Cheryl V. (cherylv) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
50 amazing U.S. puzzles
50 amazing U.S. puzzles
Author: Dan Nevins
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/11/2008


Ready for fun?. . . This book is packed with exciting puzzles, mazes, and activities - a different one for every state in the U.S.A! Some of the puzzles are fast and easy, but others are a challenge, so grab a pencil and enjoy a fun-filled journey! Each state page also includes intersting facts about the meaning of the state's name, it's nickname, or historical events which took place there. Do you know the only 2 states in which the Venus Fly Trap plant grows wild?. . . (I do now! :))


The A-Maze-ing United States
The A-Maze-ing United States
Author: Anthony Tallarico
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/11/2008


Do you want to take an "amazing" trip throughout the United States?. . . Now you can! Just grab a pencil and find your way across America with the maze activities in this book. It's a journey you won't forget - so get going! A great reinforcement or springboard for any state studies curriculum. Do you know what state had more Revolutionary War battles fought there than any other state?. . . (You might be surprised. . . ) So fun - you won't even know you are learning. :)


The Beanie Baby Handbook
The Beanie Baby Handbook
Author: Les Fox, Sue Fox, Jeanette Long
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/10/2009


A fun guide to collectors and a fun look back at the Beanie baby craze. This edition gives 10 year 'estimations' for values in 2008. Each Beanie is identified by photograph with detailed information about each including name, date released, number released, tips, quizes and tips for collectors.


Bears Are Curious (Step-Into-Reading, Step 2)
Bears Are Curious (Step-Into-Reading, Step 2)
Author: Joyce Milton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/15/2009


A great little beginning reader book for those interested in reading more about bears, or for use as a classroom resource. It covers bears of several types, their food, activities in different seasons (hibernation), babies, and what happens when they try to mix with people. I'll be keeping this one on my shelf for years of classroom use.


Big Red Barn
Big Red Barn
Author: Margaret Wise Brown, Felicia Bond (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book for it's realistic pictures (animals are animals - not dressed in silly clothes) and simple story line. Gorgeous illustartions of the farm animals at both day and night. It makes you feel like you are sharing a day on the farm with them. A family favorite!


Body: Make It Work! (The Hands-On Approach To Science)
Review Date: 11/6/2008


The make It Work! SCIENCE series, recipient of the Ameriacan Instsitute of Physics Science Writing Award, offers a new hands-on approach to learning. Includes experiments, model making, science facts and imaginative activities. Develop scientific thinking by making science work. Have you ever wondered what you would see if you turned your body inside out?. . . Do you know what your heart really looks like and how it beats?. . . Or where your lungs are and how much air they hold?. . . This book investigates the fascinating world of the human body, how it works, and what goes on both inside and out. great for homeschoolers, science fair projects or reinforcing school studies at home.


The Call of the Wild, White Fang, and Other Stories (Twentieth-Century Classics)
Review Date: 8/9/2008


GREAT collection of some of his most famous work.


Callanetics Countdown
Callanetics Countdown
Author: Callan Pinckney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/9/2013


'Had this years ago and loved the results after reading & using it. Glad to have one back under my roof again.


Funtastic Frogs Measuring (Funtastic Frogs Activity Books)
Funtastic Frogs Measuring (Funtastic Frogs Activity Books)
Author: Jill Osofsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/9/2008


FUN and entertaining way to explore various kinds of measurements in a hands-on sort of manner.


GEORGE-isms: The 110 Rules George Washington Lived By
Review Date: 7/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book provided daily discussion time for our children as we examined what George Washington had to say when he was 14 and whether or not it still applied today. A fun read that makes you think.


How Do You Hug a Porcupine?
How Do You Hug a Porcupine?
Author: Laurie Isop, Gwen Millward (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/23/2011


"Hugging animals is wonderful! They have soft fur and downy feathers and are so cuddly. But oh. Oh, dear. The porcupine. How do you hug a porcupine?" How do you hug a porcupine is a delightful little book encouraging hugs to a variety of different animals, some common and some not so common. A great little read-a-loud, or early reader with enchanting illustrations and a feel good ending!


I Like Who I Am and It Shows (Building Blocks to Self-Esteem)
I Like Who I Am and It Shows (Building Blocks to Self-Esteem)
Author: Barbara Valdez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/4/2008


"This powerful resource helps young children discover their needs at the "me" stage of development. Children explore their personal capabilities and develop an awareness of their special significance!"
This parent OR teacher resource includes lots of journal opportunities, drawing space, book lists and suggestions for encouraging self-expression and promoting confidence at home or in the classroom. Listed for ages 4-6 it could be used as a consumable book to save for one child alone, or photocopied for classroom use for years and years - GREAT for a Back to School unit or to track growth and changes throughout the year.


It Happened in Washington (It Happened In Series)
It Happened in Washington (It Happened In Series)
Author: James A. Crutchfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2008


Very entertaining and informative selection of stories from the NorthWest.


Jesus, Story of: Pop-up Book
Jesus, Story of: Pop-up Book
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This pop-up book begins with the birth of Jesus and the very first of several scenes of significant times in Christ's life. The final pop-up features Mary seeing the LORD after His ressurection and depicts a touching scene of her at his feet in disbelief and wonder! The text and the pictures, together, bring the Bible to life in this simple, beautifully illustrated story. (Includes His birth w/ visiting shepherds and Magi; Jesus in the temple; fishing with his disciples; healing; blessing the children; triumphal entry; the risen Christ w/ Mary.)


Little Apple: A Book of Thanks
Little Apple: A Book of Thanks
Author: Brigitte Weninger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/16/2014


A GREAT book with lovely illustrations to enjoy during a fall season study in class or sitting on a lap at home! I have several apple books, but when I saw this one I just had to have it. :) Don't ya' love books!?!


Look What I Did With a Leaf (Naturecraft)
Look What I Did With a Leaf (Naturecraft)
Author: Morteza E. Sohi
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/3/2014


Love this book. A great seasonal treasure to use in the classroom or at home!


My 'b' Book (My First Steps to Reading)
My 'b' Book (My First Steps to Reading)
Author: Jane Belk Moncure, Colin King (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/9/2008


My children and I have LOVED these stories to reinforce specific letters, their sounds and the words they begin with! What a fun way to learn more about language. I still use a set today in teaching preschoolers. Each letter has a character (representing that letter)and encounters various adventures involving words beginning with that letter. They are fun, entertaining AND educational! Additional words appear at the end of the book for further investigation.


My First Thanksgiving
My First Thanksgiving
Author: Tomie dePaola
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/9/2008


Charming little book about the first Thanksgiving and why and when we celebrate today.I love the simple and beautiful illustrations.


My Side of the Mountain (Mountain, Bk 1)
My Side of the Mountain (Mountain, Bk 1)
Author: Jean Craighead George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2008


What an adventure! It had us hooked from the very beginning.


The Nutcracker Ballet (Step-Into-Reading, Step 3)
Review Date: 9/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


What a delightful introduction to the Nutcracker Ballet. This story would be ideal for introducing a child to the ballet before attending a performance, as as a reinforcement after the fact. The illustrations beautifully depict the the flow of the original story with colors as bright and fanciful as the ballet I remember as a child!


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: