Joan S. (Yoni) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 276 - Page:
100 Strokes of the Brush Before Bed (Black Cat)
Review Date: 10/29/2005


I received...and read...this book yesterday! Finished in one sitting. The prose is oddly beautiful, which I did not expect.


250 Things You Can Do to Make Your Cat Adore You
250 Things You Can Do to Make Your Cat Adore You
Author: Ingrid Newkirk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/2/2005


A great cat-lover's book.


5 People Who Died During Sex and 100 Other Terribly Tasteless Lists
5 People Who Died During Sex and 100 Other Terribly Tasteless Lists
Author: Karl Shaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/2/2011


I am passing on the fun...this book is interesting, funny, and gross at times. Friends love to read this when they are visiting. Hilarious stuff!


The Absence of Nectar
The Absence of Nectar
Author: Kathy Hepinstall
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 9/23/2006


A real page turner. I loved this book.


Addicted
Addicted
Author: Zane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 4/20/2006


Not my usual type of reading, but enjoyable enough. I like her writing style but I don't think I will read anymore of her books.


After the Quake : Stories (Vintage International)
After the Quake : Stories (Vintage International)
Author: Haruki Murakami
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/28/2012


Classic Murakami. Can't go wrong! Love this man.


The Age of Miracles
The Age of Miracles
Author: Karen Thompson Walker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 9/12/2014


This is a very sad and yet beautiful book. Yes, it moves slowly. Yes, things remain unexplained. But the characters are realistic, the writing is descriptive. In some ways it is a coming of age story and in that sense it is well done. I think the fact that nothing ever happened, as other readers have complained, made it more real for me. Just day to day life in the voice of a young teen on a dying planet.


The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
Author: Michael Chabon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 417
Review Date: 5/1/2015


This is a fabulous, rich book with many layers. It was so different and interesting. I had read some reviews where people found it boring. Stick with it, you will be glad you did.


Amazing Dope Tales
Amazing Dope Tales
Author: Stephen Gaskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/3/2010


Wasn't as fun as I thought it would be. Still, it made me want to smoke a joint, drop a tab of acid, and listen to the Grateful Dead! Also made me see how this era could never repeat itself...


American Dervish
American Dervish
Author: Ayad Akhtar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/17/2017


This is a book with heart. It is not just a coming of age story...it is about love, hate, friendship, religion, prejudice, betrayal, and so much more. It is rich with characters that are easily relatable. I highly recommend this one.


American Pastoral
American Pastoral
Author: Philip Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/17/2007


An amazing multi-layered book. Very complex,not an easy read. Found it difficult at first but once I got into it I could not put it down. Intense, sad, and at times very ugly. Highly recommend if you are looking for a book that is just the opposite of mindless!


The American Woman in the Chinese Hat
The American Woman in the Chinese Hat
Author: Carole Maso
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/26/2009


A beautiful, sad, erotic, exotic book. It is a surreal story of a woman running away from her lost lover, and slowly dissolving into madness. Riveting.


Amnesia Moon
Amnesia Moon
Author: Jonathan Lethem
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/23/2010


I enjoy this very clever and creative author. A story of post-apocalyptic America that keeps you guessing from beginning to end. Very cool book.


Among Grizzlies : Living with Wild Bears in Alaska
Among Grizzlies : Living with Wild Bears in Alaska
Author: Timothy Treadwell, Jewel Palovak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Although what Treadwell did was crazy, I totally relate to him. If you do too, then you will appreciate the warmth and beauty of this book, made even more poignant by his death. He always knew the danger that he was facing. This book was a lovely insight into the lives of grizzlies.


An Artist of the Floating World (Vintage International)
An Artist of the Floating World (Vintage International)
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/30/2014


Not my favorite Ishiguro, but a good book. Interesting character study. I didn't like any of the characters except Ono,the protagonist, and a couple of peripheral people. His daughters and grandson annoyed me! Interesting post WWII story.


Angel CatBird Volume 1
Angel CatBird Volume 1
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/24/2017


Honestly - I only requested this book because the author is Margaret Atwood. I didn't know it was a graphic novel! That said, if you aren't a fan of graphic novels, don't bother. However, I am a fan so I was pleasantly surprised. If you are a fan AND a cat lover, even better! The story is interspersed with little factoids about cats and a plea to keep your cats safely indoors. I am both fan and cat lover. Angel CatBird is about a bunch of half-cats (once you read it you will understand)....our hero is a person-cat-owl thing. The art is gorgeous, the story is fun, the villains are evil and the half-cats are very cool. I am looking forward to the second volume.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 5/13/2014


I loved this book. Dreadfully sad, and yet McCourt's humor sustains you throughout. What an amazing life he led.


Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family Secret
Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family Secret
Author: Steve Luxenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/28/2016
Helpful Score: 1


There is quite a story here. This book is part memoir, part investigation, part history. The memoir is really a biography of the author's mother, and the sister that he didn't know existed until after his mother died. There is a lot of history on mental illness and subsequent hospitalization, as well as the treatment of people with developmental disabilities. The book is long and some may find it drawn out, but all in all it was very good and interesting.


Anonymous Rex: A Detective Story
Anonymous Rex: A Detective Story
Author: Eric Garcia
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/20/2005


Very clever, lots of fun to read. Who would've thought dinosaurs would be sexy? Enjoyed this immensely!


Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Author: Nick Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/30/2007


An amazing memoir. Sad, funny at times, very poignant. Nick Flynn writes beautifully about a harrowing subject, and never feels sorry for himself in spite of his heartaches.


1 to 20 of 276 - Page: