SARAH (sukie175) - - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
The Abstinence Teacher
The Abstinence Teacher
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 7/9/2010


The title of this book and cover info is EXTREMELY misleading! This book is much more about religious choices and the angst of the lead character. I really didn't enjoy this book, in fact our whole book club gave it a big fat zero!


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 372
Review Date: 1/31/2010


Didn't even make it to the end, not at all sure what all the fuss is about with this one. It dragged beyond belief!


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 1/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A quick, fun read and if you're a fan of SK you'll love it.


Conversations With The Fat Girl
Conversations With The Fat Girl
Author: Liza Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 1/31/2010


I enjoyed this book, but not enough to keep it! I think my main disappointment was the romance never developed during the story, it was about to when it ended! This is much more about a fat girls journey oif acceptance and revenge on now thin (via surgery) and bitchy BFF. It kept me reading but left me feeling short changed.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4388
Review Date: 1/31/2010


I had put off reading this book for ages, due to the dog death! Well what a huge error in judgement. This is one of the best books I have ever read and highly recommended for all. It's funny, touching and leaves you with a feeling of satisfaction.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/31/2010


Much more entertaining than the movie, laugh out loud funny in parts.


Divine Secrets of the Ya-ya Sisterhood
Divine Secrets of the Ya-ya Sisterhood
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/31/2010


Just could not get into this at all, so gave up!


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 1/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was such a disappointment, I personally think it's seriously over-hyped.


Everyone Worth Knowing
Everyone Worth Knowing
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 1/31/2010


I found this just as entertaining as the Devil Wears Prada. Enjoyed the characters and their stories, loved the glam settings and found it great escapism.


Executive Power (Mitch Rapp, Bk 4)
Executive Power (Mitch Rapp, Bk 4)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 316
Review Date: 7/9/2010


I am totally hooked on Mitch Rapp, this is yet another great fast paced mystery I could hardly put down! If you love this series then you'll love this book and if you've never met Mitch Rapp, it's time you did.


Feel : Robbie Williams
Feel : Robbie Williams
Author: Chris Heath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/31/2010


Loved it, really lets you get to know Robbie and some interesting insights into the headlines that were apparently stretched!


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1890
Review Date: 7/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This kept popping up on my suggestion list and finally I clicked to get it, and I'm so glad I did. The characters are likeable, believeable and relateable, you are quickly drawn in to their individual stories. It surrounds you like a warm comfort blanket and is just a lovely book.


Lean Mean Thirteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 13)
Lean Mean Thirteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 13)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 646
Review Date: 1/31/2010


I know others love these books, but I just couldn't get into them.


Lipstick Jungle
Lipstick Jungle
Author: Candace Bushnell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 1/31/2010


Thoroughly enjoyed this entertaining read, loved the characters and got them totally. It's not SITC but it has alot going for it and is superior chick-lit. It is also very different and much better than the TV show!


My Life
My Life
Author: Bill Clinton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/31/2010


Very interesting read, gives plenty of insight into how the political machine works and background on events we all remember.


The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 1/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I have ever read and definitely a keeper. The story moves along nicely, the history is gripping and you really feel for the characters. I could not put it down.


Playing for Pizza: A Novel (Random House Large Print (Cloth/Paper))
Review Date: 1/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this entertaining book, despite little knowledge of American football. Loved the setting and writing style, highly recommended.


Plum Lovin' (Between the Numbers, Bk 2) (Stephanie Plum, Bk 12.5)
Plum Lovin' (Between the Numbers, Bk 2) (Stephanie Plum, Bk 12.5)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 625
Review Date: 1/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I know others love these books, but I just couldn't get into them.


She's Come Undone
She's Come Undone
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1451
Review Date: 1/31/2010


A good book but not a great one. You can't help getting attached to the lead character and she's fascinating in a gruesome car wreck kind of way.


1 to 19 of 19