Ani (goddessani) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 265 - Page:
About Last Night... (Harlequin Blaze)
About Last Night... (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Samantha Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/10/2005


Really hot book about a relationship that starts with a lie and develops into something much more.

Really good secondary character romance also.


Absinthe of Malice
Absinthe of Malice
Author: Rhys Ford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/14/2016


The boys are on the road, in a van, taking turns driving (except for Miki, of course). Along the way, they bond further as Crossroads Gin. All the significant others and family, including the daunting Brigid, come visit them.

It was a little disjointed because it didn't focus on just one couple and I felt certain things were glossed over a bit but still an enjoyable read.

It ends with a cliffhanger that seems very exciting and ensures at least one more book.


Adagio
Adagio
Author: Chris Owen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/2/2010


Adagio:

adverb: in a leisurely manner; slowly (music)

noun: a love-duet sequences in a pas de deux (ballet - dance)

Both of these terms perfectly fit this book, which is involves a love-duet leisurely trip through the Australian Outback.

This book is, very simply, one of the most romantic love stories I've ever read. It matters not that it is between two men, rather than a man and a woman.

Owen completely captures the thrill of falling in love and the terror of losing that lover through no fault other than life getting in the way.

As we watch Jason and Ryan explore their feelings for each other, we are also caught up once again in the joy of first love, lasting love.

As we see them separate and wonder if they will work things out, we too experience the longing and frustration of that separation.

Adagio is a book that will resonate with me for a long time.


Adder
Adder
Author: Ally Blue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/27/2010


I really wanted to like this story. I'd heard such good things about it and the back of the book certainly sounded intriguing. Alas, it wasn't to be.

Adder is a selfish, self-absorbed person who doesn't think beyond his own pleasure.

Kalil spends most of his time either mad at Adder for his antics or throwing himself a pity party because he can't be with Adder. Wah wah wah.

Annoyingly, the hottest sex scene in the book didn't take place between Adder and Kalil (nor was it consummated).

While together most of a year, neither character showed any growth. The ending was then very rushed with a "let's give this a happy ending" vibe that didn't work with the rest of the book.

Or maybe I'm just not attracted to green haired, stainless steel toothed men.

Based on this book, I'm leery to try Ally Blue again although I know many who sing her praises.


After the War is Over
After the War is Over
Author: Jennifer Robson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/18/2018


Charlotte is a busy social worker following WWI. She wants to make others' lives better but what exactly does that mean and how can she do it?

Once a governess for the wealthy Ashton family, she has stayed in touch with the young Lord Cumberland and his youngest sister. It means she is sometime rubbing elbows with the wealthy. She wants to despise them because why should they have so much when others have nothing but she doesn't.

We see Charlotte wrangle with her own conscience as she tries to make things right in a country where so much is wrong.

This is not a heavy or depressing book but it does cause one to think about the changes that have been made in the 100 years since this book took place.


After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/24/2017


I loved Me Before You and was really looking forward to what happens to Lou.

I won't say I was disappointed but this was so different from the first book, that it doesn't feel finished to me.

Lily, while a fascinating character in some ways, took over too much of the story. I felt she held Lou back more than Lou moving forward by having her.

I have to give this 3 stars only. Neither good nor bad. Maybe just not what I wanted.


Ain't She Sweet?
Ain't She Sweet?
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 2/3/2006


It took me awhile to appreciate Sugar Beth. A spoilt child who returns to her home town with a chip on her shoulder. After seeing how she was treated by the townsfolk though, even if she did deserve it, really bothered me. Watching her grow and come into her own had me cheering her on!


Alan Lennox and the Temp Job of Doom (The Future Next Door)
Alan Lennox and the Temp Job of Doom (The Future Next Door)
Author: Brian Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/1/2016


This is a quirky novel that was a lot of fun. The writing is fast-paced and the story clips along with no time to process what has come before.

I gave it a 4.5 because I won't read the rest of the series. Although I really enjoyed it as a one-off, I left it not feeling compelled to find out what happens next. I never felt like I knew the characters well enough to really care what happens to them after this adventure.


Alice
Alice
Author: Christina Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/3/2018


This is a really dark story about Alice in Wonderland. It's not a sequel, per se, but it does take place after the first book (Alice's Adventures in Wonderland) but in an alternate way. There is magic and dark deeds (mainly rape which is aluded to rather than shown, except in one instance where it's a bit hazy whether it would be considered rape or not). The Caterpillar and the Cheshire Cat are actually people instead of animals. The Dormouse is Alice's friend Dor, who leads her into harm's way and the Mad Hatter becomes the Mad Hatcher.

Alice is led into the Old City by Dor when she is 16. The Old City is where the degenerate and unpoliced live. After 2 weeks, Alice stumbles out (without Dor), covered in blood and she can only say The Rabbit did it. She is locked up in an insane asylum where her only real human contact is with Hatcher, who is in the cell next door. They converse through a mouse hole. Hatcher has his own demons, including that he can "feel" the Jabberwock and that terrifies him. When a fire engulfs the asylum, Alice and Hatcher make their way out and into the bowels of the Old City. Hatcher wants to help Alice discover what happened to her and he needs to escape the Jabberwock.

It was well written and maybe even deserves more than 4 stars because of the writing. It did keep me enthralled neough to finish it but I can't really say I enjoyed it. I believe there are other books in this series.

Based on the quality of the writing alone, I will give it 4 stars.


Alice at Heart (Waterlilies Series)
Alice at Heart (Waterlilies Series)
Author: Deborah Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I wanted to like this book--I really did. And I did "like" it but I didn't love it the way I generally do anything by Deborah Smith. I think I expected more from it because it is a Deborah Smith book.

It's lacking the depth of her other books. It was a fun read and a delightful little fantasy but it's not a keeper for me like her other stuff.


All or Nothing
All or Nothing
Author: Claire Cross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Really good book that took me by surprise. It's not as light and frothy as the cover and the back blurb make it appear.

Two people who use each other to get their families off their back. At least, that's how it starts out.

They're both carrying some emotional baggage (one fears they may be responsible for their father's suicide and the other is a cancer survivor). Lots of nutty relatives around to keep things from getting too depressing.

I will certainly look for others by this author.


All the Queen's Men (John Medina, Bk 2)
All the Queen's Men (John Medina, Bk 2)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 9/21/2005


Follow up to Kill and Tell.


All the Wrong Places (Bluewater Bay, Bk 14)
All the Wrong Places (Bluewater Bay, Bk 14)
Author: Ann Gallagher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/24/2016


This book did a great job of explaining what asexuality means.

After Brennan is dumped by his third girlfriend for being bad in bed, he decides to seek out some help. He meets Zafir, a Muslim single father, who works at the local sex shop. After a few questions, Zafir proposes the idea that Brennan may be asexual. Brennan does some reading which leads to more questions, which leads to more meetings with Zafir.

Their friendship gradually leads to more but more doesn't involve sex, although this author (another pseudonym for L.A. Witt/Lauren Gallagher) is known for it.

I loved that there was enough about Zafir being Muslim and how it played out in his life, without being hit over the head about it.

Really, a very touching love (not sex) story!


All Through the Night (Troubleshooters, Bk 12)
All Through the Night (Troubleshooters, Bk 12)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 12/16/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This book was so well crafted and so touching. This is a definite keeper for me.

Jules Cassidy and Robin Chadwick FINALLY get their happily ever after. The love is so palpable between these two you can practically touch it. Which isn't to say there's no twists as we wait for these two to get to the altar!

With appearances by Alyssa and Sam, Cosmo and Janey, and a host of others, it's more a reunion than a wedding!


Animal Lust
Animal Lust
Author: Lacy Danes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 4/9/2009


First I've read by Lacy Danes but I will look for more. Three paranormal brothers and the women they love.

My only complaint is it would have been nice to revisit the brothers and see what had happened in their lives as this book takes place over almost 20 years. But that's a small complaint.


Anyone But You (Harlequin Love & Laughter, No 4)
Anyone But You (Harlequin Love & Laughter, No 4)
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/28/2005
Helpful Score: 4


This has to be one of the funniest books I've ever read. A 40- something heroine, newly divorced from her doctor husband, meets up with a 30-something ER doc. He can't possibly be interested in HER, can he, she thinks? After all she's older! Toss in the best written basset hound, Fred, and you have the makings of a great story!


Ask For It (Georgian, Bk 1)
Ask For It (Georgian, Bk 1)
Author: Sylvia Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 1/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


The first of her books I've read. I was surprised at how erotic it was (not being published by one of the erotica publishing houses). Definitely an author I will look for again!


The Assignment (Valenti & O'Brian, Bk 1)
The Assignment (Valenti & O'Brian, Bk 1)
Author: Evangeline Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 7/12/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed everything about this except that it was set in the past. A big part of me said WHY? Nothing was really said that explained why it was in the past so it just didn't make sense.

Other than that, I loved the tension of two straight guys falling for each other. Since one of them had fallen before the other, I could understand his hesitation in admitting his feelings for his partner. And when the partner is saying one thing and doing another, more confusion ensues.

I read another review that said there wasn't enough plot here but I disagree. I didn't feel The Assignment was the plot. The plot was how these two men deal with each other and I thought that was handled very well.


Bachelor Father (Heart of the West, Bk 3)
Bachelor Father (Heart of the West, Bk 3)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 12/21/2005
Helpful Score: 3


This is a beautiful story about two people who should have never met do and what happens when he learns about the baby she hadn't told him about.

On my keeper shelf!


Bad Attitude (Bureau of American Defense, Bk 2)
Bad Attitude (Bureau of American Defense, Bk 2)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 5/17/2006


Her first full length BAD book, Kenyon delivers the goods. Slightly less sexy, though no less hot, than the BAD anthologies, the characters are first rate!

The ending was a little weak but still a good, fun read.


1 to 20 of 265 - Page: