Donna B. (beckhamdd) - , - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 8/12/2008


This is a typical Nicholas Sparks book - a well-written, good love story. I moved to North Carolina 8 years ago and especially enjoyed the book's setting in Boone. The main characters were introduced in an earlier Sparks book which I have not read. That did not take away from enjoyment of At First Sight.


At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)(Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/15/2009
Helpful Score: 6


At the time it was written, this was a stand alone book by Patricia Cornwell - in other words, not about her usual main character, Kay Scarpetta. I stopped reading the Scarpetta books a number of years ago, but decided to try this one. It was very good and well read by Kate Reading. The characters in the book are interesting, and their interaction with each other is well-written. There is now a sequel to this book. If you enjoy this one, you will probably enjoy The Front, also.


Beach Road
Beach Road
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/15/2010


This is a ridiculous book! My husband & I listened to it while traveling. The story was written in such a way that it told the thoughts of main characters. Both in actions and expressed thoughts, characters were portrayed in one light. In the huge twist ending, they were shown to be something else entirely. That means that the thoughts expressed throughout the book until the end were actually lies. What a cop out just to have a shocking ending!!


Danny and the Dinosaur (I Can Read, Level 1)
Danny and the Dinosaur (I Can Read, Level 1)
Author: Syd Hoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 8/21/2011
Helpful Score: 2


My grandson, age 5, is into action figures, cars and trains, but likes dinosaurs, too. He recently was with us for a month with his family, visiting from Japan. When I saw this book on PBS, I ordered it for him. When I read it to him and his sister, age 6, both thoroughly enjoyed the story about Danny and his adventures on the day his school class visited the museum. When time came for the class to leave, one of the dinosaurs agreed to go play with Danny. The children delighted in the time the two had together - going to the ballgame and the zoo and eating ice cream and playing hide and seek with Danny's friends. The sadness Danny felt at the end of the day when the dinosaur said he couldn't go home with Danny because he must return to the museum is countered by Danny's realization that the dinosaur probably wouldn't fit in his house anyway. The book is a perfect length for the attention span of children of this age.


Disney Princess: A Read-Aloud Storybook (Read-Aloud Storybook)
Review Date: 8/19/2011


My granddaughter, age 6, loves anything Princess, although she no longer says that she wants to be one when she grows up. She recently was with us for a month with her family, visiting from Japan. When I saw this book on PBS, I ordered it for her. When I read it to her and her brother, age 5, both thoroughly enjoyed the 3 stories in the book. The stories are abbreviated versions of the Disney movie stories about Cinderella, Snow White and Aurora (Sleeping Beauty). They were a perfect length for the attention span of children of this age. Even my grandson, who lives life on the run and prefers Transformers over Princesses, paid attention during the entire reading.


Down River (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Down River (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: John Hart, Scott Sowers (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/16/2009


John Hart is an excellent writer. This is the 3rd of his books that I have either read or listened to on audio CD. His stories are well-written and his characters well-developed. This story takes place in North Carolina, where John Hart lives. His familiarity with the region and the people adds much to the telling of the story. He makes you care about the people and the problems they face and must overcome.


The Front (Winston Garano, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/15/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The Front is a sequel to Patricia Cornwell's book, At Risk. These books are about totally different characters from those in her Scarpetta books. If you liked At Risk, you will most likely enjoy this one, too. The characters are well-developed, and their interaction is well-written. Kate Reading does an excellent job reading the book for this audio version. I enjoyed both books but thought this one was slightly better than the first one in the series. It will be interesting to see if Cornwell continues this series.


Hawaii : The Big Island Revealed ( Ultimate Guidebook)
Review Date: 4/19/2008


If you plan to visit Hawaii (the Big Island), this book is a must-have. It is an excellent guide to what to do and where to go on the Big Island. I just got home from there and was so glad to have the information given in the book. The "Revealed" books all seem excellent - especially for the Hawaiian Islands.


Hidden Order (Scot Harvath, Bk 12) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/11/2013


My husband and I listen to audio books in the car. Brad Thor's books are always good ones for that. This one's main character is Scott Harvath, Thor's character in most of his books that I have read. Harvath is now working for a private search and rescue organization. The book opens with a daring rescue in Somalia. The rest of the book involves a kidnapping/murder of candidates for a position with the Federal Reserve. I think anyone who has liked Thor's other books with the Scott Harvath character will like this one, too.


One Good Turn (Jackson Brodie, Bk 2)  (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 3/2/2009
Helpful Score: 9


I had never read any of Kate Atkinson's books before. She is an excellent writer. This audio book is an abridgement, but I did not detect any disruption to the flow of the story. After hearing this audio book, I checked on other books she has written. Apparently Jackson Brodie, the main character in One Good Turn, is also a character in some of her others. He is a very likable character - an ex-cop, ex-private detective, and new millionaire. He can't keep himself from being drawn into the mystery, murder, and mayhem around him. Atkinson lives in Edinburgh and the story is set in that area. I frequently do not enjoy stories written by writers from Great Britain, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. The humor, idioms, etc., were easily understood and well-written. The reader of this audio book is Robin Atkin Downes. According to the cover, he is proficient in 40 dialects, and it really shows in his reading of this book! Frequently, British accents are difficult to understand, but not so here. His accents are great! Each character is distinct from the others, making the story easy to follow.


A Painted House  (Large Print)
A Painted House (Large Print)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/28/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I read this book sometime ago, but still remember how impressed I was that an adult could write a book from a 7-year old child's perspective and make it believable. The story of this boy growing up in rural Arkansas (based on Grisham's own childhood) was engrossing, suspenseful, enjoyable, and believable. Whether you are a Grisham fan or not (I am), you should try this departure from his usual legal thrillers.


The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/9/2014


This is the 2nd book written by J.K. Rowling under the pseudonym of Robert Galbraith. The 1st, The Cuckoo's Calling, introduced PI Cormoran Strike. He is also the central character in The Silkworm. Both of these books are extremely well written. The characters are well developed, and the stories are intriguing. I read The Cuckoo's Calling on my Kindle and had a hard time putting it down when I had to do other things. My copy of The Silkworm is an Audio CD book. My husband and I listen to such books in the car when we are going places, wherever that might be. Fortunately, for us we had a long, out-of-town trip to make while listening to The Silkworm. Another important thing about this audio version of the book is that the narrator, Robert Glenister, is an excellent reader. He does a great job with the various voices for both male and female characters. I assume (hope) that this series will continue.


Stolen Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 22)
Stolen Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 22)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 11/9/2012


This is a typical John Sandford Lucas Davenport story - well-written and engaging. One thing I always enjoy about Sandford's books is that he lets the reader know what is happening before the characters in the story do. Rather than detracting from the suspense, this adds to it. The suspense comes from not knowing how Davenport and the other characters are going to react and what twists the story is going to take. With Davenport and all his family and cohorts (including Virgil Flowers in a parallel plot), Mexican drug people and police, and atypical bank robbers, there are constant twists and turns that hold the reader's interest.The very end takes an interesting, unexpected turn.


1 to 13 of 13