Tim H. (Timbuktu126) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 397 - Page:
Accessory to Murder (Brenda Midnight, Bk 2)
Accessory to Murder (Brenda Midnight, Bk 2)
Author: Barbara Jaye Wilson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/4/2018


This is an older series that I just came across and I like it a lot. Definitely not predictable.


Accessory to Murder (Josie Marcus, Mystery Shopper, Bk 3)
Accessory to Murder (Josie Marcus, Mystery Shopper, Bk 3)
Author: Elaine Viets
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 10/21/2012


I found this book to be a bit of a letdown. I LOVE Elaine Viets (especially her Dead End Jobs series), but this one just seemed to drag on. There were plenty of suspects and a pretty decent plot, but there seemed to be too many wasted pages (pages with parts that don't advance the plot and don't really need to be in there). I was rather disappointed.


The Actor's Guide to Adultery (Jarrod Jarvis, Bk 2)
The Actor's Guide to Adultery (Jarrod Jarvis, Bk 2)
Author: Rick Copp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/1/2013


I like this series a lot. I wish he'd written more than just the three titles in it. I love the little pop culture/TV references and the "behind the scenes" info about shooting a TV show or movie. The main character is very likable and the plot is fast paced. There is ALWAYS something going on. It's also got a few little twists toward the end. Very good book !


The Actor's Guide to Murder (Jarrod Jarvis, Bk 1)
The Actor's Guide to Murder (Jarrod Jarvis, Bk 1)
Author: Rick Copp
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/13/2012


AWESOME book!!!! Great plot, believable characters, no wasted pages!!!! So good. I did have an idea about who the killer was, but even so, when all was explained, I was more than satisfied. Can't wait to read the other two in this series!


All Dressed Up and No Place to Haunt (Haunted Vintage, Bk 2)
All Dressed Up and No Place to Haunt (Haunted Vintage, Bk 2)
Author: Rose Pressey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/18/2016


A quick read, though not as good as the first one in the series.


All Fudged Up (Candy-Coated, Bk 1)
All Fudged Up (Candy-Coated, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Coco
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/4/2018


I did not really care for this book. I found the main character to be a tad annoying and there were quite a few sections that were very dull. I did not feel there was much investigating or even information that pertains to the mystery until the last quarter of the book. I wound up skimming a lot just to get to the end. No going to try another in this series.


All Signs Point to Murder
All Signs Point to Murder
Author: Kat Goldring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/7/2018


This book was OK- the parts with her "visions" were a bit confusing and I quickly figured out who the culprit was. Not sure I'd read another in this series.


The Angel and the Jabberwocky Murders (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 6)
The Angel and the Jabberwocky Murders (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 6)
Author: Mignon F. Ballard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/27/2017


Good story- hard to figure out whodunnit, which I always like!


The Angel Whispered Danger (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 4)
The Angel Whispered Danger (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 4)
Author: Mignon F. Ballard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/4/2012


I liked this book a lot. Good plot and hard to predict too. I realize it is part of the Augusta Goodnight series (this is the first I have read in the series), but the story really could have worked even without the angel and her little helper.


Animal Farm
Animal Farm
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1183
Review Date: 3/16/2014


Read this way back in junior high and just reread it again. Very interesting the way that farm gets transformed "for the better".


Antiques Roadkill (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 1)
Antiques Roadkill (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Allan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 8/11/2014


I agree with many of the previous reviews. There was something about this book that kind of put me off. But, that said, I did enjoy the mystery plot and will give the second one in the series a shot.


An Appetite for Murder (Key West Food Critic, Bk 1)
An Appetite for Murder (Key West Food Critic, Bk 1)
Author: Lucy Burdette
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 7/1/2015


decent overall- the first half of the book was kind of slow (pretty much all that happened was the murder and the police suspecting her!), but the second half was a lot better (more sleuthing,etc). There was a good twist at the end that I didn't see coming.

*although I get that it's a "food" mystery, I felt there was Too Much description of food in it


Arson and Old Lace (Far Wychwood, Bk 1)
Arson and Old Lace (Far Wychwood, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Harwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 12/27/2015


Great book- a bit too long due to too many pages about her daughter,etc, but a very good mystery with lots of questions...and every little tidbit gets neatly tied up in the end!


Assaulted Pretzel (Amish Mystery, Bk 2)
Assaulted Pretzel (Amish Mystery, Bk 2)
Author: Laura Bradford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/11/2017


This is a great series! I love the first book and this one was equally enjoyable. Great ending!


At Witt's End (Sadie Witt, Bk 1)
At Witt's End (Sadie Witt, Bk 1)
Author: Beth Solheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/25/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I did not like this book. The blurb on the back is a tad misleading (at least the way I took it) and I found that I just did not care about these characters at all. It's mainly about ghosts and them trying to get to the afterworld. And the mystery plot is barely a mystery at all. You pretty much know from early on who the murderer is. One of my least favorite books.


The Azalea Assault (Garden Society, Bk 1)
The Azalea Assault (Garden Society, Bk 1)
Author: Alyse Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/3/2015


Overall I liked it. It was kind of like an old fashioned whodunit but a more modern version. There were a lot of potential suspects and people doing things they shouldn't have been doing and secrets that were exposed. I will definitely read the next book in this series.


A Basket of Trouble (Claire Hanover, Bk 3)
A Basket of Trouble (Claire Hanover, Bk 3)
Author: Beth Groundwater
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/18/2018


Enjoyable mystery with lots of potential suspects and motives. I wasn't thrilled with the ending, but other than that it was good.


Be Careful What You Witch For (Family Fortune, Bk 2)
Be Careful What You Witch For (Family Fortune, Bk 2)
Author: Dawn Eastman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 7/13/2018


Good story with lots of motives that are uncovered along the way.


Bead on Trouble (Kitzi Camden, Bk 1)
Bead on Trouble (Kitzi Camden, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Burnett Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 7/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. The description of the camp and the beading activities taking place really lured me in. The mystery was a good one and, although I wasn't thrilled by the culprit/motice, kept me guessing. I will definitely get the next one in the series.


Beaglemania
Beaglemania
Author: Linda O. Johnston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/20/2015


I like Johnston's other series and since I am active in animal rescue myself, I thought I would love this book. But, I didn't. I just had a hard time getting into it for some reason. There are a few facts, bits of info that are repeated a handful of times which was annoying and the first half of the book doesn't really have much in the way of sleuthing or suspects. The second half was better and I did want to know who the culprit was, but when his/her ID was revealed, I realized that was who I thought it was early on- no surprises to make me go WOW. Not a bad book, but not great either. Not sure if I will read book two in this series.


1 to 20 of 397 - Page: