Elizabeth A. (eliz12) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 5/8/2007


A very good writer, but too self-indulgent for me (this is only one of his autobiographies).


Any Bitter Thing
Any Bitter Thing
Author: Monica Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 1/11/2010


Not unlike a soap opera. Good for a quick diversion, but hardly satisfying reading.


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 546
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a spectacular book, and I'm not a fan of mysteries. Atkinson not only writes well, she provides readers with a compelling, satisfying story.


The Dew Breaker
The Dew Breaker
Author: Edwidge Danticat
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/23/2007


Wonderful writer, compelling story. I loved listening to this.


Enter Whining
Enter Whining
Author: Fran Drescher
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/7/2007


Dreadful book.


Enter Whining
Enter Whining
Author: Fran Drescher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/3/2009


Dreadful, absolutely dreadful.


Fault Lines
Fault Lines
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 4/30/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Am I the only one who didn't enjoy this book? Please tell me I'm not alone!
Trite story, forgettable characters, ridiculous plot twists and turns. I couldn't wait for one of the main characters to get kicked off. Worse than a trip to the dentist.


Fix-It and Forget-It Cookbook : Feasting with Your Slow Cooker
Review Date: 5/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Filled with slow cooker recipes that are easy and tasty.


The Life and Cuisine of Elvis Presley
The Life and Cuisine of Elvis Presley
Author: David Adler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


How can you live without this important text (from England, no less) about the King and his food? A must-have for any thinking human being. With plenty of art and recipes.


Lily Dale: The True Story of the Town that talks to the Dead
Lily Dale: The True Story of the Town that talks to the Dead
Author: Christine Wicker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/6/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I wanted to like this book, but it just did not work for me. I didn't appreciate the fact that the author constantly inserted herself into the text. This would have been much more compelling if she had simply written about the colorful collection of characters there.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book until about 3/4 of the way through. Then it all fell apart for me, becoming rather trite and uninteresting. Many people love this story, and the author is certainly talented, but it just didn't work for me.


Once Upon A Day
Once Upon A Day
Author: Lisa Tucker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 5/3/2007


This book received many positive reviews, but it wasn't for me (admittedly, I prefer nonfiction).


Palestine : Peace Not Apartheid (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Palestine : Peace Not Apartheid (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Jimmy Carter
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/17/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Carter is painfully ignorant of real politics in the Middle East. Unfortunately, he's also arrogant and pontificates endlessly in this dreary text.
Many books out there offer a balanced account of troubles in the Middle East and provide much to consider about possibilities for peace. This is not one of them.


Pobby and Dingan
Pobby and Dingan
Author: Ben Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/23/2007
Helpful Score: 2


My favorite book in the world. Tender, beautiful, brilliantly written. I already own four copies or I would request this one.


Possession
Possession
Author: A. S. Byatt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Absolutely extraordinary. One of the best books I've ever read. Intelligent, compelling, unforgettable.


A Question of Evidence: The Casebook of Great Forensic Controversies, from Napoleon to O.J.
Review Date: 4/26/2007


Unforgettable and tragic. If you're an armchair detective, this is for you.


The Way the Crow Flies
The Way the Crow Flies
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 2/16/2009
Helpful Score: 4


MacDonald is a wonderful writer, the ending is something you would not expect, characters are well-developed and the plot is intriguing.
My only complaint: this book required - and did not receive - a good edit. It held me for a long time, but then moved on to a new phase in the protagonist's life and I just didn't care. I found myself skipping page after page after page - not exactly a good sign.


The World to Come
The World to Come
Author: Dara Horn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Dara Horn is a great writer, and I loved much of this book. Unfortunately, the final chapter simply didn't work for me and seemed rather tacked onto the book, which is why I gave it three stars only. Someone else may be mesmerized by the ending, though.


The Year of Fog
The Year of Fog
Author: Michelle Richmond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 398
Review Date: 10/25/2008
Helpful Score: 9


This was not, admittedly, my kind of book. I read about half of it, which was compelling enough (how can you NOT wonder what happens to a child who disappears?) and moderately well written. But then I got tired of the plot and the characters, none of whom I really liked. The ending was downright ridiculous.


1 to 19 of 19