Jessica G. (Jessie) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 65 - Page:
All I Want for Christmas: The Proper Lover / Santa Wears Spurs / Christmas Bonus / A Night with Emily
Review Date: 12/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


4 cute winter tales. I had read Kinley MacGregor before and her stuff is always good. The Lori Foster story was really good, probably the best in the book & I'll be looking for other stuff by her. The other 2 authors were new to me as well & I look forward to reading stuff from them again.


Amberlight
Amberlight
Author: Sylvia Kelso
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/23/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I wanted very much to like this book, but just couldn't. The premise of a female dominant society sounded interesting and different. Unfortunately, I just couldn't get past the writing style. The sentences were short and choppy. I had a difficult time figuring out what characters were saying what and couldn't keep the characters names straight (not usually a problem for me). It felt like I was reading a novel in another language and just getting every fifth word. I was confused and eventually just gave up. It's very rare that I don't finish a book once I start it and I didn't even make it half way through this one. Overall, it reminded me of the way I used to feel when trying to slog through a college text book; that it was work not pleasure.


An Arranged Marriage (Company of Rogues, Bk 1)
An Arranged Marriage (Company of Rogues, Bk 1)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 10/18/2005


First in a series of Regency era romances based around a circle of male friends known as the Rogues. I would defintely recommend if you are a fan of regency romances.


Awaken, My Love
Awaken, My Love
Author: Robin Schone
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/3/2005


Woman is transported to another woman's body in the past and falls for her new husband


The Barbed Rose (One Rose, Bk 2)
The Barbed Rose (One Rose, Bk 2)
Author: Gail Dayton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/13/2006


2nd book in the series. Very good read- great characters & lots of action. A mix between fantasy & romance. I do think you should read the 1st book "Compass Rose" to really understand this one.


Believe (Heartspell)
Believe (Heartspell)
Author: Victoria Alexander
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/20/2005


A cute tale of time travel. A modern woman ends up in the arms of the legendary Arthurian knight Gallahad, romance and adventure follow.


Big Guns Out of Uniform: B.A.D. to the Bone / Let's Talk About Sex / The Nekkid Truth
Review Date: 10/4/2005


Anthology of 3 stories. I usually love Kenyon, but did not like her story here: BAD to the Bone- a tale of a woman who wins a fantasy island contest and ends kidnapped by a secret agent on leave. The other two stories were much better. Liz Carlyle's Let's Talk about Sex- a radio talk show sex therapist has a hot affair with her neighbor. Nicole Camden's The Nekkid Truth- after an accident a woman can no longer recognize faces.


Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 667
Review Date: 11/1/2005


I really enjoy this series, this is the 1st book and tells how Elaine copes with being made a werewolf, while helping save her Pack.


Born to Be BAD: One BAD Night / BAD to the Bone / 'Captivated' By You (Bureau of American Defense)
Review Date: 10/3/2005


3 tales based on Kenyon's series of secret agents. Note: 2 of these tales have been previously published


The Charmed Sphere (Lost Continent, Bk 1)
The Charmed Sphere (Lost Continent, Bk 1)
Author: Catherine Asaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 11/14/2005
Helpful Score: 2


This is a good book for anyone who likes fantasy with a dose of romance. There is an earlier short story in the anthology Charmed Destinies that I think help explains a lot about some characters.


Christmas Angel (Company of Rogues, Bk 3)
Christmas Angel (Company of Rogues, Bk 3)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/18/2005


Leander decides to marry the "Weeping Widow" so he will not have to worry about a wife that will fall helplessly in love with him; unfortunately he falls in love with her. Very cute story, I highly reccommend for fans of regency romance. 3rd in Beverley's Company of Rogues series.


A Christmas Collection: The Greatest Gift / Falling Stars / The Scent of Snow / Footsteps in the Snow
Review Date: 12/20/2006


I liked every one of these stories, their all pretty quick but cute & charming.


Dangerous Joy (Company of Rogues, Bk 5)
Dangerous Joy (Company of Rogues, Bk 5)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 10/24/2005


A self professed rogue, Miles, is made the guardian of a wild girl, Felicity, who is bent on marrying a disreputable neighbor.


Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark, Bk 6)
Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals After Dark, Bk 6)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 529
Review Date: 5/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I've read all the books in this series and so far this is my favorite one. I actually didn't think I would like Cade based on what was in the other books, but I loved him and Holly.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2407
Review Date: 1/17/2006


Briefly, the story involved a mind-reading waitress who becomes involved with a vampire in the midst of a murder spree in her small Southern town. The story was funny while still being interesting, the best part were the quirky characters. I would call it a good light read.


Dime Store Magic (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 3)
Dime Store Magic (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 3)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 656
Review Date: 11/1/2005


3rd book in the series, a young witch, Paige, is made the guardian of a teenage witch.


Dreaming of You (Gamblers, Bk 2)
Dreaming of You (Gamblers, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 2/15/2007


One of the best romance I've read in a while.


The Dreaming Tree
The Dreaming Tree
Author: Patricia Matthews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/26/2005


Romance tale set in Australia at the time it was a penal colony


The Enchanted Land
The Enchanted Land
Author: Saranne Dawson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/26/2005


Woman is drawn to a magical land where she meets her perfect mate


The Enchanted Land (Futuristic Romance)
The Enchanted Land (Futuristic Romance)
Author: Saranne Dawson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/20/2005


Romantic fantasy tale where a woman is brought to a magical land& meets her mate


1 to 20 of 65 - Page: