Reviews - Martha S. (msteph5444) - Clarksville, TN

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
American Wife
American Wife
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 10/13/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I enjoyed reading this book and thought it was well-written. I found myself wondering how much was actually based on fact. Would recommend this to those enjoying a good story."


The Art of Creative Lettering: 50 Amazing Fonts You Can Make for Scrapbooks, Cards, Invitations, and Signs
Review Date: 10/13/2009


"I have enjoyed trying out the different types of letters illustrated. The book is easy to use and a good reference."


Beachcombers
Beachcombers
Author: Nancy Thayer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 8/3/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a quick summer read - perfect for the beach. Not my favorite but worth reading."


The Bear: A Novel
The Bear: A Novel
Author: Claire Cameron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/3/2014


"I really enjoyed this book. I felt like I was in the cooler with the kids and the bear was going to get me as well as them. Lots of tension. Writing from the perspective of a five year old was great - I would highly recommend this book."


Blood Born (Vampire, Bk 1)
Blood Born (Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Howard, Linda Jones
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 7/7/2010


"This book was a little confusing in the beginning until you figured out what was going on. It kept my interest but wasn't a book that I couldn't put down. I had never read Linda Jones before but have read many of Linda Howard's. I would definitely read the next book in the series."


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 1/22/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Having been to Afghanistan I was very interested in this book but must admit that I lost interest in it after only reading about half of it. Can't give a full review - what I read was a little dry and my mind kept wandering."


The Camel Club (Camel Club, Bk 1)
The Camel Club (Camel Club, Bk 1)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 632
Review Date: 10/13/2009


"Absolutely loved this book. Oliver Stone and his band of misfits do a great job getting to the bottom on a murder. Great characters and great plot development."


Chosen by a Horse
Chosen by a Horse
Author: Susan Richards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 10/13/2009


"This was a quick read and was very interesting. Would recommend it to everyone - not just horse lovers. By the end - even after shedding a few tears - you'll be happy that you picked it up."


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1719
Review Date: 10/13/2009


"This was not an easy read for me - wanted to quit half-way through it but stuck it out. This is one instance where the movie is better than the book."


The Ex-Debutante
The Ex-Debutante
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/26/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book - note that it is a quick, light humorous read and you won't be disappointed."


Family Tree
Family Tree
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 10/13/2009


"I enjoyed reading this book. The story definitely makes you think of what your actions would be like if you were in the same situation. This was one of my favorites from Ms. Delinsky. Would recommend it to those liking a good story."


First Family (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Bk 4)
First Family (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Bk 4)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 10/13/2009


"I enjoyed this story - there are some unexpected twists. It was a quick and enjoyable read."


Glitter Baby
Glitter Baby
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 4/20/2009


"I enjoyed this book - and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick read."


The Heart and the Fist: The Education of a Humanitarian, the Making of a Navy SEAL
Review Date: 6/18/2011


"A wonderful book that looks at both humanitarian efforts and the war on terrorism. This book is well written and I couldn't put it down. I would highly recommend it."


The Historian
The Historian
Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 967
Review Date: 10/13/2009


"I tried reading this book and got lost in the first couple chapters. Then I checked the audio book out from the library for a long, long car trip. I ended up loving this story. It was suspenseful and extremely interesting. Would highly recommend to those liking books that keep you wondering what's going to happen next."


How Starbucks Saved My Life: A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else
Review Date: 7/27/2010


"I really enjoyed this quick read and recommended it to others looking for a job. It certainly makes you realize that some of your own perceptions might be a little 'off'. Don't expect this to be the best book you ever read - but it's definitely worth your time."


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5609
Review Date: 10/13/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I first read this book to find out more about life in Afghanistan. I found the story well-written and would recommend it. I did not like it as well as A Thousand Splendid Suns (perhaps because that was about women and friendship/hardship) but it was still interesting. I have not seen the movie yet so I can't compare the two."


Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 3)
Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 3)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 1222
Review Date: 8/5/2009


"I have to say that so far the third book in this series is my favorite. The characters seem to be more dimensional and the author does not shy away from controversial subjects (sexual abuse). Would definitely recommend this book and am looking forward to reading the fourth book."


Lover Enshrined (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 6)
Lover Enshrined (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 6)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1060
Review Date: 10/13/2009


"This book was difficult to get through as compared to the others in the series. Certainly not my favorite but had some interesting twists."


Lover Eternal (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 2)
Lover Eternal (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 2)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1300
Review Date: 7/19/2009


"Another good story - although I wish there was a little more character development."


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: