Paula H. (littlestar) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Bastard Out of Carolina
Bastard Out of Carolina
Author: Dorothy Allison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 12/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


One of my favorite books; a very touching story about a young girl suffering through abuse and poverty. This is very well written and hard to put down. I HIGHLY recommend it.


Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 711
Review Date: 12/20/2007


Hilarious book! I couldn't put it down and if you're like most American women, you will easily relate to Bridget Jones.


The Complete Tightwad  Gazette
The Complete Tightwad Gazette
Author: Amy Dacyczyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 12/20/2007
Helpful Score: 5


The BEST book to read if you're interested in saving money. Amy Dacyczyn gives you tips and tricks that you haven't heard anywhere else. I love the whole series of the Tightwad Gazette. I refer to them often. Such an awesome book!


Dear Exile : The True Story of Two Friends Separated (for a Year) by an Ocean
Review Date: 12/20/2007


Endearing book and an easy read.


Disgrace
Disgrace
Author: J. M. Coetzee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 5/17/2012


Beautiful book! I loved every bit of it.


Don't Dump the Dog: Outrageous Stories and Simple Solutions to Your Worst Dog Behavior Problems
Review Date: 5/13/2012


Book was okay. Would have been better if not for the constant snarky comments by the author.


FAHRENHEIT 451
FAHRENHEIT 451
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/20/2007


This book will make you THINK! If you are even slightly rebellious or skeptical by nature, you will relate to this book. A great book that's easy to read.


Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)
Author: Mindy Kaling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 5/8/2012


Very disappointing; redundant, boring and whiny.


Is It Just Me? Or Is It Nuts Out There?
Is It Just Me? Or Is It Nuts Out There?
Author: Whoopi Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/13/2012


I expected this book to be much funnier than it was. Very disappointing.


Jewish as a Second Language
Jewish as a Second Language
Author: Molly Katz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/13/2012


Hilarious! I loved it.


Language Myths
Language Myths
Author: Laurie Bauer (Editor), Peter Trudgill (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/13/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderful book filled with short articles regarding language. Very interesting subject matter and very nicely put together.


My Ishmael
My Ishmael
Author: Daniel Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 5/17/2012


The original Ishmael is much much better than My Ishmael. The character "Julie" is very unlikeable and makes a ridiculously unrealistic trip. Not a great book.


Out of This Furnace
Out of This Furnace
Author: Thomas Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/26/2007


Awesome book! This story takes you in to the personal world on new immigrants at the turn of the last century. It's a great read and hard to put down.


Rubyfruit Jungle
Rubyfruit Jungle
Author: Rita Mae Brown
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Probably the BEST book I've ever read. You won't be able to put this down. If you've ever felt like you didn't belong, this is something you will like. A wonderful story!


Things Fall Apart
Things Fall Apart
Author: Chinua Achebe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/12/2012


Maybe a little overrated in my opinion. It was a quick, easy read but I kept expecting something significant to happen.


White Oleander
White Oleander
Author: Janet Fitch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 333
Review Date: 8/18/2009


Wonderful book. Well written heartbreaking but realistic story.


1 to 16 of 16