Daniel D. (danieljdoughty) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 872
Review Date: 5/14/2006


I really enjoyed the book. Almost brought me to tears at the end. Marvelously written and delivered at a proper pace.


Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 1)
Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 8/1/2006


He's brilliant. Read it in a day and it's better than and SSRI I've heard of.


Budding Prospects: A Pastoral (Contemporary American Fiction)
Budding Prospects: A Pastoral (Contemporary American Fiction)
Author: T. Coraghessan Boyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/18/2006


You have to like this gonzo dark wierdness kind of book.


Carry On, Jeeves (Jeeves, Bk 3)
Carry On, Jeeves (Jeeves, Bk 3)
Author: P. G. Wodehouse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/3/2006


A series of short stories about Bertie and Jeeves. My favorite by far is the last one which is written from Jeeve's perspective. The story is called Bertie Changes his Mind.


Cocktail Time
Cocktail Time
Author: P. G. Wodehouse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Brilliant novella from that witty British chap. He actually has a bit of stuff to do with America in this one and I ran into a strange vocabulary issue. Wodehouse called a slingshot a catapult, which to my mind is a quite different device. Luckily the picture on the cover cleared it all up for me.


Coyote Blue
Coyote Blue
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 7/24/2006


Bloody brilliant. Read it in a single day and enjoyed it for every second.


Drawn to the Rhythm: A Passionate Life Reclaimed
Drawn to the Rhythm: A Passionate Life Reclaimed
Author: Sara Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/1/2006


Nice sports motivation book but she dwells a lot on her divorce and I think she's a bit unrealistic about what relationships are about. On the other hand, her ex was definitely a scumbag but any man would have some of the expectations that she discounts as correct.


East is East
East is East
Author: T. C. Boyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/29/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Excellent writing, amazing vocabulary...but you need to have some good mental health because this guys stuff is dark. Not for the weak of heart.


Five Acres and Independence: A Handbook for Small Farm Management
Five Acres and Independence: A Handbook for Small Farm Management
Author: M. G. Kains
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/18/2006
Helpful Score: 2


It's a highly technical look at management of a small farm decades ago. It's ok, but there are very large gaps in it. Reads sort of like an Anarchist's Cookbook for running a small farm.


Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings
Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 5/20/2006


It's class Christopher Moore. Funny, irreverent, sexy. I read it in a day.


Handsome Harry
Handsome Harry
Author: James Carlos Blake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Not very impressive. Amazon seems to show that Dillinger fanatics really like it. I think the writing is overly simplistic and boring.


How Right You Are, Jeeves
How Right You Are, Jeeves
Author: P.G. Wodehouse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/12/2006


More fun with Bertram Wooster and the bloody cow creamer. Great light reading.


It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life
It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life
Author: Lance Armstrong, Sally Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 5/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Great book. Makes me want to go out and ride.


The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove
The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Brilliant humor and fantasy that reminds me of Terry Pratchett only written in a modern theatre.


Mindplayers
Mindplayers
Author: Pat Cadigan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/16/2006


Great cyberpunk. Amazingly revolutionary stuff especially since it was written in 87!


Reach for Tomorrow
Reach for Tomorrow
Author: Arthur C. Clarke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/30/2006


wonderful short stories by Arthur Clarke.


Thief of Time (Discworld, Bk 26)
Thief of Time (Discworld, Bk 26)
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


What can I say? It's laugh out loud stuff. Always is.


1 to 17 of 17