Julianne (juli118) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 6/17/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I thought this book was great...it was a lot of fun to read, and I really liked how, despite the fact that it took place over just 1 week, it didn't seem like it. Relationships usually progress quite quickly in romances, and it sometimes drives me crazy when the main characters talk about how "they've never felt this way about anyone", even though it's only been a week. Their feelings for one another are clear, but they don't talk them to death. They just are.

I loved the characters, I loved Shane, and I really loved that Agnes appreciated food and was a normal sized woman :) I've read Jennifer Crusie once before and wasn't too impressed but I will definitely check out some more of her stuff, especially her other collaboration with Bob Mayer.


All I Want... (Harlequin Blaze, No 221)
All I Want... (Harlequin Blaze, No 221)
Author: Isabel Sharpe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


So this was my very first series romance...I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Turns out, I picked a great one to start with! To be completely honest, I thought this book was better written than some larger, non-series romance novels that I've read before. I especially liked the secondary romance and the way it played out. As the cover shows, it's a pretty spicy read, but I didn't think it was cheesy at all. I'll definitely be looking for more books by Sharpe.


Bright Eyes (Kendrick/Coulter, Bk 5)
Bright Eyes (Kendrick/Coulter, Bk 5)
Author: Catherine Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 314
Review Date: 6/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book a lot...it was my first Catherine Anderson, and I'll definitely be getting my hands on some of her other books. I like the emphasis on family as well as romance, and the suspenseful elements of the book were good as well. Zeke, the hero, is rugged and old fashioned in the notion that he needs to take care of the heroine...just the way I like 'em!


Crush on You (Three Kisses, Bk 1)
Crush on You (Three Kisses, Bk 1)
Author: Christie Ridgway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 7/8/2010
Helpful Score: 4


This book was made it on my Wish List, but when I got it, I wasn't really sure how much I would like it. The description mentioned that the hero, Penn Bennett, was a famous reality TV handyman, and I cringed, because I usually don't like the Hollywood romance element. I decided to start the book anyways, and I was so glad I did. I really liked this book; it's funny, introduces readers to two interesting families, is pretty steamy, and has a great secondary romance that I really enjoyed. I loved the Nun of Napa thing...hilarious. This is a great kickoff to Ridgway's new series, and the second book is definitely going on my Wish List.


Forbidden Pleasures
Forbidden Pleasures
Author: Bertrice Small
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 8/3/2009


Whew-very spicy. I kept thinking, this woman has grandchildren and she's writing this stuff?! Wow. Besides the excessive use of "angel face" and "darling", it was pretty good!


Sundays at Tiffany's
Sundays at Tiffany's
Author: Gabrielle Charbonnet, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 676
Review Date: 6/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have a friend who disliked this book, but I'm a fan of his so I checked this out from the library and it did not disappoint. It's true that the storyline is based in fantasy-but I think that's what makes it such a fun read. It's a quick read, and for me, it was an emotional one as well. There were some unanswered questions for me, but overall I enjoyed it a lot.


Talk Me Down
Talk Me Down
Author: Victoria Dahl
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 9/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book-it was such a pleasant surprise. One of my Goodread buddies gave it a good review so I thought I would check it out. The heroine is genuinely funny, the hero is everything he should be, and the book is way hot. I had not previously read this author but I immediately read the 2nd book in this series and am eagerly awaiting the 3rd when it's released in January.


Truly, Madly (Lucy Valentine, Bk 1)
Truly, Madly (Lucy Valentine, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Webber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 2/21/2010


I really enjoyed this book-a friend passed it on, and I ended up reading it in a few hours. The romance is light but still satisfying, and I'm looking forward to the secondary love stories with her friends and other great characters that were introduced in this book.


Twilight (Diamond of the Rockies, Bk 4)
Twilight (Diamond of the Rockies, Bk 4)
Author: Kristen Heitzmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 6/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I started off liking this book, but it got so-so towards the end. I should preface by saying that this is only the 2nd Christian fiction I've ever read, so maybe it's just not my thing, but I thought it took too long after the climactic moment for things to start rolling again for the characters. The plot involving the husband was surprising and suspenseful, and the kids in it were adorable, so it wasn't a bad read, but it just seemed to drag at the end.


Underfoot (Bellagio Shoes, Bk 2)
Underfoot (Bellagio Shoes, Bk 2)
Author: Leanne Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 6/27/2009


This was a very cute, quick read. I liked that there was a minimum of angst involved between the h/h-there were problems between them, but there wasn't excessive drama over their circumstances.


1 to 10 of 10