Melody F. (GrandmaMel) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 60 - Page:
100 Hair Raising Little Horror Stories
Review Date: 10/10/2013


Great book with stories from modern authors and old time authors. Nice mix!


After Midnight
After Midnight
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 12/6/2015


Oh my Alice! What a complex and totally awesome girl....you might love her or hate her in the end, but it was a real adventure getting to know her. The plot, with all it twists and turns, keep you turning the pages and burning the midnight oil. Very good read....enjoy!


Bloodlines
Bloodlines
Author: J. N. Williamson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/20/2015


Enjoyable read although I guessed what was going on way before it was announced. Still a good book! I just read way toooo many horror books.


Bone Gods (Black London, Bk 3)
Bone Gods (Black London, Bk 3)
Author: Caitlin Kittredge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/9/2015


This is one of Caitlin Kittredge's Black London series and I found it quite good. It had loads of excitement including magic and mayhem and was quite an enjoyable read. The end was a true surprise and, of course, an opening for her next in the series. This is the first of her's that I have read and I intend to look for more!


The Bride of Casa Dracula (Casa Dracula, Bk 3)
The Bride of Casa Dracula (Casa Dracula, Bk 3)
Author: Marta Acosta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 2/25/2013


Great read.........very funny, smart and entertaining. Best funny horror novel series I have ever read!


The Bridge
The Bridge
Author: John Skipp, Craig Spector
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/9/2015


Quite a read....A real page turner and scary as hell since it actually could happen in real life, at least some of it.


City Infernal (City Infernal, Bk 1)
City Infernal (City Infernal, Bk 1)
Author: Edward Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 12/23/2015


If you believe in Heaven and Hell I'm sure you have a wonderful vision of just what Heaven looks like, but have you ever wondered what Hell looks like and what goes on there? Well, look no further. The author of this book, Edward Lee, gives you an insight into Hell and all it's workings and it will scare the bejusus out of you for sure.! Cassie knew that her sister went to Hell because she committed suicide. Even though Cassie is still among the living, she found a way to get into hell and search for her sister and all Hell breaks loose, as the cliche goes...LOL...Without giving away anymore details, just be assured that you will get a tour of Hell that you will never forget. I couldn't put this book down as I got so caught up in all the action and excitement, so I would hope that you would also get this book and go to Hell for your own frightening tour! Enjoy...the tour bus is about to leave!


Code Red
Code Red
Author: Nancy Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/19/2013


Fantastic medical thriller....she is such a good writer that I ordered every book I could that she wrote!


Coldheart Canyon
Coldheart Canyon
Author: Clive Barker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 9/21/2015


OK...here's the deal. Many years ago I attempted to read one of Clive Barker's books and it was so out there that it was confusing and hard to understand. I couldn't finish it. I said at the time I would never read another one of his books. Well, as you can see I did and what a huge surprise. This book was awesome...it had ghosts, monsters, the occult and supernatural and turned out to be one of the best books I have ever read. I can't believe that the average rating is only 3 stars personally. I am already looking for my next Clive Barker book!


Conversations with the Other Side (Large Print)
Conversations with the Other Side (Large Print)
Author: Sylvia Browne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/9/2015


If you enjoy Teresa Cuputto (Long Island Medium) then you will appreciate this book! Unfortunately I am still one of the unbeliever's and therefore the 3 star rating.


The Dark Cry of the Moon
The Dark Cry of the Moon
Author: Charles L. Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/10/2016


Good werewolf story...kept my attention. Short easy read.


Dark Dance (Blood Opera, Bk 1)
Dark Dance (Blood Opera, Bk 1)
Author: Tanith Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/15/2015


I actually got through reading up to page 50 and thought I'm done with this book...which I hate to do. I like to finish any book I start but this one was just not doing it for me. I pressed on and within 2 more chapters I became hooked and just had to see it through. It is quite a strange story and different than other books I've read but, like I said, I couldn't stop reading it....almost like a spell was upon me! It ended with an opening for a sequel and now I have to read that one to see how the story plays out. I truly enjoyed the book! The question you meed to ask yourself is "Are or aren't they Vampires" meaning the Scarby family?


Dark terrors 4
Dark terrors 4
Author: Stephen, and Sutton, David Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/5/2015


A typical anthology with several different stories more about human terrors of the mind than actual horror....My personal favorite was the very last story which was very creepy. I like to read anthologies in between novels to give me a break from one very long story to shorter ones that I can finish and come back to when I have time. I find when I get caught up in a novel and it has me hooked it is very hard to put down and go do other things! I think you will enjoy this book!


Dawn of the Vampire
Dawn of the Vampire
Author: William Hill
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/23/2015


This book was quite enjoyable and a different type of vampire genre....It was a little slow getting into but then it was hard to put down once all the excitement began. Anyone who loves vampire stories would be very glad to read this book!


Deeper (Tunnels, Bk 2)
Deeper (Tunnels, Bk 2)
Author: Roderick Gordon, Brian WIlliams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/6/2015


Unfortunately I can not rate this book since I didn't read it. It was given to me but I just never read it. Could be because it is a young adult read and wasn't in the horror genre' which is what I prefer. Apparently it is the 2nd book, following the first called Tunnels. It is about a young boy who is searching for his father in a sinister subterranean world.


The Descent
The Descent
Author: Jeff Long
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 7/1/2015


Best book I have read in a very long time!


Dew Claws
Dew Claws
Author: Stephen Gresham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/24/2012


Couldn't get into this book at all. Finally gave up at the end of the second chapter! Bummer!


Donna Rose and the Slug War
Donna Rose and the Slug War
Author: Norma Tadlock Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/16/2008


Wonderful little mystery. Really enjoyable reading. Kept my glued until the end and then I was even surprised at "who dun it!" Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.


Edgewise
Edgewise
Author: Graham Masterton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 10/9/2015


Of course, Masterton is one of my favorite authors, and this book did not disappoint! It was filled with plenty of suspense, edge of the seat horror that was hard to put down. The poor lady in this book went thru hell and back to get her missing kids back....not only hers but 1 of her sisters' kids also. She was braver than I could ever be under the circumstances. If you like horror this one is for you!
Enjoy.....but WARNING.....lock all your doors and windows....oh heck, don't bother cause it won't help at all....you'll see!


Fairy School Dropout (Fairy School, Bk 1)
Fairy School Dropout (Fairy School, Bk 1)
Author: Meredith Badger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/28/2011


Cute story but definitely for children...I thought it was an adult read and I am 62 yrs. old (but I read it anyway.)


1 to 20 of 60 - Page: