Laura P. (hemmputnam) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 723 - Page:
The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear
The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear
Author: Walter Moers, John Brownjohn (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/2/2011


A true delight, fully enjoyed by my 8 and 11 year old sons. I read out loud, impressed by the humor (some only adults will "get"), adventure (kept my boys thrilled), artwork, and vocabulary. We all give it 5 stars and plan to pick up another of the author's books tomorrow.


2000 Kisses
2000 Kisses
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 7/4/2010


I enjoyed the romance between the fast track Boston PR female and the small town sheriff, but the mysterious Native American flashes of history were distracting for me and didn't seem to fully resolve or get explained. A good but not great read for me.


The Abduction (Theodore Boone, Bk 2)
The Abduction (Theodore Boone, Bk 2)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/15/2012


REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS Enjoyed by my 9 year old and myself, I was a little worried that the topic might be too intense (child abduction, for a while you think she might be dead) but he was not bothered by it and there is a happy ending. Great way for kids to learn about the legal system while having fun. Good balance of independent teen hero and knowing when to ask for help.


Acceptable Loss (William Monk Series)
Acceptable Loss (William Monk Series)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: MP3 CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/27/2013


A slow listen for me at the start with lots of setting description and revisiting a previous book. However, by the end I had to keep listening! Good twists and turns, likable and realistic characters, and important ethical questions raised.


Accidentally on Purpose: A Heartbreaker Bay Novel
Accidentally on Purpose: A Heartbreaker Bay Novel
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/3/2017


This is my favorite kind of contemporary romance - a tough, protective hero who only wants the best for the heroine, who is also independent and hard-working. There's a community of generous friends to make up for missing family and, of course, you can count on happily ever after!


The Accused (Mystere Parish: Family Inheritance, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1441)
The Accused (Mystere Parish: Family Inheritance, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1441)
Author: Jana DeLeon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/7/2015


A nice quick read if you are in the mood for something spooky, but not too spooky. The leads are sympathetic characters and the setting is very atmospheric. There's more mystery than romance and more back and forth between the small town and the city than I expected. It was a nice read but I'm not seeking out the rest of the series.


ADHD: A Complete and Authoritative Guide
ADHD: A Complete and Authoritative Guide
Author: Michael I. Reiff, Sherill Tippins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/19/2010


This was a helpful, but slightly dry read about many aspects of ADHD. They try to make it accessible by including some information in the form of questions and answers. It covers the entire age span, offers clear information about which treatments are proven to work, which treatments are known to not work, and which treatments have not had enough controlled studies to determine whether or not they work. Working with schools and their legal obligations to your child, the use of medications in treatment, and the social implications for those diagnosed are also discussed. While not a page turner, I think anyone motivated by the recent diagnosis or suggestion of ADHD in their child would find it honestly helpful. New ideas for me included the concept of medication dosing at an optimal level for each individual child which means raising the dose even after the first signs of improvement are seen. (A higher dose might lead to even more improvement, and if there are no side effects for the child, it's clearly better). Directly involving the child in treatment planning from day one was also emphasized.


The Admiral's Bride (Tall, Dark & Dangerous, Bk 7) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 962)
Review Date: 1/4/2010


Jake Robinson is a Vietnam war hero mourning the loss of his beloved wife. Zoey Lange grew up seeing Jake as a hero because he saved the life of her father. When she's placed on his team to recover a deadly nerve agent from a right wing fanatic, they end up posing as husband and wife. Can he get past his concerns about his age? Will she finally fall all the way in love with a man? Part of a series (Tall, Dark, and Dangerous) that I'm looking forward to reading!


An Affair Without End (Willowmere, Bk 3)
An Affair Without End (Willowmere, Bk 3)
Author: Candace Camp
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 5/23/2012


Maybe I'd have been more enamored of this book if I had read the rest of the series. As a stand alone, it was fine, but nothing extra special. I felt like the reasons for the heroine and hero to not remain together were repeated too often. If you like a historical with an unconventional heroine and a mystery piece, I'd recommend Amanda Quick's Surrender.


After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 12/1/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I understand readers' disappointment if they ordered the book without having a chance to look at it. As someone who picked it up from the library and therefore realized it was more of a fun, flip through it listing of characters rather than a novel about what happened next, I honestly liked it. It made me want to go back and reread the series because there are people I didn't remember at all. I was impressed by how quickly I was back in Sookie's world with such brief descriptions. If you're a fan of the series and you know what you're getting, you may like this one!


After the Storm (KGI, Bk 8)
After the Storm (KGI, Bk 8)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 4/24/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I've loved this series and was really looking forward to Donovan's story, but this was a disappointment. The last 100 pages were what I hoped for, action, passion, and a happy ending. Unfortunately the first 300 pages were bland, repetitive, and completely forgettable. Much of the hero's time is spent feeding and tucking in for a nap the heroine and her siblings. There were only one or two mentions of Donovan's computer skills and intelligence in the course of the entire book! I'm used to tactical planning and guns blazing from Banks' characters; I won't be adding this one to the others on my keeper shelf. Ditto the other reviewer's comments on referring to the heroines from the rest of the series as "the wives." We know their amazing individual stories; they deserve more than token group mentions and online shopping as their "activity."


Afterglow (Lodestone, Bk 2)
Afterglow (Lodestone, Bk 2)
Author: Cherry Adair
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 8/14/2015


Adair writes great action scenes so that's what the stars are for. Otherwise I found little to like about this book. A drug that causes people to have indiscriminate sex is a little far-fetched and I'm a reader who's fine with vampire, werewolves, and fairies. The hero is mean to the heroine for much of the book, and even if you push through to the end there's no reasonable explanation for most of what happens. "He'd gone to extraordinary lengths to get Dakota to Greece by the most convoluted methods possible" (page 357). "Maybe we're better off not knowing all the answers" (page 382). I won't be looking for any more books by this author.


Against the Night (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 5)
Against the Night (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 5)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 3/25/2012


Page turning enough to have me looking for the rest of the series. The innocent kindergarden teacher as stripper was a stretch, but made for a good story and a noble hero. Nice level of action and rescue.


Against the Sun (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 6)
Against the Sun (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 6)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 8/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I have Against the NIght on my keeper shelf so was really looking forward to this book. I was hugely disappointed because I couldn't like the heroine at all. Even in the final pages of the book she still wants to deny her love for the hero because he isn't the type to like to attend the ballet! I wanted to give her a shake throughout and wish I hadn't forced myself to finish this one.


Airman to the Rescue (Heroes of Fortune Valley, Bk 2) (Harlequin Superromance, No 2085) (Larger Print)
Review Date: 5/29/2017


Bell does a great job of writing a realistic teen character, addressing cyberbullying, and portraying blended families. I would definitely read another book by this author. My one quibble about the romance was the repetition of the barrier that the leads needed to overcome. I realize it must have been on the characters' minds a lot, but as a reader I understood that Colorado and California are not the same place the first time it was presented.


All He Ever Needed (Kowalski Family, Bk 4)
All He Ever Needed (Kowalski Family, Bk 4)
Author: Shannon Stacey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/28/2015


This was my first Stacey read and I'm hooked! Fun, quick, and lively with likable characters facing honest problems, a friendly small town, plenty of siblings for more books in the series, steamy but not over the top love scenes.


All I Ever Wanted
All I Ever Wanted
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 10/13/2010


So good I read the whole thing in one day - made me laugh, made me cry. Callie is a delightful heroine and watching her interact with stoic Ian is a treat. Real character development and a zany assortment of secondary characters rounded out this fun read.


Alpha Warrior (Long Mountain Heroes, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1225)
Alpha Warrior (Long Mountain Heroes, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1225)
Author: Aimee Thurlo
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/19/2011


Likable characters and interesting facts about the Navajo way of life, but too much repetition and telling rather than showing. If the author mentioned one more time that the heroine didn't want to get involved with the hero because he was a cop, I thought I might actually scream. Slightly pat happy ending.


Always a Temptress (The Drake's Rakes, Bk 3)
Always a Temptress (The Drake's Rakes, Bk 3)
Author: Eileen Dreyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 11/13/2011


A great read in a great series! You'll understand the basics if you haven't read the first two books, but for greater clarity (and because they're great reads!) I'd recommend starting at the beginning. This one moved me to tears. The heroine has been through a lot of physical and psychological abuse. Once the hero realizes it, he helps her slowly and gently, but there are some dark places in this book before that resolution. Fully drawn primary and secondary characters - definitely one for the keeper shelf!


The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
Author: Michael Chabon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 2/21/2014


I think this book covers an awful lot of ground and I loved the writing. I learned things about history I hadn't known before, I had fun thinking about comic books, and at it's heart, I felt like it was a book about the importance of stories. From the beginning when Joe escapes Europe hidden with a golem, a creature brought to life by letters, to the end where he "came to feel that the work - telling this story - was helping to heal him" it's a book that reminds us of the importance of narratives. There's even a comic book that Chabon wrote to be the comic book created by characters in this novel.


1 to 20 of 723 - Page: