Cindy S. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
Author: Michael Chabon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 421
Review Date: 10/17/2006


It has been awhile since I read this one - but I enjoyed the book. It is very quirky - great use of language. An intelligent read.


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 997
Review Date: 9/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


It's a page-turner. Interesting premise, a little too formulaic for my taste though.


Castaways of the Flying Dutchman
Castaways of the Flying Dutchman
Author: Brian Jacques
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 1/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Both my boys enjoyed this book...


Complications: A Surgeon's Notes on an Imperfect Science
Complications: A Surgeon's Notes on an Imperfect Science
Author: Atul Gawande
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 9/5/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Not always easy to read, but brings a touch of humanity to the medical world, which is much needed. It reinforces the need for all to be as informed as possible about our health issues to be both advocates for ourselves and active partners in our care.


The Crossing (Vintage International)
The Crossing (Vintage International)
Author: Cormac Mccarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 11/16/2006


dark & captivating as his other work...


Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man
Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 346
Review Date: 10/25/2006


This book is not a type I often choose, and by the middle it almost lost me -- just too over-the-top ridiculous... but I sort of liked the main character and so stuck with it. The ending was okay.


Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1500
Review Date: 5/12/2007


great read!


Icy Sparks
Icy Sparks
Author: Gwyn Hyman Rubio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 611
Review Date: 10/21/2006


quirky - I never considered what it may feel like to have tourettes from the inside...


Island Justice
Island Justice
Author: Elizabeth Winthrop
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/12/2006


An entertaining read. Good insight to year-round island life. The characters are pretty well-developed.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5703
Review Date: 9/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


What a great read. As a bonus I learned more about this slice of the history of Afganistan and its people - something I always appreciate.


A Map of the World
A Map of the World
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 12/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I just couldn't get into this one...


Mariel of Redwall (Redwall, Book 4)
Mariel of Redwall (Redwall, Book 4)
Author: Brian Jacques
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 7/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Classic Jacques - a rollicking adventure!


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 999
Review Date: 7/5/2006


Very readable but I preferred The Secret Life of Bees.


The Merman
The Merman
Author: Dick King-Smith
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/30/2006


We listened to this many, many times!! We highly recommend this story.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2144
Review Date: 9/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A compelling read...tough to imagine living through an experience like that...if even parts of it are true!


Other Worlds
Other Worlds
Author: P. C. W. Davies
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/17/2006


from the back of the book: Is this the only universe, or are there others? Is the world as we know it a random accident, or is it the outcome of a delicate selection process? ...Davies explores the astonishing implications of the quantum theory of the universe, in which particles can appear and disappear spontaneously, objects lose their individual identity, and the traditional understanding of reality must be completely revised.... Very heady stuff - fascinating though!!


A Patchwork Planet
A Patchwork Planet
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 7/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


It is an enjoyable read.


The Photograph
The Photograph
Author: Penelope Lively
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 9/5/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Throughout the book, I kept wanting to tell the main character 'just stop it, would you'.


The Poisonwood Bible
The Poisonwood Bible
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 430
Review Date: 7/5/2006


My absolute favorite Kingsolver book. Totally absorbing.


Prodigal Summer
Prodigal Summer
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 587
Review Date: 7/5/2006


A complex inter-weaving of seemingly parallel lives...


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: