Marilyn Z. (Marilyn) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 109 - Page:
101 ways to improve your life:  The information you need for decisions you make
Review Date: 1/19/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great advice.

Don't miss the fat-free fruit shake on page 57. This is a favorite with the grandkids...we often add other fruits when they are available. Great substitute for an ice cream shake.


AAA Northwestern Campbook, 2003 Edition
AAA Northwestern Campbook, 2003 Edition
Author: AAA
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/15/2005


Covers Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington and Wyoming.

Comprehensive and accurate information, but call ahead to check on vacancies and costs. Also lists things to do in the area and includes maps for fast reference.


AAA Southeastern Campbook, 2003 Edition
AAA Southeastern Campbook, 2003 Edition
Author: AAA
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/15/2005


This book covers Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

I found the info to be quite comprehensive and accurate when we were camping in that area of the country. In not only lists campgrounds, but the local sights and includes some good maps.


Alfred Portale Simple Pleasures : Home Cooking from the Gotham Bar and Grill's Acclaimed Chef
Review Date: 3/2/2006


They call this Home Cooking? My mama never cooked like this.

My favorite recipes are the desserts...mmmmm.


The Art  Craft of Handmade Paper (Dover Craft Books)
The Art Craft of Handmade Paper (Dover Craft Books)
Author: Vance Studley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/15/2005


From the back cover:

"If you can chop vegetables and boil water, you can make paper. It's easy with this fascinating step-by-step guide to making paper with vegetable fibers. No special tools are required and quality results can be had in a very short time.

Over 160 sharply detailed illustrations introduce professional artists as well as students of all ages and levels of expertise to necessary materials, tools and equipment."

Papermaking is a very easy to learn craft and you will surprise yourself with the results. I like to do this for Christmas & birthday cards.


Barbecue Cooking:The Great Cookbooks Assortment
Review Date: 1/16/2006


The actual title of this book is Barbecue Cooking: New ideas for the great outdoors.

There are recipes here for barbecued foods from around the world including one of our family favorites, Korean Barbecue, or as we knew it in Korea, Bulgoki...fabulous.

The book contains some beautiful pictures with a special section for recipes and breads.


Barney's Adventure Hunt: A Search and Spot Book (Barney's Great Adventure)
Review Date: 4/17/2006


Very nice board book that gives a small child a chance to search for various items.


Beat That! Cookbook
Beat That! Cookbook
Author: Ann Hodgman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/15/2006


A quote from the author on her goals in writing her cookbooks:

"My goal here is to give you the best recipes for the old standars people claim they have the best recipes for (but I really do). The best, I said, not the lowest in fat. I agree that low-fat food is important; it just doesn't have a place in this particular book....If you want a cookbook with the best pancakes you'll ever make - or the best macaroni and cheese, or the best hot chocolate, or Key lime pie or popovers, stick around."

The contents page shows everything from hors d'oeuvres to leftovers to flubber...a homemade modeling compound for children.


The Beatrix Potter Needlepoint Book
The Beatrix Potter Needlepoint Book
Author: Pat Menchini
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 5/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Loaded with various types of craft projects taken from both the landscape watercolors and the whimsical drawings of Beatrix Potter.


Beautiful Things to Make for Baby
Beautiful Things to Make for Baby
Author: Sunset
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book contains instructions for knitting, sewing, crochet and embroidery plus smocking for a little girl's dress. There is a loose pattern sheet included.

I love the Carry-All Bag instructions which is a portable *changing table* that also carries all the things you need when transporting baby. The new mothers I've made these for have told me many times how much they are appreciated.


Best Loved Stories: Told at the National Storytelling Festival
Review Date: 7/6/2006


"Thirty-seven great stories...(from) a wide range of genres, sources, backgrounds, and colloquial voices....An invluable resource for general readers and also for (those) getting started in storytelling for all ages." Booklist

The LC Cataloging-in-Publication Data states: A collection of 37 traditional and adapted folk and fairy tales, original tales, true narratives, and ghost stories....


Better Homes and Gardens : Hearts to Stitch and Craft
Better Homes and Gardens : Hearts to Stitch and Craft
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/6/2006


The book being posted by Marilyn Z. is a hardback. It's full of every type of heart project imaginable.


Between Husbands and Wives
Review Date: 11/11/2005


This little book is full of quotes from various luminaries about husbands and wives. Included are: Mark Twain, Benjamin Franklin, Napolean, Ann Boleyn, Walter Raleigh, Yeats including a section of humorous marriage quotes from Henny Youngman, Erma Bombeck, Betty Davis and many more.

This would make a delightful addition to a basket of gifts for an anniversary or for a married couple any time.


Blizzard's Garden Woodwork: Stylish Outdoor Projects Made Easy
Blizzard's Garden Woodwork: Stylish Outdoor Projects Made Easy
Author: Richard Blizzard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/14/2006


This is ideal for woodworkers of all levels, with easy-to-follow instructions for building a varity of projects including:
Mosaic Herb Planter
Jardiniere
Dovecot
Wildlife Boxes
Barbecue Trolley
Storage Bench
Pergola
...and many more.

With one of my favorites being a hanging plant stand for outside.


Blue Suburbia : Almost a Memoir
Blue Suburbia : Almost a Memoir
Author: Laurie Albanese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is not at all the type of book I enjoy and I can't believe anyone ever bothered to publish it. Speaking of sparse...30 to 50 words or so per page is not my idea of writing a memoir.

I did try to read it and made it about 1/4 of the way. I know there are probably many people who would find it their cup of tea, but that is not me. I also walked out of a movie the other day; maybe my patience is just getting thin.


Bread Machine Cookbook II (Nitty Gritty Cookbooks)
Bread Machine Cookbook II (Nitty Gritty Cookbooks)
Author: Donna Rathmell German
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 3/24/2006
Helpful Score: 2


There must be at least 100 recipes in this book for every kind of bread you can think of...and many you would never have thought of. Each recipe is set up for small, medium and large loaves. Also, recipes for some cakes, meat rolls, foccacia and a rueben roll recipe my kids want me to make any time they come over.

I would never have parted with it except, I need room on my cookbook shelf for more cookbooks!


Calligraphic Lettering
Calligraphic Lettering
Author: Ralph Douglass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/17/2006


Very detailed instructions and many different fonts.


Calligraphy for the Beginner
Calligraphy for the Beginner
Author: Tom Gourdie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/9/2005


This is very basic calligraphy with good information on the tools you will need and the proper lighting, etc.

It is quite indepth and shows various types of designs you can use.


Canning and Preserving
Canning and Preserving
Author: Linda Ferrari
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/16/2006


From the back cover:

Canning & Preserving

Canning & Preserving is a canning book like no other. Filled with all the information you need for safe and easy canning at home, this stunning book will help you fill jar after jar with different fruits and vegetables, jams, jellies, relishes, and chutneys, in addition to oils, vinegars and mustards. Canning & Preserving is also the book for those looking for new and scrumptious ways to utilize their canned items. Containing over 100 recipes for appetizers, main courses, and desserts, Canning & Preserving will show you ways to cook creatively and deliciously with your canned foods.


The Carbohydrate Addict's Diet: The Lifelong Solution to Yo-Yo Dieting
The Carbohydrate Addict's Diet: The Lifelong Solution to Yo-Yo Dieting
Author: Rachael F. Heller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 11/11/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Does this sound like you?
After eating a full breakfast, are you hungrier before it's time for lunch, than you would be if you had only had time for a cup of coffee? Do you have a hard time stopping once you start to eat bread, pasta or sweets? Do you have a tendency to gain weight easily, or if you lose weight, to gain it back again?

If you answered yes to one or more of these questions, you may not be experiencing a lack of will power but rather a physical addiction to carbohydrates - a compelling or recurring craving for starches, snack foods, or sweets. This diet eliminates the cravings and helps you to overcome the yo-yo syndrome - permanently - without deprivation.

Filled with sound advice and effective strategies including wonderful recipies and menu plans, this book will help you eleiminate carb cravings and puts you in control of your eating and your weight..for LIFE!


1 to 20 of 109 - Page: