Allena W. (starknits) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 5/11/2011


This book was better than the movie. I really enjoyed reading the "diary" though it did take a little getting used to. Parts were quite hilarious and at other times you cringed with Bridget.


The Christmas Cookie Club
The Christmas Cookie Club
Author: Ann Pearlman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 12/3/2011


I read this book for a book club. I really enjoyed this book. The story is a nice and heartwarming story of friendships. I really enjoyed the ingredient spotlights that the author wrote between each chapter. The recipes are also very cool!


Crescendo (Hush, Hush!, Bk 2)
Crescendo (Hush, Hush!, Bk 2)
Author: Becca Fitzpatrick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 12/3/2011


I couldn't really get into this book. I forced myself through the first few chapters then put it down and haven't gone back since. Nora has become extremely annoying and I couldn't handle all the teenage angst.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 3/3/2011


This book is a great read. Action filled and full of mystery. I read it in about 2 days b/c I couldn't put it down and had to find out what happens next.


Elizabeth Zimmermann's Knitter's Almanac
Elizabeth Zimmermann's Knitter's Almanac
Author: Elizabeth Zimmermann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/6/2011


This book is awesome. In true EZ way you're walked through the year with 12 fantastic projects to knit.


A Good Yarn  (Blossom Street, Bk 2)
A Good Yarn (Blossom Street, Bk 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 801
Review Date: 3/3/2011


I had a hard time getting into this book, I think mainly b/c it's so similar to the first book. but it was a cute read.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2431
Review Date: 12/7/2011


I read this book for a book club. It was really good and entertaining.


Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, Bk 1)
Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, Bk 1)
Author: Becca Fitzpatrick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 12/3/2011


This book was a nice light read. I enjoyed it.


Knit One, Kill Two (Knitting Mystery, Bk 1)
Knit One, Kill Two (Knitting Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Maggie Sefton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 3/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was an exciting read. I would love to live across from a yarn store. though I could do with out the murders.


Nightfall (Vampire Diaries: The Return, Bk 1)
Nightfall (Vampire Diaries: The Return, Bk 1)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 3/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was horrible. It was written probably 10 years after the first set in the series and it's almost like it was fan fiction. it didn't seem to be along the same lines of the series almost like it was written for the TV series which is totally different than the books. I was soooo disappointed when i read it and mad that I spent money on it. Things were changed in this book and things were added suggesting that they happened in the previous books when they didn't. Over all I would skip reading this book.


The Notebook
The Notebook
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1715
Review Date: 3/3/2011


Such a moving and excellent book. I picked it up after watching the movie and of course LOVE the book way more. there were a couple of chapters there that I had to read through tears it was so moving. If you liked the movie you'll enjoy the book.


The Opinionated Knitter
The Opinionated Knitter
Author: Elizabeth Zimmermann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/6/2011


This was my first EZ book and when I got it I sat down and read it cover to cover. I still like to read the stories in it when I'm working on a pattern from it. I love it! there are wonderful patterns in it and wonderful extras in there.


The Shop on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 1)
The Shop on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1020
Review Date: 3/3/2011


This is a very cute read about a knitting store and friends. I enjoyed it.


Through the Grinder (Coffeehouse, Bk 2)
Through the Grinder (Coffeehouse, Bk 2)
Author: Cleo Coyle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 374
Review Date: 3/21/2011


this book was a great continuation from the first. I really enjoyed reading it and the recipes in the back are wonderful!


The Vampire Diaries Omnibus (Vol 2, Bks 3 & 4)
The Vampire Diaries Omnibus (Vol 2, Bks 3 & 4)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 288
Review Date: 3/3/2011


These books were a great conclusion to the stories. I love how Elena is able to save everyone and it all comes full circle.
very enjoyable.


The Vampire Diaries, Vol 1: The Awakening / The Struggle
The Vampire Diaries, Vol 1: The Awakening / The Struggle
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 402
Review Date: 3/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was excellent and very fun to read. I enjoyed how this book is actually the first 2 so I didn't have to go out and get another book. written in the 90's it seems very innocent. they've changed it a bit for the tv show though.


1 to 16 of 16