Karen S. (ksmu) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Ahab's Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer
Review Date: 3/8/2017


Took me a bit to get into this book. I don't generally read historical novels. But in the end, it was pretty interesting.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 3/8/2017


Great book. Another perspective on the Holocaust. This from a young Jewish boy.


Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Author: Anne Frank, B.M. Mooyaart-Doubleday (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 672
Review Date: 10/30/2015


This is a great read. I read this book when I was younger, but I liked it even more now. It should be on everyone's must-read list.


Educating Alice : Adventures of a Curious Woman
Educating Alice : Adventures of a Curious Woman
Author: Alice Steinbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 10/30/2015


This book is terribly boring. Someone selected it for book club and I that is the only reason I finished it. Alice may have been curious, but she is curious about all the wrong things.


Finding Fish: A Memoir
Finding Fish: A Memoir
Author: Antwone Q. Fisher, Mim E. Rivas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/30/2015


Interesting and eye-opening memoir about a young black boy thrust into the foster system. It chronicles what is wrong with the system.


Just One Look
Just One Look
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 6/28/2009


This is a fast read. I couldn't put it down.


Shelter Me
Shelter Me
Author: Juliette Fay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 11/25/2015


I enjoyed this book, although I did not love it. Once I got into it, I was interested and invested in the characters.

It's a little bit of a formula book - single woman, hunky man, they don't hit it off at first. The main character is recently widowed and the book chronicles her struggles to move on with her life and, of course, find love again.


Still Alice
Still Alice
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 444
Review Date: 10/30/2015


Excellent book! Written from the perspective of a woman who has early onset alzheimers. Very scary to think this could just happen to you. I could not put it down.


1 to 8 of 8