Blessings in Your Life
Review Date: 12/21/2014


Yes--- keep it by my bedside table and frequency read - no matter what day (meaning randomly select)...


Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 3/2/2015


Not really my kind of book I guess. Love London setting but not real wild about these particular characters.


Barchester Towers (Penguin Classics)
Barchester Towers (Penguin Classics)
Author: Anthony Trollope
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/3/2013


I could not get into this book; not sure why.


The Distant Hours
The Distant Hours
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 3/11/2014


A lot of "filler" but still a good story and characters well developed.


Empire Falls
Empire Falls
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 629
Review Date: 10/30/2013


This book made me a huge fan of Russo's. Still slowly-slowly savoring. You learn to love his characters whether they are nice people or not.


The English Breakfast Murder (Tea Shop, Bk 4)
The English Breakfast Murder (Tea Shop, Bk 4)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 9/8/2015


Cozy Mystery


Final Account (aka Dry Bones That Dream) (Inspector Banks, Bk 7)
Final Account (aka Dry Bones That Dream) (Inspector Banks, Bk 7)
Author: Peter Robinson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 4/19/2014


As usually I enjoyed his characters and the settings, to heck with the story.


The First Cut
The First Cut
Author: Peter Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/8/2015


Kind of gruesome, but enjoy Robinson's writing soooo much continued on.


Gilead
Gilead
Author: Marilynne Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/28/2014


I needed to read this before reading Home.... enjoyed both very much since "leading the flock" is in our family.


Interpreter of Maladies
Interpreter of Maladies
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 710
Review Date: 9/11/2014


This book foretells Ms. Lahiri's future as an author.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5702
Review Date: 9/8/2015


Have read.. was great.


Mere Christianity
Mere Christianity
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 3/25/2014


Have ordered another of his books - so glad I discovered him, even if late in my life.


Mohawk (Vintage Contemporaries)
Mohawk (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 2/10/2014


Love his books! This wd be a good beginning for a continuation of the dysfunctional Grouse family.


Plainsong
Plainsong
Author: Kent Haruf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 449
Review Date: 3/30/2017


Good colloquial writing. Conversations use no quotations throughout the book.


Pocketful of Names
Pocketful of Names
Author: Joe Coomer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 2/22/2015


Really enjoyed this book. The scenery was fascinating and characters were believable with problems most of us do not contend with in our everyday life. A good book for conservationist attitudes, Maine enthusiasts.


The Shipping News
The Shipping News
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 1/21/2015


The opening was depressing - but was good after the family relocated; Newfoundland is a fascinating historically, so am still enjoying the book. Hope it has a good ending.


Straight Man : A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries)
Straight Man : A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 2/26/2014


Not as good as most of his books - but definitely worth reading.


1 to 17 of 17