Reviews - Adrienne V. (Adriennevh)

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 609
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"Another wonderful installment in the life of Cedar Grove."


All The Stars Came Out That Night
All The Stars Came Out That Night
Author: Kevin King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/13/2008


"You really have to be a big baseball fan to be able to follow and/or enjoy this book. Thankfully I am. The storyline takes place in 1933 and follows Satchel Paige, Leo Durocher, Dizzy Dean and many others from that era in their attempt to hold a St. Louis Cardinals -vs- Negro League Ball Game. At that time A white team was not allowed to play against a Negro team. Common knowledge holds that the Commissioner didn't want anyone to know that the Negro players were just as good if not better than the white players. There are many smaller sub plots and even some sidetracks into Hollywood and kidnapping. But don't let that distract you from a good baseball story."


Audition: A Memoir
Audition: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Walters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 6/20/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


""I want to be you" is what young people starting out in television would say to Barbara Walters, her reply was always "Then you have to take the whole package". But that package has been kept as a closely guarded secret to the real world for her entire career. Even her age is speculated by different media (tabloid) outlets. This book reveals all.

As is usual in an celebrity's life, the beginning is not always pretty. She talks in detail about her sister and her deficiencies. Whether now with all the testing and diagnosing and help available might her sister's life have been different? How her Father worked night and day to make the world of entertainment an everyday thing for everyday people. Lou Walters didn't get much recognition in life but recently had a street named after him in NY, where the Latin Quarter once stood.

She talks about her many romances, and speaks candidly about her marriages. Her chapter on Merv was familiar to me as she talked about Lorimar and such.

The chapter on her daughter is beautifully written about an ugly time. A time most parents of teenage daughters go through but hid from their friends. It is good to read that with everything they went through, there is hope in the end.

The last third of the book deals mainly with her hundreds of interviews, it is fascinating to read how hard she worked to get the "get". How much travel and fatigue is involved.

I have never been a "fan" per se. But I am definately impressed with all she has done and the "glass ceilings" she has broken for many women."


Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth About Pregnancy and Childbirth
Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth About Pregnancy and Childbirth
Author: Jenny McCarthy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"Jenny McCarthy is one of the funniest women I have read."


Best Places San Diego: The Best Restaurants, Lodgings, and a Complete Guide to the City (Best Places San Diego)
Review Date: 7/4/2006


"great ideas for weekend trips or full blown vacations."


Falling Awake
Falling Awake
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"Not my cup o' tea."


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1856
Review Date: 6/21/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Walker and Daughter is introduced as a knitting shop that has a club materialize out of nowhere every Friday evening. When I begin reading I worry a little that this will be a poor attempt at imitating the Debbie MacComber knitting series.
The cast of characters are plentiful and hard to keep track of at first, but by the end I was hoping that the reason for so much info on each means this author will continue this club in future novels.
This is a first novel for the author and a very good one at that. There are twists and turns and smiles and yes some tears. At one point there were sobs and more than once outright laughing.
This is definitely one to not miss."


A Good Yarn  (Blossom Street, No 2)
A Good Yarn (Blossom Street, No 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 786
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"A very good sequel to the Shop on Blossom Street."


Goodnight Nobody
Goodnight Nobody
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 504
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"Not as good as her previous works, but still a good read."


Light of the Moon
Light of the Moon
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 7/9/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I have always enjoyed Luanne Rice novels. She usually does such good “beach reads”. This one while very good I would not classify as a beach read. Although it is a bit intriguing it misses the mark of mysterious. A young woman loses her mother but makes good on her promise to “find Sarah and thank her”. Sarah is a Romany saint in France said to have travelled there with the 3 Marias. Of course while there she falls in love, but it can't be that cut and dried, there has to be a problem of course. His ex-wife, his troubled daughter, her ex-boyfriend/partner. There is some French in the book that is not translated and leaves the reader to figure it out. Some I could some I didn't care/need to. I am not big on description. Honestly I don't care what color her dress is or how it plays nicely off the colors of the flowers in the garden. I skipped over a lot of this in this book. And I don't believe I missed a thing. This was a good quick read (3 nights). With of course a happy ending."


Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Author: Valerie Bertinelli
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 6/20/2008
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I like Valerie Bertinelli, and I especially enjoy autobiographies. But this was more about her ex-husband Eddie Van Halen than it was about her. Her background and childhood info was slight, even her foray into television was quickly dispersed. THe majority of the focus was on her relationship with Ed.

Of course, it is my own fault. She is only in her late 40's so really is it too early for an autobiography? She was signed to a huge weight Loss contract, so writing a book when she is "in the news" is a total publicity stunt. It worked."


Mrs. Lieutenant: A Sharon Gold Novel
Mrs. Lieutenant: A Sharon Gold Novel
Author: Phyllis Zimbler Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/24/2008


"This is the story of 4 women from the four corners of a square. The square is their husband's military service and while they are all going through the same thing, they are each coming at it from their own completely different background and beliefs. It is 1970 and the one thing they all have in common is the worry that their husband will go to Vietnam.
Sharon is Jewish, Kim is a Southern Baptist, Donna is a Puerto Rican Army brat and Wendy is Black.
The story is told in 3rd person but flows as if each woman is telling her own. You cringe when prejudices are shown and you cry when bonds are formed.
The book can look deceiving as being long and daunting because the type is large, which I enjoy as being easy to read at night in bed, but it makes it almost 500 pages."


The Phantom Tollbooth
The Phantom Tollbooth
Author: Norton Juster, Jules Feiffer (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"A classic for all ages."


Remembrance
Remembrance
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 7/4/2006


"Standard Jude Deveraux fare."


Southern California Off the Beaten Path, 5th: A Guide to Unique Places
Review Date: 7/4/2006


"Good ideas, for those days you just want to get a way."


Souvenir
Souvenir
Author: Therese Fowler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/12/2008


"When you can figure out the end from the prologue you assume the book is not going to be good. But you (read I) stick with it because you hate giving up on a book. It's the journey right? You know how it's going to end but it the how you get from A to B that's important.
I am so very happy that I stuck with this book. It starts out very cheesy, boy meets girl, boy wants to propose to girl, girl breaks up and marries someone completely wrong. Being an avid reader of “romance” novels you know boy and girl are going to get back together before the end of the book. The journey that Theresa Fowler takes you on in her first novel is one of Robert Frost proportion, the road less taken.
This is a fairly new book and as I mentioned it is her first novel. I will definitely put her in my authors to watch for category."


Standing in the Rainbow
Standing in the Rainbow
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 3/21/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Spectacular!"


A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
Author: Betty Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"Classic! Everyone should read this book at some point in their life."


The Undomestic Goddess
The Undomestic Goddess
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 865
Review Date: 7/3/2006


"As awesome as all of her other books!"


When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops?
When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops?
Author: George Carlin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"George Carlin being himself. Some crude language tho."


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: