Alex T. (athompson362) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 46 - Page:
Across the Nightingale Floor (Tales of the Otori, #1)
Across the Nightingale Floor (Tales of the Otori, #1)
Author: Lian Hearn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 12/3/2007


A well paced adventure through a fictional land resembling ancient Japan.


The Body in the Library  (Miss Marple, Bk 3)
The Body in the Library (Miss Marple, Bk 3)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 9/8/2010


In my opinion, one of the better Miss Marples. Not too many suspects to bog it down and an easy to follow investigation that gives you plenty of opportunity to form your own hypothesis on who-dunit (isn't that what makes Christie novels so much fun?). Jane Marple stays out of the way most of the time so don't expect too many scenes with her.


The Bone Garden (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Bone Garden (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Tess Gerritsen, Carolyn McCormick (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/17/2010


I enjoyed Gerrtisen's "Body Double" so I was anxious to begin this book. I didn't enjoy this one even half as much - Antiquated autopsy scenes that were full of gore, for the sake of being gory and not lending to the story at all. A serial killer who-dunit where the author leaves no clues to a motive so there's no fun in the guessing. And a boring tie-in to present day that has zero relevance to the plot until the very predictable ending is revealed.


Brilliance of the Moon, Episode 1: Battle for Maruyama (Tales of the Otori, Book 3)
Review Date: 9/28/2008


Another great episode in the series.


Brilliance of the Moon, Episode 2: Scars of Victory (Tales of the Otori, Book 3)
Review Date: 11/12/2008


The best book in the series so far. I can't wait to read Harsh Cry of the Heron. I'm sure it will tie up some loose ends . . .


Cabal
Cabal
Author: Clive Barker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 4/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A collection of short stories including "Cabal" which was later made into a feature film entitled "Nightbreed".


Church of the Divine Psychopath (Friday The 13th, Bk 1)
Church of the Divine Psychopath (Friday The 13th, Bk 1)
Author: Scott Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/13/2010


Not a literary classic but delivers for Jason fans. The book follows two storylines: A cult-type church and a SWAT team that come together in a Waco style conflict. So where does Jason fit in? A bit awkwardly. In fact, he doesn't really show up until halfway through the book. I loved the church storyline - it's everything you would want in a creepy, brainwashed cult with an insane leader. The SWAT team storyline was a bit of a grind - I didn't like them in the movie and I didn't like them in the book. Bonus points for setting the story at Camp Crystal Lake and for a high body count!


The complete Sherlock Holmes
The complete Sherlock Holmes
Author: Arthur Conan Doyle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/16/2008


The greatest detective stories of all time! This is a great edition. All the stories are put in chronological order as written by Doyle - Not in the order they took place in the Sherlock Holmes timeline.


Cross Country
Cross Country
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 2/21/2010


One of the two readers is annoying and difficult to listen to. The story is unique and had moments. Scenes featuring Cross' family were a real grind for me.


The Dark Room (The Blair Witch Files, Case File 2)
The Dark Room (The Blair Witch Files, Case File 2)
Author: Cade Merrill, Megan Stine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/9/2009


Mysterious and creepy, just what you would want out of this series. Includes some history on Rustin Parr, an intricate character in the Blair Witch legend. A quick but good read.


Dead White (Batman)
Dead White (Batman)
Author: John Shirley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/27/2010


I split Batman novels into two camps: Camp 1 is kidsy and cartoony. Camp 2 is dark and gritty. This is definetly a dark and gritty Batman. Often bloody and logging a high body count, 'Dead White' is more of what you'd expect to see in a graphic novel than on a Saturday morning cartoon. This book is unique in that Batman is just beginning his career as a crime fighter, yet takes place in the present day. I enjoyed the adult themes and constant action but took away points for campy dialogue.


Death on the Nile (Hercule Poirot, Bk 15)
Death on the Nile (Hercule Poirot, Bk 15)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/27/2008


Starts a bit slow but a great second act! Classic Agatha Christie. Classic Hercule Poirot!


The Drowning Ghost (Blair Witch Files Bk 3)
The Drowning Ghost (Blair Witch Files Bk 3)
Author: Natalie Standiford, Cade Merrill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/10/2010


I have come to really enjoy this teen suspense series. Very true to the Blair Witch style of "something is happening but no one can prove it's happening." I'm recommending it as a cheap thrill.


Eyes of Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 3)
Eyes of Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 3)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 261
Review Date: 9/25/2009


I really enjoy the Prey series. I giggle at how big of a douchebag our hero can be, but hey, this book was set in the 80's and it's fair to look back and laugh right? Beyond the neon warm-ups and retro soundtrack, this book is a real page turner. Great bad guys with non-stop creepiness. Highy recommended for the rogue cop vs. serial killer fan.


Five Little Pigs (aka Murder in Retrospect) (Hercule Poirot, Bk 24)
Review Date: 12/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Chritie's answer to Rashomon. This book explores the point of view of five murder suspects, each having a very different take on the crime. If hearing the same story five times over sounds a bit tedious, it gets even more so when the same five stories are told a second time through letters to Poirot. Christie manages to hold your attention by revealing more clues in each telling. Overall, this is not my favorite Christie novel but it's a nice change of pace for Poirot fans.


The frozen pirate (Science fiction)
The frozen pirate (Science fiction)
Author: William Clark Russell
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/16/2010


A great sea-faring novel with a small sci-fi element. The second act lacks any real conflict but it's a fine adventure anyway. Love the 19th century dialect.


The Further Adventures of Batman, Vol. 3: Featuring Catwoman
The Further Adventures of Batman, Vol. 3: Featuring Catwoman
Author: Martin H. Greenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/8/2010


A series of short stories. As with all Greenberg collections, the talent level of the authors varies greatly. Some are terrific, some are off-the-mark. These collections are a crap shoot but there's enough well written work to give it a read.


Galilee
Galilee
Author: Clive Barker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


An epic novel. Not particularly an easy read but well worth taking the journey. A mix of romance and fantasy. Mysteries unravel very slowly - some not at all. The author clearly couldn't finish his thoughts by the end of the book. Galilee 2 perhaps?


Grass For His Pillow Episode 1 : Lord Fujiwara's Treasures (Tales of the Otori)
Review Date: 3/1/2008


Not as quickly paced as "Nightengale" but still very engaging. Can't wait to continue the series.


Grass For His Pillow Episode 2 : The Way Through The Snow (Tales of the Otori)
Review Date: 6/7/2008


Continuing this fast paced adventure. Great stuff!


1 to 20 of 46 - Page: