Tiki N. (torchlight) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang
Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 5/9/2013


I never liked Chelsea Handler, but someone recommended this book so I thought I'd give it a read. All I found out is that she was a chronic childhood masturbator (honestly, she talks about it in GREAT detail) and that she's a complete jerk to her employees, friends, and boyfriend. Do not waste your time with this book. It is loathesome.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4388
Review Date: 3/15/2006


This book was unlike anything else I've ever read. The narrator is a fascinating character that really draws you in. It was a really good read.


The Dogs of Babel
The Dogs of Babel
Author: Carolyn Parkhurst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is not what I thought it would be. I expected a forensic novel about solving a murder. What I got was a weird, twisted book about grief and animal torture. I selected this book for our book group and was embarrassed to have done so! Not recommended.


Honeymoon
Honeymoon
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 438
Review Date: 3/31/2006


Bad, really bad. I was awfully disappointed.


Jemima J
Jemima J
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1077
Review Date: 3/15/2006


This book was a little far-fetched, but the character was so loveable, I still had a great time reading it. You'll love Jemima!


Life Expectancy
Life Expectancy
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 575
Review Date: 1/25/2006


I'm a big Dean Koontz fan, and have to say this book didn't do it for me. The characters were likable, the story was sweet, but it seemed too formulaic. I kept waiting to be surprised, but it never happened. There are many other Koontz books I would recommend over this one.


The Little Friend
The Little Friend
Author: Donna Tartt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 6/1/2006
Helpful Score: 6


I have to be honest, I could not finish this book. The characters were interesting, but nothing happened in the plot! After about 250 pages, I gave up. You might enjoy her first book, "A Secret History" more.


The Perfect Husband (FBI Profiler, Bk 1)
The Perfect Husband (FBI Profiler, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 702
Review Date: 6/24/2006


Predictable, with completely unrealistic characters. The idea of the book was good, but the potential wasn't realized.


Velocity
Velocity
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 436
Review Date: 2/26/2006


Middling on the Koontz scale. Not as scary as some, but fast-paced. I found it hard to like the protagonist, so this book didn't really do it for me, but the plotting was interesting.


1 to 9 of 9