Nacia O. (BlueGlass) - , - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
Body & Soul: A Guide to Lasting Recovery from Compulsive Eating and Bulimia
Review Date: 6/22/2006


"It's never too late to learn the things nobody taught us." These are the first words of Susan Meltsner's guide for recovering overeaters and bulimics. Meltsner writes from both personal and professional experience. She's in recovery from an eating disorder and she's also a therapist who has co-authored or collaborated on more than a dozen books on mental health issues.


Discovering Your Career in Business
Review Date: 6/22/2006


This book is based on the Business Career Interest Inventory (BCII), created by the Directors of the MBA Career Development Program at the Harvard Business School. The book describes this career counseling tool that provides a self-assessment profile and direction to specific business work environments and activities that will lead to career satisfaction and success. The BCII tool itself is provided on a computer disk (included with the book).


Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 947
Review Date: 8/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Another great Stephanie Plum novel. This one has plenty of Grandma Mazur, a funny scene with a wedding cake food fight, and Stephanie spends time with Morelli and Ranger. A quick, fun read.


The Gravity of Shadows: A Novel
The Gravity of Shadows: A Novel
Author: David Ramus
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/22/2006


I really related to Wil, who grew up "across the tracks" from the rich Palm Beach kids but went to school with them and knew some of them very well. He returns as a successful art dealer and his past and present collide when he takes on a appraisal job that turns dangerous.


Heart-Shaped Box
Heart-Shaped Box
Author: Joe Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 321
Review Date: 4/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A creepy page-turner. Don't read it late at night when dark shadows lurk. But, I enjoyed being creeped out. Joe Hill is Stephen King's son, and I think their writing styles are similar.


Ironcrown Moon (Boreal Moon, Bk 2)
Ironcrown Moon (Boreal Moon, Bk 2)
Author: Julian May
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Second book in the Boreal Moon series. As usual, Julian May creates a rich, detailed world of magic and intrigue, with strong characters and interesting plot twists. I'm eager to get my hands on the next book in the series.


The Last Dancer (Continuing Time, Bk 3)
The Last Dancer (Continuing Time, Bk 3)
Author: Daniel Keys Moran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/22/2006


Set in 2076, when all Earth is ruled by one government. The tenuous peace is held together by the iron hand of UN troops. As July 4th approaches, the Unification prepares for riots when Occupied America celebrates its Tricentennial. Denice and David Castanaveras are genetically modified twins who are swept up in the events surrounding the conflict. A pretty believable futuristic setting, good character development, nifty advanced technology and occasional humor.


Lost Boy Lost Girl
Lost Boy Lost Girl
Author: Peter Straub
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 6/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Another gripping Peter Straub book (I've read many of his). I stayed up too late one night with this one 'cause I kept telling myself I'd read just one more page.


Missing Persons (Dr. Alan Gregory, Bk 13)
Missing Persons (Dr. Alan Gregory, Bk 13)
Author: Stephen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 6/22/2006


Another good one in the Alan Gregory series. I feel like I know this character from reading so many Stephen White books, and this book places him in an ethical quandry like many of the previous tales. It also refers many times to the JonBenet Ramsey murder, which also took place in Boulder around Christmas, and remains unsolved.


The Night Crew
The Night Crew
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 6/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I've read a couple of his "Prey" books, but this one was good too, with a likeable central character in Anna, and a nice twist regarding the identify of the murderer.


The Oak Above the Kings (The Tales of Arthur, Vol 2)
The Oak Above the Kings (The Tales of Arthur, Vol 2)
Author: Patricia Kennealy-Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/20/2006


Volume 2 of the Tales of Arthur, a book of the Keltiad. Narrated by Taliesin, bard and friend of Arthur and Gweniver. Set on the double-ringed planet in the nation of Keltia, this is the continuing tale of the Danaans, who left Earth's Ireland long ago. Part of a great series.


Outer Banks Mysteries and Seaside Stories
Outer Banks Mysteries and Seaside Stories
Author: Charles Harry Whedbee
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/16/2006


The North Carolina coast is the backdrop for this collection of delightful tales by Charles Henry Whedbee. It is his third volume in a series of books that established him as one of the state's most famous contenporary raconteurs. Mr. Whedbee gathers mysteries, tales, legends and lore that has been handed down for generations and recounts it with a sensitivity for tradition.


The Pact: A Love Story
The Pact: A Love Story
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 691
Review Date: 6/30/2006


A disturbing subject (teen suicide), but the drama of it was gripping. I felt like some of the story's threads were left hanging, and the ending was weak, but the main character was so well portrayed, and the relationship between the families so engrossing, that it did not prevent me from enjoying the book very much.


Pigs in Heaven
Pigs in Heaven
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 6/22/2006
Helpful Score: 2


My favorite Barbara Kingsolver book, and I've read them all. I absolutely cried at the scene where Cash Stillwater and Turtle meet for the first time.


The Silver Branch (Keltiad: Tales Of Aeron, Bk 3)
The Silver Branch (Keltiad: Tales Of Aeron, Bk 3)
Author: Patricia Kennealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/22/2006


Third book in Patricia Kennealy-Morrison's Keltiad series. Aeron is heir to the throne of Keltia at a time when the people of the Keltic worlds have not yet re-established contact with their distant brethren of Earth. Dangerous foes are mobilizing to destroy this mighty space empire hidden behind its seemingly impenetrable magic-fueled Curtain Wall. I eventually read all the books in the Keltiad, but I remember that the first three were my favorites.


Soulwork: Clearing the Mind, Opening the Heart, and Replenishing the Spirit
Review Date: 6/22/2006


From the foreword: Reading Soulwork is like sitting down to a tea party with a good and trusted friend. There you are with a steaming pot of tea and a plate of cookies on a sunny table, savoring an intimitate, heartfelt conversation. Bettyclare Moffatt's down-to-earth wisdom and delightful sense of humor encourage us, make us feel loved and understood. Most of all, she lets us know that we are not alone. After reading her book, I feel her, and that she knows me.


Unidentified
Unidentified
Author: Matthew Costello
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


From the bestselling author of The 7th Guest, this horror novel is set in a house in the mountains of northern Scotland. Inside are terrors beyond imagining, for in it one's worst nightmares can come true. Sophie MacDonald's father knew this, and he gave her a copy of his top-secret research. When she comes home from school to find him dead, Sophie knows that she must run. She goes first to her father's friend Henry, but when tragedy strikes again, she heads to Glasgow to find a former colleague of her father's. Meanwhile, in London, photographer Maddy Hodge gets word that her brother, Peter, disappeared while climbing in the mountains in Scotland. Traveling to Scotland, she learns that she might be the only one who can save Peter from the mysterious evils in the house. And in the U.S., Elaina Dali is on the run after discovering a mysterious genetic code at a genetic research company. The three women's stories converge to reveal the secrets of the house.


Vanishing Acts
Vanishing Acts
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 450
Review Date: 11/6/2006


One of her best, in my opinion. If you are a Jodi Picoult fan, and haven't read this one yet, put it at the top of your "gonna read next" list.


The Wellness Book of I.B.S.: How to Achieve Relief from Irritable Bowel Syndrome and Live a Symptom-Free Life
Review Date: 6/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


An informative, easy to understand handbook that includes stress-reduction techniques, a dietary profile, and recipes for symptom-free eating. Presents several alternative ways to combine stress-reduction with a nutritional program to ease the discomfort of IBS symptoms.


1 to 19 of 19