Heather D. (daylily77) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 208 - Page:
Anatomy of a Misfit
Anatomy of a Misfit
Author: Andrea Portes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/20/2014


This book was phenomenal. A perfect depiction of how teenage years can be so dark, twisty and angst ridden. Heart wrenching.

The relationship between Anika and her mother is how things should be. Any person who felt like a misfit when they were teenagers should read this book.

The character development is well done. The challenges that high school kids face in this book can be very real. Parents should face up to these hard facts. Read this cautionary tale to know what your misfit child might be going through. Be nosy. Don't give up on your kids.

Gripe. The reason for the four stars: I realize this is intended to be a YA book, but I had a difficult time getting past the language she used in her writing. I've been to Nebraska and I've got a pre-teen boy. The teen/slang/supposed Nebraska dialect didn't do it for me. I also feel this is one book that we as parents need to read before our kids do. There is strong adult content and language in the book. Teach your kids the difference between right and wrong


Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter Set (Bks 1-4)
Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter Set (Bks 1-4)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/15/2010


Must read LKH!


Aromatherapy Scent  Psyche
Aromatherapy Scent Psyche
Author: Peter Damian, Kate Damian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/26/2013


Fascinating. Bought this book to help write a paper in my psychology class.


Ashes of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 6)
Ashes of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 6)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 5/14/2010


Lara writes that are out of the park fabulous!


Attack of the Fiend (Last Apprentice, Bk 4)
Attack of the Fiend (Last Apprentice, Bk 4)
Author: Joseph Delaney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/11/2015


Another fantastic addition to the series. My son and I are still loving it!


Awakened (A House of Night)
Awakened (A House of Night)
Author: P.C. Cast, Kristin Cast
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/1/2011


This series is pretty darn good. Although I think it has lost a little of the pizazz it had in the beginning. I am a follower of the series so I will definitely continue on. This book had loads of sexy time in it, so be aware!


Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie
Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/15/2010


I really enjoy Maggie Stiefvater's writing style, it is very charming. I look forward to anything she writes.


The Basilisk's Lair (Nathaniel Fludd, Beastologist, Book 2)
The Basilisk's Lair (Nathaniel Fludd, Beastologist, Book 2)
Author: R. L. LaFevers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/5/2011


Really a cute book. I think these may just make a really cute movie or tv series. My son (8 yrs old) and I have enjoyed the series quite a bit. I'm currently reading the third book in the series.


Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 3)
Beautiful Chaos (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 3)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 12/3/2011


Another fantastic addition to the series. The pace of this book was much better than Beautiful Darkness. The language was a little rougher in this book (more swearing). Still a tame book for teenagers. Sneaking out and truancy.

I enjoyed how the characters evolved in this book, John Breed, Link, Liv and Macon.

So many lives intertwined in this book. I enjoyed the interactions between all the characters, it made the story more believable. I'm interested in seeing how the next book goes. Quite the cliff hanger at the end.


Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 8/7/2010


A fantastic book. I needed to break away from the werewolf/vampire genre for a bit and this totally satisfied that break. I can't wait for the next book. Very tame compared to a lot of the YA novels out there.


Beautiful Darkness (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 2)
Beautiful Darkness (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 2)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 1/13/2011


A fantastical book all in all. I enjoy the writing style of these ladies for the most part. The book did drag a little for me, until about a 1/3 of the way through the book. The story completely made up for any lack of excitement in the first 1/3 of the book. Still a tame book compared to some other young adult novels out there. Again, truancy and mild language. I would still allow teenagers to read this series. Rumor has it that there are going to be four books in the series. Super excited!


The Becoming (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Becoming (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Jeanne C. Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 6/11/2010


Not bad at all! I'm proud Denver's own local author! I'm looking forward to the next book in the series!


Blood and Chocolate
Blood and Chocolate
Author: Annette Klause
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/28/2011


A nice book full of action, romance and twists. Just when you thought you'd know what would happen next. There is sexual tension in the book, and talk of sex. There is also underage drinking and age inappropriate relationships. Older women with younger men and vice versa. I would recommend this for older YAs. I just got the movie from Netflix, so we'll see how that goes!


Blood Noir (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 16)
Blood Noir (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 16)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 284
Review Date: 5/14/2010


Awesome! Highly recommended!


The Blood of Olympus (Thorndike Press Large Print Literacy Bridge Series)
Review Date: 12/13/2014


A perfect ending. Bittersweet.


Bloodlines (Bloodlines, Bk 1)
Bloodlines (Bloodlines, Bk 1)
Author: Richelle Mead
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 12/22/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Love the new series, reading book two now! Diggin' it! Parental advisory, skipping school, drinking, and drug use. Mild (by my standards) profanity.


Bloody Bones (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 5)
Bloody Bones (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 5)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/15/2010


LKH is a definite read!


Bloody Bones (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 5)
Bloody Bones (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 5)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 454
Review Date: 1/17/2010


I adore the entire Anita Blake series!


Blue Moon (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 8)
Blue Moon (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 8)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 1/17/2010


I adore the entire Anita Blake series!


The Book of Three (Chronicles of Prydain Bk 1)
The Book of Three (Chronicles of Prydain Bk 1)
Author: Lloyd Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 8/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


My boss told me that if I didn't read this book, she wouldn't speak to me. I read the book and enjoyed it immensely. I have the rest of the series too and I look forward to reading the entire series. Something I should have read long ago.


1 to 20 of 208 - Page: