Madge C. (dmconn1) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 235 - Page:
The Abstinence Teacher
The Abstinence Teacher
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 1/26/2008
Helpful Score: 7


The book was well written, and like Jodi Picoult's books, the reader may find themselves siding with characters that may not possess the same values as themselves. However with that said, I was very disappointed in the ending. I felt it just dropped off after a big work up to it.


Acceptance
Acceptance
Author: Susan Coll
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/1/2009


This story is told through the eyes of several characters including a couple moms, an interim dean of admissions at a college, and some students as they wind their way through the college application process. A very interesting fictional story that would certainly be appreciated by those parents and children who are working through the jigsaw puzzle of college admissions. This was a quick read for me, and definitely an entertaining method for me to learn a little bit about the processes my children will soon be going through.


Adored
Adored
Author: Tilly Bagshawe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 9/24/2009


I have never read anything from this author before but I will be keeping tabs on her work as I found this book to be absolutely intriguing and hard to put down. The characters were brought to life with vivid descriptions. The story begins and ends full circle with the main character, Siena. Although the book has several pages, it is a quick, fun read.


All About Evie (Chameleon Chronicles, Bk 1)
All About Evie (Chameleon Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Beth Ciotta
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 2/22/2009


This is the first book of two about a former Vegas showgirl named Sugar DuPont (Evelyn). This was a quick, fun read for me. After reading the two books about Evie, I look forward to finding more from this author.


Amazing Grace
Amazing Grace
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 2/7/2008


Amazing Grace is well...Amazing! Danielle Steel wrote a different type of book than her normal novels. Don't get me wrong though, I love Danielle Steel's writing. I have read every novel she has had published.

There is so much dimension in each of the characters. In the book... faith, love, and loyalty win overall. I feel like Danielle's inner core showed through in this novel. She is an author who you can't judge just by her cover and outer beauty, and with that said, the characters can't be judged by the initial impressions they portray either.

Grab some hot chocolate, your comfy blanket, a "do not disturb" sign, and this book for a great evening in. You deserve it! :)

I absolutely had a hard time putting this book down. In my opinion, this book is definitely a must read for Danielle Steel readers, and any reader who wants to feel better about the life they lead, and wants to do more to help and assist their fellow men.


America the Beautiful (America, Bk 1)
America the Beautiful (America, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Hayden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A political work of fiction with some sprinkles of Christianity. This book was very engaging and difficult to put down. Decisions must be made by Emily's campaign manager, Kate, that sometimes seems in conflict with her Christian values. The reader will note the struggles the two main characters deal with in trying to obtain their collaborative and individual goals while maintaining their strong friendship. Currently there are two books in the America Series by Laura Hayden. The 2nd book is "Rec, White, and Blue".


American Wife
American Wife
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 8/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


One of the best books I have read in awhile. I will certainly look into reading more of this author's books. She takes the reader through the stages of a president's wife, from her teen years to her 60's. We have a look into her life as one accident defines who she is for many years, and the ups and downs of married life. I forgot as I read it that it appears to be loosely based on the life of Laura Bush. The political aspects of the book are downplayed while the relationships are portrayed from many angles. Awesome writing...hard to put down once started. I do agree with a reviewer before me that although the beginning and middle read very quickly, the end (present time) is a little slower to get through. I highly recommend "American Wife" though!!


. . . and His Lovely Wife: A Memoir from the Woman Beside the Man
Review Date: 1/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Connie Shultz gives her readers a glimpse into the life of a political candidate's wife as she takes us on an in depth journey that results in a win for her husband. I found the book to be enjoyable and easy to read. She never describes their life as perfect, but instead depicts the ups and downs as she finds her way for the first time through the race of a candidate who as a Congressman had been through similar times before. I will certainly look for more work from Connie Shultz.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 815
Review Date: 2/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Hard to put down! I loved this book.


Apocalipstick
Apocalipstick
Author: Sue Margolis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 10/2/2009


The book was just ok in my humble opinion. The beginning was very slow for me and did not pick up great speed until about 2/3 through. Until the end I had decided to take any books from this author off my lists, but I think I will still give her another try. I'm not sure the title is very fitting for the story although she does write a beauty article.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 3/24/2008
Helpful Score: 10


I loved this novel by John Grisham. I have read every one of his books, and was held captive until the end. I won't go into great detail as some of the reviewers before me have. Beware: some of the reviews give a little bit of the ending away, and the not knowing is what makes the story so good. There are some twists and turns along the way that make for some interesting reading. This is the first book that I am aware of that John Grisham wrote his opinion of some judicial decisions and background events. I didn't take offense at it as some readers before me have. I went to bed late reading this book, and woke up early to finish it. In my humble opinion, I think this is one of John Grisham's best works of fiction.


Aruba : The Tragic Untold Story of Natalee Holloway and Corruption in Paradise
Review Date: 12/7/2007


It is heart wrenching to know what this family has gone through, and is still going through. It is always insightful to read from a family member the details of a situation. Although the story is far from over, hopefully by more people reading about Natalie, her story does not end, and resources will still be made available to help her family find her (or her body).


The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 359
Review Date: 5/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


John Grisham is one of my favorite authors who I am glad is writing his normal genre again. The book was a little slower in the beginning to me, but picked up quickly at the end. Without giving anything away, I guess I was a little disappointed in the conclusion, but not in the writing. Not one of my favorites from him, but much better than most written work.


At the Center of the Storm
At the Center of the Storm
Author: George Tenet
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/23/2008
Helpful Score: 3


The book is well written and very detailed. It took me awhile to read as there is so much information embedded in each page. George helps the reader along by offering a section of "principal characters", and a glossary that defines the many acronyms he uses throughout the book. He appears to be honest about his dealings as the Director of Central Intelligence, and takes blame for some of the questionable decisions made during his position, even if the blame should have been placed elsewhere at times. I gained a little insight as to what happened post 911, but as one reviewer stated before me, there isn't any juicy gossip.


Audition: A Memoir
Audition: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Walters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 8/31/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Barbara's memoir depicts a life of ups and downs, successes and failures, celebrations and divorces, but more importantly Barbara's life as not always seen by the public. Barbara does not simply gloss over the stages in her life, but lets the reader peak inside for some details not written before about the many facets that make up Barbara Walters. Embarrassing moments are put out there for the reader to empathize (if not sympathize) with. Barbara does not write about a perfect person or a charmed life, but of a woman who steps where other woman could only dream about generations ago. She portrays a working mother who feels guilty if she isn't home every minute with her daughter, but then feels guilty if she is away from her work. Many mothers can certainly relate to what Barbara describes in her story. Barbara, also with the blessing of her daughter, talks about the tumultuous teenage years and the frustration felt by both the famous mother, and the adopted child. Although she has made choices that I wouldn't necessarily agree with, I do respect her for what she has accomplished, and encourage members to read her book. There are 582 packed pages of information that will take the reader awhile to wade through, but with patience, the effort will be worthwhile in my humble opinion. Great book by an inspiring pioneer.


Balancing in High Heels
Balancing in High Heels
Author: Eileen Rendahl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/25/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Light read. It was ok, not one of my favorite books, but would be fun reading on the beach.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 7/16/2009


Another quick read from Jane Green. Different characters become family when they rent out rooms from an eccentric (or not) woman who binds everyone together with her warm welcomes. I couldn't put this book down. Well written and good character development.


Beginnings (Sommerfield, Bk 2)
Beginnings (Sommerfield, Bk 2)
Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 2/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Although the book started off slow, and the author took too much time explaining the process of creating stain glass windows, the book ended well. This is the 2nd part of a 3 part trilogy called "Sommerfield Trilogy". The third book is slated to be out February/2008. This novel covers a young woman's journey in her new life at Sommerfield. She learns that family, and loyalty comes first.


Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 1/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


She did it again! Marisa De Los Santos wrote a book that couldn't be put down easily. The characters are three dimensional and are portrayed well in this fictional story about a suburb that any of us could live in. It is a love story not only about couples but also of friendships and families. A great book to curl up with.


Beyond the Blonde
Beyond the Blonde
Author: Kathleen Flynn-Hui
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Fun and humorous book. The author is a colorist at Salon AKS and is the wife of Kao Hui, an acclaimed stylist. Although a fictional book, I'm sure she was able to use her real life experiences to provide the base for the novel.


1 to 20 of 235 - Page: