Paige B. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Borrowers (Borrowers, Bk 1)
Review Date: 4/6/2007


From back cover:

Underneath the kitchen floor is the world of the Borrowers-Pod and Homily Clock and their daughter, Arrietty. In their tiny home, matchboxes double as roomy dressers and postage stamps hang on the walls like paintings. Whatever the Clocks need they simply "borrow" from the "human beans" who live above them. It's a comfortable life.

Comfortable-but boring if you're a kid.

Only Pod is allowed to venture into the house above, because the danger of being seen by a human is too great. Borrowers who are seen by humans are never seen again.


The Cat Ate My Gymsuit / There's a Bat in Bunk Five (Flip Book)
The Cat Ate My Gymsuit / There's a Bat in Bunk Five (Flip Book)
Author: Paula Danziger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/22/2007


Two Books In One!

The Cat Ate My Gymsuit:
From School Library Journal
Misunderstood, overweight, and convinced that she'll never get a date, Marcy Lewis wants nothing more than to be "normal." Her admiration and defense of Ms. Finney, an outspoken English teachers with the courage of her convictions, provides a way for Marcy to reexamine what's important to her and to stand up for what she believes. First published in 1974, Paula Danziger's compassionate and accurate portrayal of a young girl struggling to find her own voice rings as true today as it did 30 years ago. A full cast brings this modern American classic of teenage angst to life with humor and pathos.

There's A Bat in Bunk Five:
From Back Cover:
Marcy Lewis is thrilled when Ms. Finney asks her to be a junior counselor at a creative arts camp. Finally, shes on her own for the first time, away from family and school. Its her big chance to reinvent herself in a place where no one knows how insecure she used to be. This could be the perfect summer, but will nosy, noisy campers ruin it all?


Dirty Blonde
Dirty Blonde
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 4/6/2007


From Back Cover:

Cate Fante is strong and sexy and wears designer suits like overpriced armor. She's just become a judge but leads a dark double life that she hides from everyone.

Her cover is blown when a high-profile case in her courtroom takes a stunning turn. Overnight the tabloids tell her secret, her boyfriend dumps her, and her new career hangs in tatters. But Cate's troubles are only just beginning. An enemy no one anticipated sends her running for her life, and she'll have to fight her way back to the truth...or die trying.


Elizabeth's Secret Diary, Volume III (Sweet Valley High)
Elizabeth's Secret Diary, Volume III (Sweet Valley High)
Author: Francine Pascal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/20/2007


excerpt:

I know this was totally wrong of me, Diary, but I ogt together with Sam again today. I told Todd I was going to the library at Sweet Valley University to research my history term paper. Instead, I met Sam at the beach and then we drove up the coast to Castillo San Angelo, this beautiful old Spanish mansion with a restaurant and public gardens. It's the most romantic spot, and we had the gardens all to ourselves. Sam said he felt like Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden and that inspired us to duck behind some ornamental shrubs and kiss. We shared a lot of kisses- for the rest of my life, the semll of honeysuckle will remind me of kissing Sam.

It was a delicious afternoon, but when I got home, I had a total guilt attack. I listened to the messages on the answering machine, and of course there was one from Todd, asking how my research went. I couldn't bear to call him back.

Secretly seeing Sam makes me feel so good and so bad at the same time. One minute I vow never to see him again, and the next I'm counting the hours until I can run off to the beach...our beach. What am I going to do?


Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn
Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn
Author: Sarah Miller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/17/2007


From inside flap:

What if you could see inside the head of the guy you love? Know his every thought? Feel his every dream and fantasy? The mystery girl who's Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn can. She tells us the intoxicating story of her beloved Gideon, an adorably clueless boy who flukes his way into New England's fanciest prep school.

Gidean's naive compared to the wolves at Midvale Academy, especially Cullen and Nicholas, his charming, morally ambiguous roommates. They welcome Gid by trashing his music and betting big on when he'll lose his virginity. Will he lose it with the cute and feisty Molly Mcgarry? Or with Pilar Benitez-Jones, the most beautiful girl Gid's ever seen? Gid actually likes Molly, and hooking up with her might be possible. But winning Pilar would be legnedary. Gid is torn- he wants to prove himself to his roommates, but he also wants love.

Through it all there is one hysterically funny girl sharing every thought in Gid's conflicted little mind. But who is she?


The Girl with the Silver Eyes
The Girl with the Silver Eyes
Author: Willo Davis Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/17/2007


From back cover:

Katie Welker is used to people thinking that she's odd. Nobody else has silver eyes. Nobody else can make things move just by thinking about them, and nobody else can talk with animals. Katie really likes her special powers until people start accusing her of bad things-including her grandmother's death! Katie knows she's never hurt anyone.

Now Katie is living in a new place with her mother. She's sure she can make a new start, until mysterious Mr. Cooper moves into the building and asks lots of questions about her. Katie is positive that he wants to arrest her.

How can she save herself? Are there other kids like her? Should she use her special powers again?


Goddess of the Night (Daughters of the Moon, Bk 1)
Goddess of the Night (Daughters of the Moon, Bk 1)
Author: Lynne Ewing
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 3/20/2007


From back cover:

Vanessa, Catty, Serena, and Jimena seem like ordinary girls living in Los Angeles. But they each have a secret. Vanessa can become invisible. Catty travels back in time. Serena reads minds, and Jimena has premonitions. As the girls become friends, they discover that what seperates them from others will brand them together as...

...Daughters of the Moon.

All Vanessa Cleveland has ever wanted is to be like everyone else and be able to do normal things- like kiss gorgeous Michael Saratoga without disapperaing right in front of him. But Vanessa is different, and having to hide her secret makes leading a normal life impossible.

Now Vanessa is being followed. She doesn't know who's doing it. But she knows why. Her secret has finally been discovered.


Legally Blonde
Legally Blonde
Author: Amanda Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 2


From Cover:
The hilarious novel that inspired the blockbuster movie!

Elle Woods, California University senior, seems to have it all. President of Delta Gamma sorority, she's aced her major- sociopolitical jewelry design- and is on the verge of becoming Mrs. Warner Huntington III. Too bad Warner, bound for Stanford Law, dumps her with the explanation that he now needs a more "serious" woman at his side. Faced with this unexpected reversal of fortune, woods doesn't get depressed, she gets busy.

Thanks to a creative application and a demand for "diversity" at Stanford Law, Elle gets in. Soon she's packing up her convertible- as well as her miniture Chihuahua- determined to win back her man. Smart, fast, and funny, Legally Blonde proves just how much fun blondes really can have.


Lie By Moonlight (Vanza, Bk 4)
Lie By Moonlight (Vanza, Bk 4)
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 4/27/2007
Helpful Score: 3


From inside flap:

Hired to tutor four orphaned girls at remote, ramshackle Aldwick Castle, Miss Concordia Glade is pleased to find her pupils both eager and bright. Indeed, they are bright enough to have noticed some oddities about their situation. Provided for by and unseen benefactor, they are surrounded at all times by hard-eyed guards in the guise of gardeners- and their previous tutor, she learns, disappeared under mysterious circumstances.

Stepping into this uncertain atmosphere,
concordia sees at once what must be done. The plan is daring in scope and execution, but with the help of her four students, the great escape stands a good chance of success. Of course, even the best-laid plans can go awry...and even the most independent, strong-minded lady must occasionally accept an offer of help.

During an investigation into a woman's death, private inquiry agent Ambrose Wells finds himself on the castle grounds-and in the middle of chaos. The building is in flames. People are dead. And a woman and four girls are fleeing on horseback. A confirmed loner, Ambrose never the less finds himself taking Concordia and her students under his wing. His past has made him eminently suitable to protect them from the person behind the events at Aldwick Castle: a notorious London crime lord who will stop at nothing to destroy those who know his secrets.

Their lives at risk, Concordia and the girls must remain safely in hiding until Ambrose is able to unravel the dark conspiracy. Bu if the girls have learned anything from Miss Glade, it is the value of curiosity- a quality their teacher possesses in great abundance. She has never been one to sit back quietly and let others take care of her. As the danger circles even closer, Ambrose and Concordia must work together to discover a way out of the darkness. In the process, they will learn a few lessons themselves- about stubbornness, courage, and love.


The Queen's Own Fool (Stuart Quartet, Bk 1)
The Queen's Own Fool (Stuart Quartet, Bk 1)
Author: Jane Yolen, Robert Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/20/2007


excerpt:

Just then the servants began to clear away the remains of the banquet with a minimum of noise. The feasters ate silently as well. One would think that such a feast would be abuzz with conversation and laughter, but everything was oddly quiet, as if no one were allowed to speak above a whisper.

This was not a happy party.

Then the queen looked up and, seeing us, nodded her head.

At us.

At me.

Onle the queen matters. I heard Pierre's voice in my head.

"Your majesties, honored lor and ladies of France," Uncle declared, "we present to you the renowned skills of Troupe Brufort, as witnessed in the courts of Italy, Burgundy, and Spain."

I did not show on my face what was in my mind. I did what Uncle wanted.

I smiled.

He waved us forward and our first-and only- performance before the King and Queen of France began.


Seventeenth Summer
Seventeenth Summer
Author: Maureen Daly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/22/2007


excerpt:

Then suddenly, and yet it wasn't sudden at all, I remember myself with both hands pressed against the gabardine of his coat so hard that I could feel the roughness of the cloth. My head seemed to be throbbing wildly and still I was thinking very clearly and precisely. Behind him I could see the high stars and the golf course stretched out silver-green in the moonlight and the fire-flies flickering in the grass like bits of neon lighting. I felt a new breathless caution as if I were sitting in a bubble. And then, I, Angie Morrow, who had never done anything like this before, who until last Monday night had never even had a real date, could feel his cheek against mine, as warm and soft as peach fuzz. And I knew if I moved my face just a little, just a very little...


Summer Boys (Summer Boys, Bk 1)
Summer Boys (Summer Boys, Bk 1)
Author: Hailey Abbott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 3/17/2007
Helpful Score: 4


From the back cover:

First boy. First Love. First Time.

Ella
Peter was watching me all night-I could feel it. I wish he'd make a move already. too bad he's my sister's boyfriend.

Beth
Suddenly George is looking really good in his swim trunks. I don't know what I'm thinking-he's my best friend. Do I want more?

Jamie
Last summer, Ethan and I fell for each other-big-time. My feelings for him haven't changed. But why is he pushing me away?

It's summer. It's hot. It's time to hook up.


Trash Talk (Trash)
Trash Talk (Trash)
Author: Cherie Bennett, Jeff Gottesfeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/17/2007


from the back cover:

Boyfriend Troubles

Six girls and guys are about to have the summer of their lives. They've been chosen to move to New York City to be interns on the new reality talk show Trash. But the real drama is going on behind the cameras...


1 to 13 of 13