Robin R. (GrkMum) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
American Massacre : The Tragedy at Mountain Meadows, September 1857
American Massacre : The Tragedy at Mountain Meadows, September 1857
Author: Sally Denton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/17/2013


A thorough and fascinating history not only of the tragic massacre but also of the events leading up to it and those that followed. I couldn't put the book down. The engrossing details painted a very vivid scene. The richness of the author's research drew strong character biographies as well.


Baby Sign Language Basics: Early Communication for Hearing Babies and Toddlers
Review Date: 1/8/2007


easy to use, easy to do. My son was able to master a few signs when I worked with this book.


Beneath the Surface (Lake George, Bk 2)
Beneath the Surface (Lake George, Bk 2)
Author: Anne White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/25/2006


a quick read with a good plot


Black and Blue
Black and Blue
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 666
Review Date: 10/20/2006


an Oprah Book Club Book


The Dante Club
The Dante Club
Author: Matthew Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 10/18/2006


Great read! Very detailed historical mystery!


Developing the Leader Within You
Developing the Leader Within You
Author: John C. Maxwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/12/2007


Discusses the traits of a leader and the difference between a leader and a manager.


Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund  (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 2)
Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 2)
Author: Blaize Clement
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/17/2007


This was a fun and easy read in which the heroine is a pet sitter living in Florida.


Eating for Acid Reflux: A Handbook and Cookbook for Those with Heartburn
Review Date: 4/29/2007


includes 100 delicious, low-fat, low-acid recipes to ease the symptoms of GERD


Here on Earth
Here on Earth
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Another great Oprah Book Club read.


Jewel
Jewel
Author: Bret Lott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 332
Review Date: 8/17/2006


An Oprah Book Club selection


Killer Pancake (Goldy Schulz, Bk 5)
Killer Pancake (Goldy Schulz, Bk 5)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 4/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Diane Mott Davidson and her series about Goldy the caterer and the mysteries she gets herself tangled up in are always fun to read.


The King of Torts
The King of Torts
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 952
Review Date: 10/10/2006


another great read from the master of legal drama!


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3365
Review Date: 3/14/2013


The first 90 or so pages were slow going and I put the book aside for a while. But once Pi reaches the Pacific Ocean, I couldn't put the book down. Fast paced and full of exciting scenes that quickly flow and move it was a wonderful read that left me thinking about it long after I had finished.


Longbourn
Longbourn
Author: Jo Baker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 12/17/2015


A well written story told from the servant's point of view. An interesting story line and much detail kept me interested.


Making Presentations (Essential Managers)
Making Presentations (Essential Managers)
Author: Tim Hindle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/17/2007


This is one of those quick and easy to read books with tons of practical advice.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1396
Review Date: 2/18/2008


This is a great book written by a very talented journalist. It made me laugh and it made me cry. Anyone who has ever had a dog will relate to this book.


Nighttime Is My Time
Nighttime Is My Time
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 12/11/2006


another enjoyable story from the Queen of mystery. A class reunion, some missing people who were all at the same lunch table in high school, coincidences or something else?


The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (No 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 1)
Review Date: 12/11/2006


This is a great introduction to a new mystery series. Set in Africa, it's not like the usual whodunit but instead has a series of "stories" or cases from the #1 Ladies Detective Agency. Very enjoyable!


One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
Author: Jim Fergus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 675
Review Date: 1/21/2008


This is a great read. Fascinating look into the lives of white women living on the prairie with a peaceful Cherokee Indian tribe. I couldn't put it down!


The Patchwork Planet
The Patchwork Planet
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/25/2007


Another classic from Anne Tyler


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: