Shanna U. (therubycanary) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 45 - Page:
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Review Date: 2/11/2014


Sherman Alexie has quickly become my favorite author. I didn't discover him until last year, but what amazing, human, visceral, beautiful, and truly American stories.


Adam's Navel
Adam's Navel
Author: Stephen Jay
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/20/2005


I really enjoyed this small book of science essays. From fashion on south pacific islands, to what Adam's navel may or may not say about the origins of the earth, to the vestigil sources of the clitoris, this is a great read and packs a lot of information into a small space.


Almost Adam
Almost Adam
Author: Petru Popescu
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 11/28/2005
Helpful Score: 2


I'm a big anthropology fan and loved this book. A lost link between Greater Apes and man is found in Africa by a couple of research scientist. The adventure starts from there.


Annie John
Annie John
Author: Jamaica Kincaid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/26/2005


Jamaica Kincaid is one of my favorite authors, and this short book is no disappointment. Her writting is brief, but beautiful and always leaving me thinking and looking for more by her.


The Awakening
The Awakening
Author: Kate Chopin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 11/26/2005
Helpful Score: 3


I'm not a huge fan of required reading, but this was one of my favorites. The original women's fiction it looks at one woman's life and how she feels trapped in her times, and the dark way that she deals with it.


Basket Case
Basket Case
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 298
Review Date: 3/7/2006


This was my first Hiaasen, and I truely enjoyed it. Laughing all the way through, with great political tidbits, musical references, and naughty jokes.


Bodies of Water: Short Fiction
Bodies of Water: Short Fiction
Author: Rosanne Cash, Disney Pr Hyperion
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Roseanne Cash is usually known as a songwriter, and of course and Jonny Cash's daughter, but here she puts her ability with words into written form. Stories about women, and a believe at least one seemed very much about her.


The Body Artist
The Body Artist
Author: Don DeLillo
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was interesting, although I wouldn't call it the "profoundly moving" novel that the cover review claims. Lauren was a very interesting character though.


The City of Yes
The City of Yes
Author: Peter Oliva, Peter Oliva
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great look at the quirks and uncomfortable moments of living and working in another country, especially a country like Japan where gaijin, or "outside people", will never really fit in.

I learned a lot of new Japanese vocabulary and cultural odds and ends while reading this.


Coffee Will Make You Black
Coffee Will Make You Black
Author: A Sinclair, April Sinclair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 11/26/2005


This is a great book. I recommend it to anyone. The characters are real, the text is descriptive and engaging, and you walk away glad you were introduced to these people.


The Coming Storm (Heirs of Montana, Bk 2)
The Coming Storm (Heirs of Montana, Bk 2)
Author: Tracie Peterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/2/2005


Sent on accident. Reposting so intended person can claim it.


The Crimson Petal and the White
The Crimson Petal and the White
Author: Michel Faber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 345
Review Date: 11/26/2005


Overall, I enjoyed this book, but I think it needed the advice of Dorothy Allison in that most authors should chop off the last fifty to hundred pages they actually write. The end was completely unrealistic and got quite tedious to read. The first half of the book was very enjoyable for me, crude language and all.


The Crown of Columbus
The Crown of Columbus
Author: Michael Dorris, Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I love both of these authors. This book is highly unusual for both of them, a kind of mystery as opposed to the native American narratives they are known for (although that thread is not altogether missing.) It was a great story and well-written, although not altogether plausable.


Dakota: A Spiritual Geography
Dakota: A Spiritual Geography
Author: Kathleen Norris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/7/2006


A delightful look at the barronness of the midwest and how one woman fills her time with spirit.


The Edible Woman
The Edible Woman
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 2/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I just loved this book. I took a long time reading it, picking it up when I really felt in the mood of the scener;, urban, young, and undecided. My favorite character, and the most hateable was Duncan, the pinnacle of self-indulgent English major males who sees himself as a ghost and thinks wisping through life and making selfish observations will somehow turn into a career.

I felt both empathy and resentment for Marian, the lost woman who could have been strong in another time, but was trapped in the 60s with no other options but boring jobs and getting married to the first person who proclaimed some kind of semblance of love.


Escape from the Happy Cannibal
Escape from the Happy Cannibal
Author: Ron Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/7/2008


Travel narrative of a young guy who takes off around the world. He goes to a huge number of places in Europe, Asia, and South America. Writing style is a little repetitive, and he falls in love with every other woman he meets, but it's a fun read.

The copy I have posted is signed by the author.


Even the Stars Look Lonesome
Even the Stars Look Lonesome
Author: Maya Angelou
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/26/2005
Helpful Score: 1


The most memorable, to me, piece of wisdom in this book is that space is everything. I don't think it's a joke that the wrong house can make or break your relationship. :)


Fahrenheit 451
Fahrenheit 451
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1416
Review Date: 11/26/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I love this book. This is the book I used to finally get my brother hooked on reading. It is the book that I most often reference in crazy political conversations with friends. I love it so much that I wrote a song about it (selfless promotion: you can hear it at www.soundclick.com "Shanna and the Hawk").


A Glimpse of Nothingness : Experiences in an American Zen Community
Review Date: 1/18/2006


I enjoyed this book as a travel experience, but would not have if I had been looking for spiritual guidance. Although I practice Buddhism, the Zen style is not for me. It is a little too masculine and focuses on punishment and regiment a lot more than my ideas of what the spirit are. This book is an example of that kind of thinking, but is also an entertaining and good read.


God's Politics : Why the Right Gets It Wrong and the Left Doesn't Get It
Review Date: 12/29/2008
Helpful Score: 7


Jim Wallis takes a look at walking the middle path of politics and religion, neither a fundamentalist, or a toe-the-line democrat, he argues that if American politics is to clean up and straighten out, then religious values are a necessary perspective to take. He argues against both fundamentalist Christians and pure secular society. I found this book really interesting and even inspiring - to see that religion in politics can have an impact without being dogmatic.


1 to 20 of 45 - Page: