Linda K. (lhasalover) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 204 - Page:
The Abduction (Theodore Boone, Bk 2)
The Abduction (Theodore Boone, Bk 2)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/3/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Good read for adult and children. The second book in a series about a child lawyer. Very likeable.


The Activist (Theodore Boone, Bk 4)
The Activist (Theodore Boone, Bk 4)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/29/2014


Even if you are an adult you will love this series. This book is a quick read and engaging.


All My Patients Have Tales: Favorite Stories from a Vet's Practice
All My Patients Have Tales: Favorite Stories from a Vet's Practice
Author: Jeff Wells
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


It is an enjoyable book about a young vet with a practice of large and small animals. He has some unique clients in the midwest and west. A must read for animal lovers.


Almost Perfect
Almost Perfect
Author: Diane Daniels Manning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/20/2015


Loved this book. Could not put it down. Enchanting tale about a trouble child attending a special school who finds a breeder of world famous poodles at the end of her career and shutting down her kennel. If you are dog lover, it is a must read. Wish the story didn't end.


Amazing Gracie : A Dog's Tale
Amazing Gracie : A Dog's Tale
Author: Dan Dye, Mark Beckloff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 11/25/2010


Great story about when you open your heart to a dog and let it lead you, you can go to usually places. Keep the hearts open.


Animals on the Other Side
Animals on the Other Side
Author: Sylvia Browne, Chris Dufresne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/10/2011


It was an okay read. The illustrations are pretty.


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 2/2/2013


This is the first book I read by Sara Gruen. I was disappointed. The story about the apes and researcher is fascinating. There was not enough story around this subject The story focuses on the newspaper reporter and his wife the story is boring and too much. It was a fast read. I couldn't put it down because I wanted to know what happen to the apes. There are parts of the story that I would have liked more developed.


Arffirmations: Meditations for Your Dog
Arffirmations: Meditations for Your Dog
Author: Ellis Weiner, Barbara Davilman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/1/2011


Very cute. Fast Read.


Art
Art
Author: Patrick McDonnell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/20/2012


Sweet little book. Not a Mutt book. A child and his Art.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 4/2/2016


Excellant story. Had a friend beg me to read this book for years. If you luv dog stories,must read. You will cry at the end. My female dog watch me as I cried reading the ending. Best dog story I have read in awhile.


The Best of Me
The Best of Me
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 2/10/2012


I am enjoying this book of Nicholas Sparks. It is better than the last one. He seems to have taken a darker turn in his books with characters that are more dangerous. It is a note that I agree with other readers that I don't care for.


Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Blind Hope: An Unwanted Dog and the Woman She Rescued
Author: Kim Meeder, Kim Meeder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/1/2011


For a christian and dog lover, this is a must quick read. It will reinforce truths you will already know or will learn.

All dogs in our life teach us more that we ever give them and this is true about Laurie (the human) and Mia ( the dog). This is espeacially true about the dogs that enter our lives that need more care like Mia. It is about the person than the dog.


The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life beyond This World
Review Date: 4/4/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Excellant book. If you want to know what heaven is like, read this book. Also how a family survives a horrible accident with faith.


Calico Joe
Calico Joe
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 8/12/2012


Best of the Grisham books not about the law. Fascinating read about baseball. A son looking for redemption for his hated major league father who was no father to him. His father hurt another major league player removing the player from the game. His father is dying and the son wants him to apologize. The scenes take place now and 1973. You will read it quickly.


Call of the Wild: A Mutts Treasury
Call of the Wild: A Mutts Treasury
Author: Patrick McDonnell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/22/2012


Love Patrick McDonnell Mutt series. If you a dog or cat lover, this series is a must read. Soo relateable. Love Mooch and his pink sock show.


Carrie and Me: A Mother-Daughter Love Story
Carrie and Me: A Mother-Daughter Love Story
Author: Carol Burnett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/12/2013


I loved this book. I listen to it as audible book since Carol Burnett is reading it. It is great. I watch Carrie in her acting career and was curious to learn more.


The Cats of Kittyville: New Lives for Rescued Felines
Review Date: 2/18/2012


If you love reading the best friends books and cats, this is the book for you. It is their style of telling their mission as well stories of cats and volunteers and the adopters.


The Charms of Tea: Reminiscences and Recipes
The Charms of Tea: Reminiscences and Recipes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/13/2012


If you love literature and tea, this book is for you. Lovely bits from classic literature about teas, recipes to make tea and accompanying sweets. A must for tea lovers library.


Chicken Soup for the Soul: Christmas Cheer: Stories about the Love, Inspiration, and Joy of Christmas (Chicken Soup for the Soul)
Review Date: 1/26/2013


It is worth reading. Not new stories, but extracting from other chicken soup books.


Chicken Soup for the Soul: Christmas Magic: 101 Holiday Tales of Inspiration, Love, and Wonder
Review Date: 12/12/2011


I love the Chicken Soup series and especially the pets. I even subsribed to the daily chicken soup online. So I know how meaningful the stories are and inspiration to make you think. This is not my favorite of the series. The first four chapters contained stories that were forgetable. I love the quotes above the stories better than the stories themselves.


1 to 20 of 204 - Page: