Jeff V. (jeffvanq) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
100 Bullets Vol. 6: Six Feet Under the Gun
100 Bullets Vol. 6: Six Feet Under the Gun
Author: Brian Azzarello
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/11/2015


Interesting series well worth checking out. Only thing keeping it from being 5 stars is that some of the dialogue seems phony, but still a very entertaining story.


100 Bullets Vol. 8: The Hard Way
100 Bullets Vol. 8: The Hard Way
Author: Brian Azzarello
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/31/2015


I'm hit and miss with Azzarello's work but I really like this series.


Baseball and Philosophy: Thinking Outside the Batter's Box
Baseball and Philosophy: Thinking Outside the Batter's Box
Author: Eric Bronson (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/15/2016


If you're a huge baseball fan like myself you'll love how this book ties philosophy and the sport together. They could easily do a 2nd volume and I'd be first in line to buy it.


The Butcher: Anatomy of a Mafia Psychopath
The Butcher: Anatomy of a Mafia Psychopath
Author: Philip Carlo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/16/2015


Scary read but very engrossing, I couldn't put it down.


The Chill HC
The Chill HC
Author: Jason Starr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/14/2018


Good story and artwork, a nice addition to the Vertigo Crime line.


Crossing Midnight: The Blade in the Soul (Crossing Midnight)
Crossing Midnight: The Blade in the Soul (Crossing Midnight)
Author: Mike Carey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/10/2018


Good series finale. A different type of story but well worth checking out, Carey is a fantastic writer.


The Dirt : Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band
Review Date: 10/13/2018


Compelling read, if you like the music and the band you'll probably like the book.

But the stories about treating women like napkins to be used and thrown away is pretty disgusting. And the drug use is just mind-blowing, makes you wonder how the four of them are still alive. The sequel will probably have Vince talk about his buffet experiences.


The Fall (Strain, Bk 2)
The Fall (Strain, Bk 2)
Author: Guillermo Del Toro, Chuck Hogan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 2/16/2015


Can't wait for this book to appear in the next story arc of the TV show.


A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven: (Or, How I Made Peace with the Paranormal and Stigmatized Zealots and Cynics)
Review Date: 7/5/2014


I really wanted to like this book, but every time Taylor would start going into detail on one of his paranormal experiences, he goes off onto tangents about all sorts of things unrelated to the subject. He's obviously a bright guy and the subject material here is really interesting, it just doesn't flow well. It took me 2 weeks to finish because I could barely get thru a chapter at a time due to him getting sidetracked with bizarre rants. A good editor would have kept Taylor on task without losing sight of the subject matter, which happened far too often here.


Iron Man: My Journey through Heaven and Hell with Black Sabbath
Iron Man: My Journey through Heaven and Hell with Black Sabbath
Author: Tony Iommi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/5/2015


Really good read, from his early days in Birmingham to his recent album with Black Sabbath and his cancer recovery. Plus all of the Ozzy and Dio drama in between.


The Lord of the Rings and Philosophy: One Book to Rule Them All (Popular Culture and Philosophy Series)
Review Date: 2/16/2015


Interesting read, lots of philosophical ideas tied back to themes from the book.


Mighty Avengers, Vol. 1: The Ultron Initiative
Mighty Avengers, Vol. 1: The Ultron Initiative
Author: Brian Michael Bendis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/14/2018


Great story and fantastic artwork. Hopefully it will lead you to other Avengers stories, especially with the new movie coming up.


Neil Gaiman and Philosophy (Popular Culture and Philosophy)
Neil Gaiman and Philosophy (Popular Culture and Philosophy)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/4/2016


If you're a Sandman fan this is a great read, and it really opens up your horizons to Neil's novels and other non-comic book works, all in a philosophy setting.


Seven Deadly Sins: Settling the Argument Between Born Bad and Damaged Good
Review Date: 2/3/2018


Corey Taylor is obviously really intelligent and well-spoken, and he goes in-depth here on his rough childhood. I admire his talents as a musician.

That said, his writing style is incredibly frustrating. He comes up with valid ideas and concepts, but then goes off on weird tangents that make no sense. He really needs a solid editor to keep him on point instead of stream of consciousness ramblings that detract from the point he was trying to make.


Shadowland: Moon Knight
Shadowland: Moon Knight
Author: Gregg Hurwitz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/1/2018


Solid artwork and story, I liked the Shadowland arc.


Slash
Slash
Author: Slash, Anthony Bozza
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/15/2016


Interesting read, traces the history of GnR from LA to superstardom, then his leaving the band in the mid 90s. My only complaint is that the book is full of constant drug use and promiscuity, does not paint him or anyone else in the band in a good light. I realize it's reality and the guy is an incredibly talented musician, just hard to believe he could make such great music while abusing every drug in existence.


To Kill a Mockingbird
To Kill a Mockingbird
Author: Harper Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2961
Review Date: 4/14/2018


Read it, then watch the film. Enough said.


The Walking Dead and Philosophy: Zombie Apocalypse Now (Popular Culture and Philosophy)
Review Date: 4/15/2019


Philosophical ramblings about zombies. Allrightythen.


We Can Be Heroes: The Radical Individualism of David Bowie
We Can Be Heroes: The Radical Individualism of David Bowie
Author: Robert Dean Lurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/13/2018


Fantastic book if you're a Bowie fan, lots of history tracing back thru most (if not all) of his phases.


Why I Fight: The Belt Is Just an Accessory
Why I Fight: The Belt Is Just an Accessory
Author: Jay Dee "b.j." Penn, Dave Weintraub
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/31/2015


Interesting read, could have gone more in depth with a few of the fights, but overall it's cool to get BJ's views on his career. He really bashes Dana White in certain chapters, especially when Dana freaks out during a phone call after BJ quit the UFC and fought in Japan, basically taking the WW title with him.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: