Marsha R. (HomeschoolMama) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 69 - Page:
101 Thoughts for Becoming the Real You
Review Date: 2/7/2006


Each page has an encouraging thought to help one think positive thoughts. IF you have a tendency to do negative self-talk this book will give you some ideas for positive substitutes!


Accidental Hero (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1728)
Accidental Hero (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1728)
Author: Loralee Lillibridge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/25/2006


Combine a scarred cowboy with his former love, who feels that he abandoned her for rodeo life and you've got conflict, desire, and lots of emotional stuff going on. Great western setting and some really authentic characters make this a "must-read"!


An Incomplete Education, Revised Edition
An Incomplete Education, Revised Edition
Author: Judy Jones, William Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/25/2006


How to discover what you don't know about a lot of subjects. I don't believe they know all they know, but it's a thought-provoking book anyway.


Basic College Math Text Workbook
Basic College Math Text Workbook
Author: Arnold S. Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/25/2006


This is a text/workbook with all the basics. Get your homeschooler ready for college or supplement your schooled child. Brush up on the basics yourself. This book is a good resource for any of the above.


The Beekeeper's Daughter (Harlequin Superromance, No 1295)
The Beekeeper's Daughter (Harlequin Superromance, No 1295)
Author: Janice Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/1/2006


Lots of subplots going on in this book - - Who is setting the fires around the valley? What is Annie's secret? And how did Will get that scar on his face? What will Annie do when her birth daughter seeks her out? And will Will ever be able to reconcile the terrible accident that killed two of his friends? Annie and Will open up to each other as they work side-by-side in Annie's father's apiary business. But is that enough to build a relationship on? And will Will stay long enough to find out?


Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book
Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/3/2006


This cookbook has many, many good recipes and tips, charts, photos, how-tos. I use this cookbook a lot - - great recipes and great resource.


Chinese Cooking
Chinese Cooking
Author: Wang Yanrong
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/17/2006


This book has some delicious recipes in it and yummy pictures to whet your appetite! These are authentic Chinese recipes but with easy to get ingredients. There are appendices in the back with weights and measures, nutritional charts and cholesterol counts. Very comprehensive.


Complete Writing Lessons for the Middle Grades (Kids' Stuff)
Complete Writing Lessons for the Middle Grades (Kids' Stuff)
Author: Marjorie Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I used this book successfully to teach homeschool writing workshops and as story starters for my own kids. Fun!


Creative Parenting
Review Date: 12/30/2006


this is a wonderful resource to help parents learn a gentle attachment style of parenting that produces loving caring adults.


The Customer Driven Company: Moving from Talk to Action
The Customer Driven Company: Moving from Talk to Action
Author: Richard C. Whiteley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/5/2006


Rated by Fortune Magazine as one of the best management books in 1991, this business classic and bestseller is recognized as the Bible of Customer Service. This book went right along with my Fundamentals of Management class in college - - I picked it up at a garage sale - - lots of good suggestions for the entrepeneur or career business manager.


The Distinguished Guest
The Distinguished Guest
Author: Sue Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/13/2006


It took a while for me to get "into" this book but then I had to see how Lily's memories differed from her sons - - I think Alan understood his mother better by the end of this book, I just wish it had happened sooner.


False Pretenses
False Pretenses
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 8/30/2006


Who killed Elizabeth Carleton's husband? and who is the stranger who testifies on her behalf, when she is charged with the murder? What does he want? Elizabeth has never seen him before in her life. How can she go from being a concert pianist to the head of a financial empire? Two other strangers appear in Elizabeth's life. Which of them can she trust?


A Father's Vow (Hope Springs, Bk 2) (Harlequin Superromance, No 807)
Review Date: 3/9/2006


A little mystery, a little romance, some major conflict, an elderly lady who can't talk, and a cute little boy - - I love Peg Sutherland, her characters are lifelike and you really feel like you know them. The setting is small-town, one of my favorites. This is a really good story, I couldn't put it down!


Finding Hope (Love Inspired, No 216)
Finding Hope (Love Inspired, No 216)
Author: Brenda Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/29/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Great story! Very unique! The man without a heart and the girl who is all heart. Do opposites attract? Evidently.


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2508
Review Date: 8/13/2006


I didn't expect to enjoy this book - it's kind of unbelievable but draws you in - it's a page turner - I had to keep reading to see where the author was going with this!


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 284
Review Date: 4/22/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Blending new widow-hood, grieving, and finding a way to live, this novel manages to remain lighthearted (even making me laugh out loud at times) while dealing with some very tough issues. I was hooked from the first page, and couldn't put this book down - - Sophie eats Oreos in bed, and ODs on frozen waffles, probably the exact thing I would do in her situation - - widowed in her thirties, she goes to grief counseling, loses her job when she can't keep her mind on her work, becomes a Big Sister, and finds that others need her, providing a reason to get out of bed each day. This book ends good, though not in the way you might expect. PS - There is romance, too!


Grace Notes
Grace Notes
Author: Charlotte Vale Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/22/2007


Grace Loring is a successful author, and single mother, but her past holds an abusive marriage which she fled, to find safety with her brother. Now, a reader writes to her seeking advice about her abusive marriage, and Grace is happy to support her in doing what she needs to do to escape. After several weeks of intensive e-mailing, the letters stop and Grace is overwhelmed with fear for her correspondent. when the e-mails resume, something seems weird, but Grace cannot decide just what it is. Her brother and her significant other, along with her daughter, advise her to be wary, but Grace wants to help in any way she can. Who is her correspondent and why is she writing such weird stuff? You have to read this book!!!


Her Dearest Sin (Sinclair Brides, Bk 3) (Harlequin Historical, No 607)
Review Date: 4/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great historical! Sebastian Sinclair seeks to rescue a brave and beautiful Spanish noblewoman - held prisoner to another mans' dangerous desires! Book 3 of a trilogy, but a stand-alone story, too. (The Sinclair Brides)


I Can Read About Horses
I Can Read About Horses
Author: Richard Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/9/2006


This is a nice children's book with basic information about horses, line drawings of horses doing many different things, and many different kinds of horses. The title kind of says it; this is an easy reader. Great for the horse lover kid.


I Wont Leave You (Lifelines)
I Wont Leave You (Lifelines)
Author: Victoria M. Althoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/18/2006


This book highlights the difficulty teens can have prioritizing their activities, but also that adults may have similar difficulties. Mackenzie is in high school and is flattered that the coolest young female teacher has asked her to babysit for her 4 year old daughter. But Mackenzie discovers that her teacher isn't quite as cool in the housekeeping and mothering departments. What about the bruises on little Amanda's head, and why is she so scared to be left in her room with the door shut? Great talking points exist in this book, if you read it, as well as your teen.


1 to 20 of 69 - Page: