Anne Todd O. (forestguardian) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 88 - Page:
Accordion Crimes
Accordion Crimes
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Vintage Proulx- well researched. Recommend reading with Zydeco, French/Basque, Spanish, ethnic Klesmer or other music playing! A really good vehicle for visiting all the refugees/immigrants to and in America and just who is an American! An essay in many acts on Love, Luck, and Life. and the dance played on.......It is a bit dark for those wishing to avoid darkness.


Akimbo and the Elephants (Akimbo)
Akimbo and the Elephants (Akimbo)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/1/2012


Great for a read aloud or young reader.


Amazonia
Amazonia
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 10/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Gosh- I'm hooked already and only a quarter of the way into it! I've attended lectures by Mark Plotkin and read his book, Shaman's Apprentice. I am a forestry consultant and have attended Tom Brown, Jr's Tracking School. This is a must read for you adventures out there. (armchair and/or out of doors).


A Baby Sister for Frances
A Baby Sister for Frances
Author: Lillian Hoban (Illustrator), Russell Hoban
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/10/2009


I bought this for my grandson whose new sister Jia is still waiting for him in China. She'll be home in the next few weeks with his parents who will travel to China to adopt her. This is a classic book for all young children expecting to become big sisters or big brothers.


Belinda
Belinda
Author: Anne Rice, Anne Rampling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 239
Review Date: 4/22/2007


My Husband liked it. I have read very Little Anne Rice: only the first few of the vampire ones.


Checkmate (Lymond Chronicles, Bk 6)
Checkmate (Lymond Chronicles, Bk 6)
Author: Dorothy Dunnett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/1/2007


Ah too bad this is the last in this exciting series but my friend who bought me the first book just told me about Nicolo. Hooray. While I was waiting for it I read the King Hearafter. Excellent "prequel" to the Lymond series.


Choose to Reuse: An Encyclopedia of Services, Businesses, Tools  Charitable Programs That Facilitate Reuse
Review Date: 4/25/2007


Another valuable good ideas book from the incomprable Goldbecks. My children were provided for using the Goldbecks' Supermarket Handbook. Now we and they and our grandchildren to live more gently using this re-use resource.


Circles of Stone
Circles of Stone
Author: Joan Dahr Lambert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/1/2012


An out of Africa kind of prequel to Clan of the Cave Bear series which it overlaps up to the caves in France.


A Clash of Kings (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 2)
A Clash of Kings (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 2)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 634
Review Date: 11/29/2016


Great follow on to book one. Can't wait to read book 3! Have to buy it but I'll share it when I'm done.
Reading this series is a huge addition to my enjoyment of the season episodes which I have been watching via Net Flix.


The Confession of Brother Haluin (Brother Cadfael, Bk 15)
The Confession of Brother Haluin (Brother Cadfael, Bk 15)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 3/21/2007


#15 of this wonderful Brother Cadfael 12th century Welsh Borderlands series of not necessarily monastic mysteries.


Dead Man's Ransom (Brother Cadfael, Bk 9)
Dead Man's Ransom (Brother Cadfael, Bk 9)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/21/2007


#9 of this wonderful Brother Cadfael 12th century Welsh Borderlands series of not necessarily monastic mysteries.


The Devil's Novice (Brother Cadfael, Bk 8)
The Devil's Novice (Brother Cadfael, Bk 8)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/21/2007


#8 of this wonderful Brother Cadfael 12th century Welsh Borderlands series of not necessarily monastic mysteries.


The Disorderly Knights (Lymond Chronicles, 3)
The Disorderly Knights (Lymond Chronicles, 3)
Author: Dorothy Dunnett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/1/2007


Third book of the Lymond series. Comforting to know there are more books to come.


Dogsbody
Dogsbody
Author: Diana Wynne Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/7/2007


Lots of fun. My grand daughter has started reading it. I'm hoping for it in Hardcover as a "keeper"


The Enormous Egg
The Enormous Egg
Author: Oliver Butterworth, Louis Darling (illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/17/2007


This classic like many others written in the 1950's was deaccessioned by a library. Their copy was twenty years old.

The children lived on a farm in NH and did CHORES. Nate's hen laid an ENORMOUSE egg and the hilarity and plot take off. When I read this aloud to MY kids in the 1980's they loved it and it was their first civics lesson. Kids CAN and DO write their representatives and affect policy in Washington! They can donate and solicit funds for projects they care about. And the more unusual or rare something is the more we need to pay attention and try to learn from it. Despite the party line telephone this is a very contemporary book!

The illustrations are as good as Rahl Dahl's.


Escape (Island, Bk 3)
Escape (Island, Bk 3)
Author: Gordon Korman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/1/2012


My grandson enjoyed it. Me too.


An Excellent Mystery (Brother Cadfael, Bk 11)
An Excellent Mystery (Brother Cadfael, Bk 11)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


#11 of this wonderful Brother Cadfael 12th century Welsh Borderlands series of not necessarily monastic mysteries.


A Feast for Crows (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 4)
A Feast for Crows (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 4)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 2/19/2017


Great to keep up w/ favorite characters but a bit of a slog (and half of them don't appear much until the NEXT book). Be brave.


Forest
Forest
Author: Janet Taylor Lisle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/1/2012


It was the squirrels world first? Nature lovers will get a chuckle out of this one.


From China With Love : A Long Road to Motherhood
From China With Love : A Long Road to Motherhood
Author: Emily Buchanan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/28/2010


Very frank story of a woman's decision to adopt and why and how in China she was to become her daughter's mother.


1 to 20 of 88 - Page: