Karen S. (MKSbooklady) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 381 - Page:
11/22/63 (Large Print)
11/22/63 (Large Print)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/21/2016


I haven't read a Stephen King book in quite a while. I had pretty much given up, as it were. They were getting too, I'm not sure what. But this one is FABULOUS. Don't be put off by the over 800 pages-it goes by quickly. I was amazed at how much I liked this book. Who wouldn't want to go back in time and right a wrong? But what happens then? So well done. The Kennedy assassination has always interested me. Did Oswald really act alone? Was he a Lone Gunman? King's theories are fascinating-I haven't see the miniseries, but might just to see how they handled it. Great book-give it a read!


50 Fun and Easy Brain-Based Activities for Young Learners
50 Fun and Easy Brain-Based Activities for Young Learners
Author: Ellen Booth Church
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/21/2011


Going to use this in my preschool class.


52 Programs for Preschoolers: The Librarian's Year-Round Planner
52 Programs for Preschoolers: The Librarian's Year-Round Planner
Author: Diane Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/8/2010


lots of good ideas.


Afterimage: A Novel
Afterimage: A Novel
Author: Helen Humphreys
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/28/2012


Different-interesting, reads quick.


All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 8/17/2015


The stories of two children in Europe during WWII-one a young blind girl, and the other a German boy-told separately, but they do eventually come together. Haunting is the best word I can come up with.


All the Names
All the Names
Author: Josť Saramago, Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 2/3/2010


Had a very hard time reading this, the style was difficult for me to follow. Other reviewers loved this book, I can't say that I did.


The Amber Keeper
The Amber Keeper
Author: Freda Lightfoot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/12/2016


Too much of a 'Romance Novel' feel to this book for me. While the plot is interesting, I found much of the dialogue forced, the ending was not that much of a surprise.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 7/23/2008


A 'prequel' to the DaVanci Code- a little over the top, but an interesting read, I read it on the beach. I think a movie is being made based on the book, maybe with Tom Hanks?


The Angel's Game (Cemetery of Forgotten Books, Bk 2)
The Angel's Game (Cemetery of Forgotten Books, Bk 2)
Author: Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 6/4/2013


Another fascinating book by Mr. Zafon-a great story told by a great story teller.


The Apple: Crimson Petal Stories
The Apple: Crimson Petal Stories
Author: Michel Faber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/2/2012


Not bad for short stories.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 10/27/2015


For the first time in a long time, I actually got a little misty eyed at the end of this book. I liked that the dog is the narrator-he is probably the most likable character in the book. This was a quick read-and even though I cried a little at the end, I enjoyed it.


As Husbands Go
As Husbands Go
Author: Susan Isaacs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/25/2012


Enjoyed it-what happens when you you find out not only is your husband dead, u found murdered in a call girls apartment??? Not sure if I would have gone to all the trouble that Susie Gersten does to find her husband's killer(considering where he was found)-but it moved quickly and kept my interest.


Astray
Astray
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/30/2014


Interesting, different. Not my favorite of Emma Donoghue's.


At Risk (Liz Carlyle, Bk 1)
At Risk (Liz Carlyle, Bk 1)
Author: Stella Rimington
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/26/2011


Well written, fast paced story-loved the heroine. Looking forward to reading the next in the series. Ms. Rimington knows what she writes about.


Await Your Reply
Await Your Reply
Author: Dan Chaon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 11/1/2014


Started off better than it ended up. Interesting, though how the stories work out.


The Baby Beebee Bird
The Baby Beebee Bird
Author: Diane Redfield Massie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/22/2011


plan to use this in my preschool class.


Back When We Were Grownups
Back When We Were Grownups
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 7/2/2011


I felt this story was quite sad, really. Rebecca Davitch realizes that maybe she is living the wrong life-but how to change it? Set in Baltimore, at the end of the 20th century, she is a woman who tries to please everyone, especially her family. When she starts to have doubts about the way her life has gone,---- *SPOILER ALERT* ---- she tracks down an old 'friend' to see if she did in fact make a mistake way back when. I think all, or at least most, 'middle-aged' women will identify with her- what if I'd done it differently?? Lots of characters,lots of family turmoil,a quick read.


Backseat Saints
Backseat Saints
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 11/9/2013


Beautiful and tragic story of Rose Mae/Ro/Ivy. Left by her mother, left her father, and finally her abusive husband. Amazing story of what a mother will do for/do to her child.


The Baker's Daughter
The Baker's Daughter
Author: Sarah McCoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/2/2015


In some ways, two different stories. I enjoyed the Germany parts more, but still a good read.


A Banquet of Consequences (Inspector Lynley, Bk 19)
A Banquet of Consequences (Inspector Lynley, Bk 19)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/19/2016


I found this book to be the best of hers I've read since 'What Came Before He Shot Her'. Lots of characters, as usual, several twists and turns, as usual. I always like the back and forth between Lynley and Havers. I will say the ending caught me a little by surprise. It's nice to have Elizabeth George back.


1 to 20 of 381 - Page: