JENNIFER A. (jena) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 109 - Page:
Absolutely Delicious!: A Collection of My Favorite Recipes
Absolutely Delicious!: A Collection of My Favorite Recipes
Author: Linda Allard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This cookbook has lots of great dishes. There are many simple yet elegant recipes in here. My favorites are the desserts and the breads.


Adrienne (Bron Universe)
Adrienne (Bron Universe)
Author: D. Renee Bagby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/14/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book. The world building was incredible and I felt for all of the characters. There were many twists throughout the book and it was an incredible read. It is a spicy romance. If you are looking for a good fantasy romance, I would strongly recommend this book.


Ain't Myth-Behaving
Ain't Myth-Behaving
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 10/24/2007
Helpful Score: 6


The first story was written in first person from the male leads point of view. It was a nice twist to Ms. MacAlister's usual feminine first person voice. I enjoyed the first story, but I loved the second one.


Alcandian Quest (Alcandians, Bk 1)
Alcandian Quest (Alcandians, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Wine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 8/17/2008


This was a very interesting story full of twists and turns. It starts out on Earth and moves to the planet Alcandor. There is intrigue, suspense, menage, and a story line.


Alcandian Rage (Alcandians, Bk 2)
Alcandian Rage (Alcandians, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Wine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 8/17/2008
Helpful Score: 3


The second story in the series, this book starts where Alcandian Quest ended. Zeva has been imprisoned on Earth and manages to escape and return to her planet of Alcandor. This book has a strong plot as well as sizzling sex scenes.


Alpha
Alpha
Author: Treva Harte
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


The three stories in this book are all related. They take place over an extended period of time. I enjoyed all three of the stories. Watching the original characters over such an extended period of time was very interesting. I was a bit disappointed in the third story. I thought the ending was tied up a bit to neatly, but I did enjoy the stories.


The Angel Craved Lobster (Recipes with Romance, Bk 2)
The Angel Craved Lobster (Recipes with Romance, Bk 2)
Author: Shirley Jump
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a cute addition to her series of recipe related romances.


Aphrodite's Kiss (Aphrodite, Bk 1)
Aphrodite's Kiss (Aphrodite, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 5/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love all of Julie Kenners superheroes books. This was the first in the series and an excellent introduction.(OK Cat's Fancy is slightly related.)


The Bad Boys Guide to the Galaxy (Planet Nerak, Bk 3)
The Bad Boys Guide to the Galaxy (Planet Nerak, Bk 3)
Author: Karen Kelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the third in the Nerak series and it is full of the same humor as the two earlier books. I love the introduction to chocolate. I enjoyed the zany humor, but I did feel as though there was a great deal of carry over from the earlier books. In this story, a healer is sent from Nerak looking for a cure for an ill elder. She heads off to the vacation cottage of Sam as it is out in the woods and she needs access to plants that are not available in the city. There are some new twists and the book was a fun read, but I did not enjoy it as much as the earlier books.


Big Temptation
Big Temptation
Author: Robin L. Rotham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 3/11/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I really enjoyed this story. The characters were well developed, the plot was good and the sex scenes were scorching.


Bodyguard
Bodyguard
Author: Beverly Havlir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was an OK book. There were times when the supposedly brilliant heroine acted in an incredibly stupid way. Other plot points were overly obvious. I was not impressed with the book.


Born Again Virgin
Born Again Virgin
Author: Sami Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This was a pleasant enough book. There was never any real emotional commitment between the heroine and the original man she was hoping to be engaged to. There was chemistry with the handyman. The conflict in the book felt too contrived and only there for the story. There were some cute bits and it was a fun read, but no real emotional depth to the story.


By Appointment Only
By Appointment Only
Author: Janice Maynard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 7/29/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This was a very spicy romance involving three couples in sex therapy. One was engaged, one a young married couple and one that had been married for over 20 years. All were at a crisis point in their relationships. I loved the roles of the secondary characters. It was a racy book which dealt with deeper relationship issues. It was a good read and I recommend it.


Calendar Girls: Flavor of the Month
Calendar Girls: Flavor of the Month
Author: Madison Hayes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/4/2008


This anthology contains three very different stories. They are connected only by a title theme. To my surprise I enjoyed the futuristic one the most. I typically prefer the contemporary more than the futuristic. I enjoyed all three different stories.


California Cowboy
California Cowboy
Author: Maggie Casper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very enjoyable read. Yes, it had a virgin heroine, but the story was enjoyable and the sex scenes were plentiful and hot. The family relationships and secondary characters were well developed. I will most likely re-read before the next book in the series is released.


Candid Camera (Were Watching, Bk 1)
Candid Camera (Were Watching, Bk 1)
Author: Susie Charles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 12/7/2008


This is the first book in a series dealing with a were family that runs an investigative agency. The book starts off at a New Year's Eve Party where the two protagonists meet for the first time. Randy, the werewolf knows he has found his mate, but she leaves before they do more than kiss. He finds her again when sent on a protective mission after she has been attacked. As she is a photographer, there is a chance that she took a photo someone does not want to be printed. Trials, tribulations... happy ending.


Caught By Cupid: Be Mine / Overhead / Forever Valentine
Review Date: 6/22/2008


This is an excellent anthology. All three stories are very different, but very good. One is a paranormal vampire story, one is a friends to lovers story which contains a ménage and one is much harder for me to describe in a sentence. In the first story, the hero was formerly engaged to the heroine's best friend. After the best friend breaks up with the hero, he and the heroine discover their feelings are more than friendship and the relationship grows from there. All three stories involve Valentine's Day and all are different enough that they are an enjoyable grouping of stories.


The Club
The Club
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/4/2007
Helpful Score: 10


This is not by the same Lora Leigh as the autor of the Bound Hearts books You can get the details on her webiste.

I just did not want anyone else to be disapointed.


The Daughters Grimm
The Daughters Grimm
Author: Minda Webber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 8/16/2008


I enjoyed the style of the book and the pop culture references, but unfortunately I did not care for either of the heroines.


A Desperate Longing
A Desperate Longing
Author: Brenda Williamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is a dark book that deals in depth with the after effects of a rape victim. There are nightmares, memories and flashbacks. This is not a story for the faint of heart. I also wondered why the heroine kept referring to the man as a serial rapist when there were apparently no one else abducted/raped by him until the end of the book. It was an OK romantic suspense book with a few holes. It is definitely not the sort of book you want to read over and over.


1 to 20 of 109 - Page: